MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Ian Desmond
.233 19 62
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 20.99
Position: SSBorn: 9/20/1985 Birthplace: Sarasota, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Expos (2004)

Latest News
Nov. 6 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-The Washington Nationals have made $15.8 million qualifying offers to two homegrown players expected to leave via free agency, shortstop Ian Desmond and pitcher Jordan Zimmermann.
Analysis: Desmond, 30, has a .264 average, with 110 homers and 432 RBIs. He was an All-Star once and won three Silver Slugger Awards.
Sep. 6 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Desmond had three hits, including a pair of doubles, in an 8-2 win against Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Desmond is batting .316 while hitting safely in 17 of his last 21 games.
Aug. 30 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Desmond was 2 for 4 with his 17th jack on Saturday.
Analysis: Desmond is 4 for 7 in the series after he has flailed against Miami pitching for the most part at .209.
Aug. 19 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Desmond had three hits and drove in a season-high four runs in a 15-6 win against Colorado on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Desmond, now batting .229, is hitting .356 with four homers and 11 RBIs in his last 12 games.
Aug. 11 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Desmond belted two home runs during his 3-for-4, three-RBI day on Monday against the Dodgers.
Analysis: The second multi-homer game of Desmond's career helped the struggling shortstop pull his batting average up to .224. He has three multi-hit games in his last five and is hitting .421 during that span.
July 24 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Desmond went 2 for 4 with his ninth home run in Thursday's 7-3 loss at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Desmond has gotten into a nice groove, going 7 for 13 with two homers over his last four games.
May 30 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE2:36 PM CT-Desmond extended his hit streak to 13 games by going 2 for 5 in a 5-2 loss to Cincinnati on Friday.
Analysis: Desmond is batting .352 (19 for 54) with six doubles and two homers during his streak.
May 28 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Desmond was 3 for 5 with two doubles Wednesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Desmond is hitting .347 with six doubles and two homers during a 12-game hitting streak.
May 27 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Desmond extended his hit streak to 11 games with a double in a 3-2 loss to the Chicago Cubs on Tuesday.
Analysis: Desmond is batting .318 (14 for 44) during his run. He was hitting .225 in his first 35 games.
Apr. 20 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Desmond was 2 for 4 with an RBI and two runs scored Sunday.
Analysis: Desmond is 13 for his last 25 with six runs, four RBIs and one HR in that span.
Apr. 19 5:12 PM PT6:12 PM MT7:12 PM CT8:12 PM ET20:12 ET0:12 GMT8:12 5:12 PM MST7:12 PM EST7:42 PM VEN4:12 UAE (+1)7:12 PM CT-Desmond was 3 for 5 in Saturday's loss to Philadelphia.
Analysis: Desmond is 11 for 21 in the last five games.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.