MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#54
Aroldis Chapman
ERA S K
1.87 21 48
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 212 NFBC ADP: 86.33
Position: RPBorn: 2/28/1988 Birthplace: Holguin, Cuba
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Reds (2010)


Latest News
July 28 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Chapman, in his second appearance since being acquired from the Yankees, struck out two and consistently hit 102 mph in his first save for his new team in Thursday's 3-1 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Tyler Saladino doubled off former closer Hector Rondon in the eighth. But Chapman came in with two outs and struck out Cabrera on a 102 mph fastball. Chapman struck out Todd Frazier and got two groundouts in the ninth.
July 28 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Chapman entered an 8-1 game Wednesday and pitched a 1-2-3 ninth with two strikeouts while hitting speeds of 103 mph in his Cubs debut.
Analysis: Chapman had 20 saves in 21 chances this season with the Yankees before the Cubs acquired him Monday for a package of prospects.
July 24 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-The Cubs have agreed to acquire Chapman from the Yankees in exchange for pitcher Adam Warren and three minor leaguers - shortstop Gleyber Torres and outfielders Billy McKinney and Rashad Crawford.
Analysis: Chicago paid a steep price for the flame-throwing closer, who's scheduled for free agency at season's end, as Torres and McKinney are considered two of the organization's best prospects. There's no doubt that Chapman can be a game-changer, though. Over the last five seasons, the 28-year-old has averaged an incredible 15.7 strikeouts per nine innings, held opposing hitters to a .156 average and recorded a 1.91 ERA and 165 saves.
July 22 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Chapman converted his 11th straight save opportunity Friday to make him 20 for 21 on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander has allowed one run, four hits and five walks while striking out 16 over his last 12 1/3 innings.
July 18 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Chapman converted his 10th straight save opportunity Monday.
Analysis: The left-hander has allowed one run, three hits and five walks while striking out 15 over his last 11 1/3 innings.
July 9 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Chapman (3-0) struck out four in the final 2 1/3 innings as the Yankees outlasted Cleveland, 7-6 in 11 innings Saturday.
Analysis: Chapman has allowed one run over 8 1/3 innings of his last eight appearances.
June 25 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Dellin Betances, Andrew Miller and Chapman combined to throw three scoreless innings for the third straight game Saturday.
Analysis: New York is 12-0 when Betances, Miller and Chapman pitch in the same game. The "No Runs DMC" relief trio has racked up 15 strikeouts in the past three games.
June 18 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Chapman converted his 13 save in 14 chances Saturday, but allowed his first two home runs of the season to Minnesota in the ninth.
Analysis: The last time any team tagged him for consecutive homers was on May 19, 2013, when the Phillies' Erik Kratz and Freddy Galvis did it.
May 6 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Chapman's suspension has been reduced by one game to 29, making the New York Yankees closer eligible to pitch Monday.
Analysis: Chapman agreed to a 30-game suspension on March 1 under baseball's new domestic violence policy. New York's original schedule had him eligible to return May 9, but the Yankees' April 10 game at Detroit was postponed because of bad weather and has not yet been rescheduled.
Mar. 10 4:00 AM PT5:00 AM MT6:00 AM CT7:00 AM ET7:00 ET12:00 GMT20:00 5:00 AM MST7:00 AM EST7:30 AM VEN16:00 UAE6:00 AM CT-Chapman is to pitch for the first time this spring, facing Toronto.
Analysis: The hardest thrower in the majors was traded from Cincinnati to New York in December. His regular-season debut will come after he serves a 30-game suspension under baseball's new domestic violence policy.
Mar. 1 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-A day after accepting a 30-game suspension, Chapman has apologized for using a gun and insisted he never hurt his girlfriend.
