MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Stephen Strasburg
ERA W-L K
3.09 2-1 31
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 235 NFBC ADP: 50.27
Position: SPBorn: 7/20/1988 Birthplace: San Diego, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Nationals (2009)


Latest News
Apr. 29 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Strasburg fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Saturday. Strasburg struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg was back from the birth of his second child. He has gone seven innings in all five starts this year.
Apr. 23 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-The Washington Nationals have reinstated right-hander Stephen Strasburg from the paternity list after the birth of his second child.
Analysis: Strasburg is scheduled to throw Saturday against the New York Mets. He is 2-0 with a 2.89 ERA this season. The 28-year-old Strasburg and his wife, Rachel, welcomed their second daughter earlier this week.
Apr. 20 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Strasburg struck out 10 and the Nationals completed a three-game sweep with a 3-2 victory over the Braves on Thursday night. He allowed two runs over seven innings while giving up six hits and walking two. He threw 76 of his 103 pitches for strikes.
Analysis: Strasburg has gone seven innings in each of his four starts, and now has 29 strikeouts on the season and a 1.04 WHIP. On Tuesday, he'll return to the site of the worst start of his career. Last Aug. 17 at Coors Field, Strasburg was tagged for nine runs and nine hits in 1 2/3 innings.
Apr. 14 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Strasburg got a no-decision Friday against the Phillies after yielding two runs and striking out eight in seven innings. He allowed five hits and two walks.
Analysis: A switch to pitching out of the stretch this season seems to be working quite well for Strasburg, who has pitched seven innings in all three of his starts. He's given up no more than three runs in any of them. He threw a season-high 111 pitches Friday, a mark he reached just twice in 24 starts last year.
Apr. 9 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Strasburg gave up three runs over seven innings, striking out eight, in the Nationals' 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: That's two fairly lengthy, impressive starts from Strasburg, who is always a health concern.
Apr. 9 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Strasburg gave up three runs over seven innings, striking out eight, in the Nationals' 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: That's two fairly lengthy, impressive starts from Strasburg, who is always a health concern.
Apr. 3 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Strasburg won Monday's opening day start with seven sharp innings in which the hard-throwing right-hander held the Marlins to two runs on six hits, struck out three and did not walk a batter.
Analysis: Strasburg displayed good command from his new windup, which consisted of him working solely out of the stretch. As always, the talented hurler's fantasy outlook will hinge predominately on his health, so owners should benefit in the short-term and keep their fingers crossed thereafter.
Mar. 3 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Strasburg avoided a windup for all 23 of his pitches in a 2-1, 10-inning loss by a Washington split squad to St. Louis on Friday, his first appearance of spring training.
Analysis: Strasburg came up with the idea after watching Texas' Yu Darvish and Cleveland's Carlos Carrasco. He approached pitching coach Mike Maddux with the idea at the start of spring training. "If you can keep and repeat your arm slot, theoretically it's supposed to put less stress on your arm,'' Strasburg said.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Was 5 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 68.0 56 25 22 5 17 0 92 1.07 2.91
2011 Was 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 24.0 15 5 4 0 2 0 24 0.71 1.50
2012 Was 15 6 0 - 0 28 28 0 159.1 136 62 56 15 48 1 197 1.15 3.16
2013 Was 8 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 183.0 136 71 61 16 56 1 191 1.05 3.00
2014 Was 14 11 0 - 0 34 34 0 215.0 198 86 75 23 43 4 242 1.12 3.14
2015 Was 11 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 127.1 115 56 49 14 26 0 155 1.11 3.46
2016 Was 15 4 0 - 0 24 24 0 147.2 119 59 59 15 44 1 183 1.10 3.60
2017 Was 2 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 35.0 28 12 12 2 7 0 31 1.00 3.09
Career 71 42 0 - 0 161 161 1 959.1 803 376 338 90 243 7 1115 1.09 3.17

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Was 12 20 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .050 .050 .050
2011 Was 5 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Was 28 47 4 13 4 0 1 7 3 13 0 0 .277 .333 .426
2013 Was 30 49 2 7 2 0 0 2 2 23 0 0 .143 .176 .184
2014 Was 34 60 3 6 1 0 0 3 7 26 0 0 .100 .194 .117
2015 Was 23 38 1 5 0 0 0 0 2 17 0 0 .132 .175 .132
2016 Was 24 48 3 10 1 0 0 2 2 11 0 0 .208 .240 .229
2017 Was 5 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 161 278 14 42 8 0 1 15 16 101 0 0 .151 .200 .191

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 279 98 93 82.9 56.02
Curveball 89 84 79 72.4 17.87
Slider 36 92 89 67.6 7.23
Changeup 94 91 87 74.8 18.88

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.