MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Starlin Castro
AVG HR RBI
.284 13 64
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 190 NFBC ADP: 127.17
Position: SSBorn: 3/24/1990 Birthplace: Monte Cristi, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cubs (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 20 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs say Castro has been scratched from the lineup because of a family emergency.
Analysis: The Cubs made the announcement before Wednesday night's game at Wrigley Field against the San Francisco Giants. The team didn't disclose specifics on the emergency or how long Castro might be out. Castro has played in all 125 games for the Cubs games this season and is batting .283 with 13 homers and 64 RBIs. He had been set to bat fourth on Wednesday.
Aug. 6 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Castro was 2 for 5 and scored twice in the Cubs' 6-5 win in 12 innings at Colorado on Tuesday.
Analysis: Castro is 12 for 32 with six runs scored over his last seven games. He's batting .290 since the All-Star break after hitting .276 before it.
Aug. 2 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Castro had three hits and scored a season-high three runs as the Chicago Cubs beat Los Angeles 8-2 on Friday night, snapping the Dodgers' six-game winning streak.
Analysis: Castro, now batting .272, was 4 for 22 (.182) in his previous five games.
July 20 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Castro had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: Castro is scuffling with a .237 average in his last 15 games.
July 5 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Castro was 2 for 5 with his 26th double in Friday's 7-2 win at Washington.
Analysis: Castro is batting .343 over his last 26 games with 21 RBIs.
June 27 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Castro had a broken-bat, two-run single in a 5-3 win over Washington on Thursday night.
Analysis: The Chicago Cubs shortstop has 18 of his team-best 47 RBIs in the last 17 games. He's also batting .354 (23 for 65) with a 1.039 OPS during that stretch.
June 10 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Castro went 3 for 4 with a home run and a double in Monday's loss in Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Castro is 6 for 13 with five extra-base hits over three games.
May 26 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Castro went 2 for 4 with his seventh home run - a two-run shot - in Sunday's 4-3 loss at San Diego.
Analysis: Castro had been 0 for 17 over his previous four games.
May 17 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Castro had two hits in Friday's loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: The Cubs shortstop is having a strong stretch at the plate with an 11-for-27 mark over six games to boost his season average to .296.
May 16 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Castro stayed hot with three hits and two RBIs in a 5-3 loss at St. Louis on Thursday.
Analysis: Castro is 8 for 20 over his last four games.
May 1 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Castro was 3 for 4 on Wednesday at Cincinnati with two doubles and his fifth RBI in three games.
Analysis: Castro is having a nice season thus far in relatively quiet fashion, posting an .811 OPS and 14 RBIs in 26 games.
Apr. 28 11:34 AM PT12:34 PM MT1:34 PM CT2:34 PM ET14:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE1:34 PM CT-Castro hit two solo homers and the Chicago Cubs shut out the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: Castro, who also singled, was 2 for 15 in his previous four games. His performance Sunday boosted his average from .272 to .292.
Apr. 13 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Castro put together his fourth multihit effort in seven games Saturday, going 2 for 4 against the Cardinals and driving in a run.
Analysis: Castro is hitting .405 over his last nine games after going 0 for 9 in his first two.
Apr. 11 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Castro had three hits and drove in a run in a 5-4 loss to Pittsburgh on Thursday.
Analysis: The Chicago Cubs shortstop is 13 for 29 (.448) with seven RBIs during a seven-game hit streak. He also has an OPS of 1.138.
Apr. 9 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-The powerful Castro had three hits Tuesday.
Analysis: Castro went deep twice for his first homers of the season and has a .885 OPS.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 ChC 125 463 53 139 31 5 3 41 29 71 10 8 .300 .347 .408
2011 ChC 158 674 91 207 36 9 10 66 35 96 22 9 .307 .341 .432
2012 ChC 162 646 78 183 29 12 14 78 36 100 25 13 .283 .323 .430
2013 ChC 161 666 59 163 34 2 10 44 30 129 9 6 .245 .284 .347
2014 ChC 125 496 53 141 31 1 13 64 34 95 4 3 .284 .333 .429
Career 731 2945 334 833 161 29 50 293 164 491 70 39 .283 .324 .408

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.