MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Ernesto Frieri
ERA S K
7.34 11 48
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 200 NFBC ADP: 132.83
Position: RPBorn: 7/19/1985 Birthplace: Bolivar, Colombia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Padres (2003)


Latest News
Aug. 8 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Frieri has been designated for assignment.
Analysis: Frieri was acquired by the Pirates on June 27 in exchange for former closer Jason Grilli. Frieri had a 10.13 ERA in 14 appearances with Pittsburgh.
June 27 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates acquired Ernesto Frieri from the Los Angeles Angels on Friday and sent Jason Grilli to Anaheim.
Analysis: Frieri had a career-best 37 saves for Los Angeles last year, but the 28-year-old right-hander is just 0-3 with 6.39 ERA and 11 saves in 34 appearances this season.
May 6 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-With Joe Smith unavailable, Frieri earned the save in Monday's 4-1 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Frieri appears to have gotten his job back. He has made five consecutive clean appearances without allowing a walk or a hit.
Apr. 25 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Frieri has lost his job as Los Angeles Angels closer - at least for a while.
Analysis: Angels manager Mike Scioscia says setup man Joe Smith will step into the stopper role until Frieri works out his problems beginning Friday night when the Angels play the New York Yankees. Frieri is 0-2 with a 9.35 ERA in 10 appearances this year. He's allowed five home runs.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 SD 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.50 0.00
2010 SD 1 1 0 - 0 33 0 0 31.2 18 7 6 2 17 3 41 1.11 1.71
2011 SD 1 2 0 - 0 59 0 0 63.0 51 21 19 3 34 5 76 1.35 2.71
2012 SD 1 0 0 - 0 11 0 0 11.2 9 5 3 2 4 0 18 1.11 2.31
2012 LAA 4 2 23 - 26 56 0 0 54.1 26 15 14 7 26 0 80 0.96 2.32
2012 Tot 5 2 23 - 26 67 0 0 66.0 35 20 17 9 30 0 98 0.98 2.32
2013 LAA 2 4 37 - 41 67 0 0 68.2 55 29 29 11 30 1 98 1.24 3.80
2014 LAA 0 3 11 - 14 34 0 0 31.0 33 22 22 8 9 1 38 1.35 6.39
2014 Pit 1 1 0 - 0 14 0 0 10.2 14 12 12 3 5 1 10 1.78 10.13
2014 Tot 1 4 11 - 14 48 0 0 41.2 47 34 34 11 14 2 48 1.46 7.34
Career 10 13 71 - 81 276 0 0 273.0 206 111 105 36 126 11 363 1.22 3.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 SD 33 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 276 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 602 97 91 94 78.28
Slider 133 88 79 82.4 17.3
Changeup 34 89 84 86.5 4.42

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.