MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#23
David Freese
AVG HR RBI
.264 6 25
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225 NFBC ADP: 454.16
Position: 3BBorn: 4/28/1983 Birthplace: Corpus Christi, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Padres (2006)


Latest News
June 24 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE10:34 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 22 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-David Freese went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
June 20 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Milwaukee Brewers 7-3. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
June 19 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 4 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Milwaukee Brewers 8-1. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
Analysis: Freese had been just 1 for 10 over his previous three games.
June 18 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-1. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 18 11:53 PM PT12:53 AM MT1:53 AM CT2:53 AM ET2:53 ET6:53 GMT14:53 11:53 PM MST1:53 AM EST2:23 AM VEN10:53 UAE1:53 AM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Chicago Cubs 4-3. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 16 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-5. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
June 14 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-David Freese went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Colorado Rockies 5-2. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
June 12 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Freese went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Colorado Rockies 7-2. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
Analysis: He's 12 for 31 with six RBIs in his last eight games.
June 11 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-David Freese went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Miami Marlins 3-1. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 10 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET20:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Miami Marlins 7-6. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
June 9 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 12-7. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Analysis: Freese is 9 for 19 with a homer, five RBIs and four runs over his last five games.
June 9 7:58 AM PT8:58 AM MT9:58 AM CT10:58 AM ET10:58 ET14:58 GMT22:58 7:58 AM MST9:58 AM EST10:28 AM VEN18:58 UAE9:58 AM CT-David Freese went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 7-1. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 8 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 5 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-6. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
June 6 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. The homer was his sixth of the season. Freese scored twice. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
June 5 8:53 AM PT9:53 AM MT10:53 AM CT11:53 AM ET11:53 ET15:53 GMT23:53 8:53 AM MST10:53 AM EST11:23 AM VEN19:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-David Freese went 3 for 4 with three RBIs Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the New York Mets 11-1. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: It was the second three-hit game of the season for Freese, who went 5 for 29 in his previous eight contests.
June 4 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-David Freese went 1 for 5 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 4-2. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
June 1 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 5 with an RBI Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 30 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Freese went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: He's 3 for 19 in his last six home games.
May 29 8:10 AM PT9:10 AM MT10:10 AM CT11:10 AM ET11:10 ET15:10 GMT23:10 8:10 AM MST10:10 AM EST10:40 AM VEN19:10 UAE10:10 AM CT-David Freese went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 7-2. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
May 28 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the New York Mets 5-4. Freese scored twice. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
May 27 10:12 AM PT11:12 AM MT12:12 PM CT1:12 PM ET13:12 ET17:12 GMT1:12 10:12 AM MST12:12 PM EST12:42 PM VEN21:12 UAE12:12 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 4 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-1. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
May 25 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Atlanta Braves 9-4. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 25 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Atlanta Braves 12-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 23 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 2 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Atlanta Braves 5-2. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
May 21 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 with an RBI Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Philadelphia Phillies 1-0. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3. The homer was his fourth of the season. Freese scored twice. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Analysis: Freese broke out of a 2-for-23 slump with his first multihit effort since April 21, one day before he last homered. All four of his home runs have come at PNC Park.
May 19 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 4 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
Analysis: Freese is 1 for 18 with seven strikeouts in six games since coming off the DL.
May 17 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Washington Nationals 6-1. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
May 16 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 8-4. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 15 6:57 AM PT7:57 AM MT8:57 AM CT9:57 AM ET9:57 ET13:57 GMT21:57 6:57 AM MST8:57 AM EST9:27 AM VEN17:57 UAE8:57 AM CT-David Freese went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
May 14 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
May 13 10:15 AM PT11:15 AM MT12:15 PM CT1:15 PM ET13:15 ET17:15 GMT1:15 10:15 AM MST12:15 PM EST12:45 PM VEN21:15 UAE12:15 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-4. He ended the game with a .305 batting average.
Apr. 27 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Freese (strained hamstring) was activated off the 10-day DL on Friday.
Analysis: Freese hit .321 with three home runs and 10 RBIs in 18 games before getting injured on April 24 against the Cubs.
Apr. 21 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Freese went 2 for 4 with two RBIs on Friday against the Yankees.
Analysis: He's 5 for 12 over his last three games.
Apr. 14 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Freese went 3 or 4 with two RBIs and a run scored in Friday's win at Wrigley Field.
Analysis: The 33-year-old third baseman has reached safely in 12 of his last 15 plate appearances, and is hitting .440 on the young season. ''He's fun to watch,'' manager Clint Hurdle said. ''Good takes, not firing early, seeing pitches, staying in the fight, fouling off good pitcher's pitches. And then, when the ball is hit, it's hit all over the park. He's a professional player.''
Apr. 13 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Freese hit a two-run homer Wednesday.
Analysis: He is 7 for 20 with two homers.
Apr. 7 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Freese hit a solo homer and walked Friday against Atlanta.
Analysis: The third baseman took a line drive off the chest in the eighth. He appeared to be in serious pain but stayed on to finish the inning before being replaced. Freese, who is 4 for 11 on the season, said afterward he is fine.
Apr. 3 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Freese singled twice and scored Monday against Boston.
Analysis: Freese hit .270 with 13 homers and 55 RBIs in 141 games in 2016, his first season with the Pirates.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.