MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Brian Matusz
14.00 0-0 3
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 190 NFBC ADP: 680.43
Position: SPBorn: 2/11/1987 Birthplace: Grand Junction, Colorado
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2008)

Latest News
July 31 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Matusz was terrible in his Cubs debut Sunday, and first start since July 1, 2012, allowing three two-run homers in three innings to the Mariners.
Analysis: Though manager Joe Maddon wants to rest his rotation by possibly adding a sixth man, Matusz was designated for assignment Monday.
June 14 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-The Cubs have signed Matusz to a minor-league deal.
Analysis: Chicago hopes to revive the career of Matusz, who was the fourth overall pick in 2008 but hasn't lived up to expectations. He went 27-41 with a 4.85 ERA in 279 career appearances (68 starts) with the Orioles. Matusz, 29, was traded by Baltimore to Atlanta in late May. The Braves designated him for assignment and later released him. The Cubs plan to look at Matusz as a possible starting pitcher. He has been assigned to Triple-A Iowa.
May 23 6:17 PM PT7:17 PM MT8:17 PM CT9:17 PM ET21:17 ET1:17 GMT9:17 6:17 PM MST8:17 PM EST8:47 PM VEN5:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves have invested deeper into their already important June draft by acquiring Matusz and the 76th pick in the draft from the Baltimore Orioles in exchange for minor league pitchers Brandon Barker and Trevor Belicek.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Matusz has a 12.00 ERA in seven relief appearances this season. He began the season on the 15-day disabled list with back discomfort and was activated on April 23. He is 27-41 with a 4.85 ERA in 289 career games, including 68 starts, in eight seasons with Baltimore. He had a 2.94 ERA in 58 games out o
Apr. 3 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Matusz was removed from the 15-day disabled list Saturday.
Analysis: The left-hander was out because of discomfort in his back.

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.