MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Michael Brantley
.310 15 84
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-2 / 200 NFBC ADP: 23.56
Position: LFBorn: 5/15/1987 Birthplace: Bellevue, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 7th Round by Brewers (2005)

Latest News
Sep. 29 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-The Cleveland Indians have shut down Brantley for the rest of the regular season because of a sore right shoulder.
Analysis: Brantley injured the shoulder trying to make a diving catch last week in Minnesota. He sat out four games, but played Sunday and Monday, going hitless in both games. He wasn't in the lineup Tuesday - a game that was postponed by rain - and was examined a doctor. An MRI revealed inflammation and Brantley got a cortisone shot Wednesday. He is batting .310 with 15 homers and 84 RBIs in 137 games. Brantley finished third in the AL MVP voting last season.
Sep. 19 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Brantley was 3 for 5 on Friday.
Analysis: Brantley is one of the game's underrated stars with a .873 OPS.
Sep. 11 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Brantley went deep twice Thursday against Detroit.
Analysis: Brantley, who now has 15 homers this year, has had a heck of a month, batting .371 with seven home runs, 13 doubles and 24 RBIs over his last 28 games.
Sep. 2 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Brantley finished 2 for 5 with a solo home run in Tuesday's loss at Toronto.
Analysis: Brantley has been on fire over the last month, batting .415 with four homers, 18 RBIs and 20 runs scored in 23 games since Aug. 3. The stretch has raised his season average to .323, second best in the American League.
Aug. 31 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 3 with his major league-leading 40th double Sunday against the Angels.
Analysis: Brantley has hit safely in 26 of his last 28 games, batting .409 with 18 RBIs in that span.
Aug. 30 11:55 AM PT12:55 PM MT1:55 PM CT2:55 PM ET14:55 ET18:55 GMT2:55 11:55 AM MST1:55 PM EST2:25 PM VEN22:55 UAE1:55 PM CT-Brantley was 3 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Brantley is hitting .431 in his last 17 games so he looks unstoppable.
Aug. 26 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Brantley homered twice and singled Tuesday against the Brewers.
Analysis: Brantley is batting .419 with 15 RBIs in his last 14 games.
Aug. 21 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Brantley is sizzling at .439 in his last 14 games.
Aug. 19 10:12 AM PT11:12 AM MT12:12 PM CT1:12 PM ET13:12 ET17:12 GMT1:12 10:12 AM MST12:12 PM EST12:42 PM VEN21:12 UAE12:12 PM CT-Brantley hit his ninth homer Tuessday at Boston.
Analysis: Brantley is batting .374 with 23 RBIs over his last 32 games.
Aug. 14 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Brantley is out of Friday's lineup and will likely miss multiple days while he deals with a sore left shoulder.
Analysis: Brantley stayed behind in Cleveland as the Indians departed for an 11-game road trip beginning in Minnesota on Friday and had an MRI on his throwing shoulder, which manager Terry Francona characterized as "good." Brantley has hit .312 this season with eight home runs, 63 RBIs and 12 stolen bases while playing in 103 games.
Aug. 10 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Brantley continued his hot hitting by going 3 for 5 Sunday.
Analysis: Brantley has hit safely in 12 of 13 games, batting .417 with nine runs scored and three steals. He's now hitting .313 this season.
July 23 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Brantley went 4 for 5 with a home run and four RBIs in Wednesday's win in Milwaukee.
Analysis: Brantley is batting .415 with three homers, four doubles and 13 RBIs in 11 games.
July 8 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Brantley went 3 for 4 with his fifth home run in Tuesday's 2-0 win over Houston.
Analysis: Brantley had been 3 for 23 (.130) over his first six games this month.
June 30 10:05 AM PT11:05 AM MT12:05 PM CT1:05 PM ET13:05 ET17:05 GMT1:05 10:05 AM MST12:05 PM EST12:35 PM VEN21:05 UAE12:05 PM CT-Brantley was 3 for 4 with his 38th RBI on Monday against the Rays.
Analysis: Brantley hasn't been quite as effective as he was last season, but still boasts a .301 batting average.
June 19 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 4 with his 21st double Thursday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Brantley has four doubles in his last eight games, going 10 for 30 in that span.
June 13 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Brantley is surging, hitting .345 in his last eight outings.
June 12 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Brantley is 10 for 35 over an unimpressive nine-game hitting streak.
June 8 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Brantley was given Sunday off.
Analysis: He's been dealing with a sore back since spring training. The Indians don't play Monday and manager Terry Francona wanted to give Brantley two days off in a row.
May 2 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Brantley was 2 for 5 with a two-run homer in Friday's win over Toronto.
Analysis: It was his first home run of the season after hitting 20 a season ago, but he's batting .455 in his last eight games.
May 1 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Brantley was 3 for 4 with two doubles and an RBI in Thursday's loss to Toronto.
Analysis: Brantley ended April with a 13-for-28 span in his last seven games.
Apr. 26 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Brantley went 4 for 4 with two doubles Saturday against Detroit.
Analysis: Brantley has picked up where he left off last season. He's batting .359 through 10 games.
Apr. 14 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Brantley is not in Cleveland's starting lineup for the fifth time because of a bad back.
Analysis: Brantley has been bothered by lower back stiffness since he reported to training camp in February. The 27-year-old played the season opener in Houston before resting two games. He returned to the lineup on Friday for Cleveland's home opener against Detroit, but was kept out of the final two games over the weekend as the Tigers swept the Indians.
Apr. 11 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Brantley is again sidelined with a back issue that has bothered him for several weeks.
Analysis: Brantley will sit out Saturday's game against Detroit, and manager Terry Francona indicated the 27-year-old will probably miss Sunday's series finale as well. The Indians are off Monday, giving Brantley more time to recover.
Apr. 8 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Brantley was back in the Tribe's lineup Friday.
Analysis: Brantley was out of the lineup for two games day because of lower-back stiffness.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.