MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#23
David Freese
AVG HR RBI
.273 12 49
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 220 NFBC ADP: 484.26
Position: 3BBorn: 4/28/1983 Birthplace: Corpus Christi, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Padres (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 22 12:16 PM PT1:16 PM MT2:16 PM CT3:16 PM ET15:16 ET19:16 GMT3:16 12:16 PM MST2:16 PM EST2:46 PM VEN23:16 UAE2:16 PM CT-The Pirates have signed Freese to a two-year contract extension that contains a club option for the 2019 season.
Analysis: Signed to a one-year, $3 million deal in March, Freese is putting together his best season since hitting .293 with 20 home runs and 79 RBIs with St. Louis in 2012. The 33-year-old owns a .276 average with 12 homers and 49 RBIs in 107 games, splitting time between third and first base.
Aug. 11 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Freese went 2 for 4 with a double, two RBIs and a run scored Thursday,
Analysis: He's 5 for 11 over his last three games after batting .183 in his previous 18 contests.
Aug. 9 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Freese had three hits and scored three runs as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 6-4 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Perhaps this will get Freese going after he'd hit just .183 over his last 18 games.
Aug. 6 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Freese was removed from the game Saturday in the seventh inning with left elbow discomfort. He did not play Sunday.
Analysis: Freese's status is uncertain at this point. He's batting .277 with 11 homers and 43 RBIs this season.
Aug. 5 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Freese hit his 11th homer of the season in Thursday's loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: It was Freese's first homer in 16 games, a span in which he's batted just .182.
July 8 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Freese homered for one of his two hits Friday.
Analysis: He is 13 for 33 with four home runs and eight RBIs during a nine-game hitting streak.
June 27 10:51 PM PT11:51 PM MT12:51 AM CT1:51 AM ET1:51 ET5:51 GMT13:51 10:51 PM MST12:51 AM EST1:21 AM VEN9:51 UAE12:51 AM CT-Freese helped send Clayton Kershaw to his first loss since April by delivering a three-run double in Sunday's game against the Dodgers.
Analysis: Freese continues to crush left-handed pitching, as he's hit .360 with a 1.009 OPS against southpaws. He's worth a play when the Pirates are matched up against a lefty.
June 10 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Freese clubbed a three-run home run in Thursday's 11-5 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Freese is batting .370 with two homers, three doubles and seven RBIs over his last seven games. He has five home runs on the season.
May 31 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Freese collected four hits and a pair of RBIs in Monday's win at Miami.
Analysis: The veteran has been a solid pickup for the Pirates but hasn't put up inspiring fantasy numbers, having generated just four homers and 18 RBIs. He's 8 for 18 over his last four games, though.
May 28 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Freese was 3 for 5 on Friday night.
Analysis: Freese has crushed lefties for a .357 average.
Apr. 25 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Freese went 3 for 5 with two RBIs on Sunday.
Analysis: Freese doubled three times after he had one extra-base hit in his previous seven games.
Apr. 15 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Freese was 3 for 5 with a double and an RBI in Thursday's loss to Detroit.
Analysis: Freese is 5 for his last 8 and is batting .342 in his first 10 games with his new club.
Apr. 14 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Freese went 2 for 3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: He also walked and scored a run.
Mar. 11 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Freese and the Pittsburgh Pirates have agreed to a $3 million, one-year contract.
Analysis: The 32-year-old, an All-Star with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2012, hit .257 with 27 doubles, 14 homers and 56 RBIs last year with the Los Angeles Angels. He has a .276 career average with 68 homers and 348 RBIs for St. Louis (2009-13) and the Angels (2014-15). Freese was MVP of the NL Championship Series and World Series in 2011, when he hit .397 with five homers and 21 RBIs during the postseason.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 StL 17 31 3 10 2 0 1 7 2 7 0 0 .323 .353 .484
2010 StL 70 240 28 71 12 1 4 36 21 59 1 1 .296 .361 .404
2011 StL 97 333 41 99 16 1 10 55 24 75 1 0 .297 .350 .441
2012 StL 144 501 70 147 25 1 20 79 57 122 3 3 .293 .372 .467
2013 StL 138 462 53 121 26 1 9 60 47 106 1 2 .262 .340 .381
2014 LAA 134 462 53 120 25 1 10 55 38 124 1 3 .260 .321 .383
2015 LAA 121 424 53 109 27 0 14 56 31 107 1 1 .257 .323 .420
2016 Pit 112 363 54 99 20 0 12 49 36 112 0 0 .273 .351 .427
Career 833 2816 355 776 153 5 80 397 256 712 8 10 .276 .345 .419

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 StL Total 18 63 12 25 8 1 5 21 7 14 0 0 .397 .465 .794
    LDS 5 18 1 5 2 0 1 5 0 9 0 0 .278 .278 .556
    LCS 6 22 7 12 3 0 3 9 2 2 0 0 .545 .600 1.091
    WS 7 23 4 8 3 1 1 7 5 3 0 0 .348 .464 .696
2012 StL Total 13 47 5 13 5 0 1 4 4 13 0 1 .277 .327 .447
    WC 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 5 19 3 8 3 0 0 1 3 5 0 1 .421 .500 .579
    LCS 7 26 2 5 2 0 1 2 1 7 0 0 .192 .222 .385
2013 StL Total 17 56 3 10 2 0 1 4 6 16 0 0 .179 .258 .268
    LDS 5 16 1 3 0 0 1 4 2 4 0 0 .188 .278 .375
    LCS 6 21 2 4 1 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .190 .227 .238
    WS 6 19 0 3 1 0 0 0 3 7 0 0 .158 .273 .211
2014 LAA Total 3 8 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .125 .364 .500
    LDS 3 8 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .125 .364 .500
Career 51 174 21 49 15 1 8 30 19 47 0 1 .282 .357 .517


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.