Analysis: Chapman agreed to the penalty, assessed by Major League Baseball under its new domestic violence policy. His girlfriend, 22-year-old Cristina Barnea, told police he pushed and choked her during an Oct. 30 incident at his home in Davie. Chapman said there was an argument but he was pushed down by Barnea's brother, then got a handgun and fired eight shots into a wall and window while locked in his garage.
Feb. 27 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Chapman says he will throw batting practice for the first time with the New York Yankees on Monday.
Analysis: In his third mound session for his new team Friday, Chapman threw 35 pitches. The new closer threw the 62 fastest pitches in the big leagues last season, according to Major League Baseball's new Statcast computer system. Chapman's fastest pitches ranged from 103.92 mph to 102.36 mph. Chapman is under investigation by MLB under the sport's new domestic violence policy for an incident at his house in Florida in October involving his girlfriend.
Feb. 23 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Chapman rejoined the New York Yankees after missing one day of spring training while tending to a family matter in Miami and said he hasn't heard from Major League Baseball about possible discipline under the sport's new domestic violence policy.
Analysis: Baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred said Monday in Arizona that he has made ''additional progress'' toward decisions on two of the first three cases under investigation and expects an announcement in the next couple of days. "In general, I never hurt anybody ever in my life," Chapman said through a translator. "That's not my character or the person I am."
Feb. 20 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Chapman's first bullpen session with the New York Yankees quickly turned into quite an event.
Analysis: The new closer threw 26 pitches to Brian McCann on Saturday, drawing a large crowd of team officials ranging from general manager Brian Cashman to guest instructor and Hall of Fame reliever Goose Gossage.
Feb. 18 11:39 AM PT12:39 PM MT1:39 PM CT2:39 PM ET14:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Chapman says he would appeal if he is suspended by Major League Baseball under the sport's new domestic violence policy.
Analysis: Florida prosecutors decided not to file charges against Chapman, whose girlfriend told officers he pushed her, put his hands around her neck and choked her during an argument in October. Broward Assistant State Attorney Stefanie Newman wrote conflicting accounts and insufficient evidence made a conviction unlikely. Baseball commissioner Rob Manfred said he hopes to have a decision by opening day.
Feb. 12 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Chapman and the New York Yankees have agreed to a one-year contract worth $11,325,000, avoiding salary arbitration.
Analysis: Acquired from Cincinnati in December, Chapman had asked for $13.1 million and had been offered $9 million when the sides exchanged figures last month. The agreement Friday was $275,000 above the midpoint. Chapman threw the 62 fastest pitches in the major leagues last season, ranging from 103.92 to 102.36 mph.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Cin 2 2 0 - 1 15 0 0 13.1 9 4 3 0 5 0 19 1.05 2.03
2011 Cin 4 1 1 - 3 54 0 0 50.0 24 21 20 2 41 0 71 1.30 3.60
2012 Cin 5 5 38 - 43 68 0 0 71.2 35 13 12 4 23 0 122 0.81 1.51
2013 Cin 4 5 38 - 43 68 0 0 63.2 37 18 18 7 29 0 112 1.04 2.54
2014 Cin 0 3 36 - 38 54 0 0 54.0 21 12 12 1 24 0 106 0.83 2.00
2015 Cin 4 4 33 - 36 65 0 0 66.1 43 13 12 3 33 1 116 1.15 1.63
2016 NYY 3 0 20 - 21 31 0 0 31.1 20 8 7 2 8 0 44 0.89 2.01
2016 ChC 0 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 2.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00 0.00
2016 Tot 3 0 21 - 22 33 0 0 33.2 20 8 7 2 8 0 48 0.83 1.87
Career 22 20 167 - 186 357 0 0 352.2 189 89 84 19 163 1 594 1.00 2.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Cin 68 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Cin 65 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 357 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 1 2 0 0 1.2 3 3 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 1 2 0 0 1.2 3 3 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2012 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 2 1 1 0 2 0 3 3.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 2 1 1 0 2 0 3 3.00
Career 0 1 0 - 1 5 0 0 4.2 5 4 1 0 2 0 4 1.93


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 458 105 95 100.2 80.78
Slider 89 93 83 87.9 15.7
Changeup 20 91 85 88.2 3.53

w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.