MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#23
David Freese
AVG HR RBI
.263 4 12
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225 NFBC ADP: 454.16
Position: 3BBorn: 4/28/1983 Birthplace: Corpus Christi, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Padres (2006)


Latest News
May 21 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 with an RBI Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Philadelphia Phillies 1-0. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-David Freese went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3. The homer was his fourth of the season. Freese scored twice. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Analysis: Freese broke out of a 2-for-23 slump with his first multihit effort since April 21, one day before he last homered. All four of his home runs have come at PNC Park.
May 19 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 4 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
Analysis: Freese is 1 for 18 with seven strikeouts in six games since coming off the DL.
May 17 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Washington Nationals 6-1. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
May 16 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 8-4. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 15 6:57 AM PT7:57 AM MT8:57 AM CT9:57 AM ET9:57 ET13:57 GMT21:57 6:57 AM MST8:57 AM EST9:27 AM VEN17:57 UAE8:57 AM CT-David Freese went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
May 14 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-David Freese went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. Freese scored once. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
May 13 10:15 AM PT11:15 AM MT12:15 PM CT1:15 PM ET13:15 ET17:15 GMT1:15 10:15 AM MST12:15 PM EST12:45 PM VEN21:15 UAE12:15 PM CT-David Freese went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-4. He ended the game with a .305 batting average.
Apr. 27 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Freese (strained hamstring) was activated off the 10-day DL on Friday.
Analysis: Freese hit .321 with three home runs and 10 RBIs in 18 games before getting injured on April 24 against the Cubs.
Apr. 21 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Freese went 2 for 4 with two RBIs on Friday against the Yankees.
Analysis: He's 5 for 12 over his last three games.
Apr. 14 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Freese went 3 or 4 with two RBIs and a run scored in Friday's win at Wrigley Field.
Analysis: The 33-year-old third baseman has reached safely in 12 of his last 15 plate appearances, and is hitting .440 on the young season. ''He's fun to watch,'' manager Clint Hurdle said. ''Good takes, not firing early, seeing pitches, staying in the fight, fouling off good pitcher's pitches. And then, when the ball is hit, it's hit all over the park. He's a professional player.''
Apr. 13 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Freese hit a two-run homer Wednesday.
Analysis: He is 7 for 20 with two homers.
Apr. 7 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Freese hit a solo homer and walked Friday against Atlanta.
Analysis: The third baseman took a line drive off the chest in the eighth. He appeared to be in serious pain but stayed on to finish the inning before being replaced. Freese, who is 4 for 11 on the season, said afterward he is fine.
Apr. 3 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Freese singled twice and scored Monday against Boston.
Analysis: Freese hit .270 with 13 homers and 55 RBIs in 141 games in 2016, his first season with the Pirates.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 StL 17 31 3 10 2 0 1 7 2 7 0 0 .323 .353 .484
2010 StL 70 240 28 71 12 1 4 36 21 59 1 1 .296 .361 .404
2011 StL 97 333 41 99 16 1 10 55 24 75 1 0 .297 .350 .441
2012 StL 144 501 70 147 25 1 20 79 57 122 3 3 .293 .372 .467
2013 StL 138 462 53 121 26 1 9 60 47 106 1 2 .262 .340 .381
2014 LAA 134 462 53 120 25 1 10 55 38 124 1 3 .260 .321 .383
2015 LAA 121 424 53 109 27 0 14 56 31 107 1 1 .257 .323 .420
2016 Pit 141 437 63 118 23 0 13 55 45 142 0 0 .270 .352 .412
2017 Pit 26 80 9 21 3 0 4 12 12 17 0 0 .263 .368 .450
Career 888 2970 373 816 159 5 85 415 277 759 8 10 .275 .346 .418

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 StL Total 18 63 12 25 8 1 5 21 7 14 0 0 .397 .465 .794
    LDS 5 18 1 5 2 0 1 5 0 9 0 0 .278 .278 .556
    LCS 6 22 7 12 3 0 3 9 2 2 0 0 .545 .600 1.091
    WS 7 23 4 8 3 1 1 7 5 3 0 0 .348 .464 .696
2012 StL Total 13 47 5 13 5 0 1 4 4 13 0 1 .277 .327 .447
    WC 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 5 19 3 8 3 0 0 1 3 5 0 1 .421 .500 .579
    LCS 7 26 2 5 2 0 1 2 1 7 0 0 .192 .222 .385
2013 StL Total 17 56 3 10 2 0 1 4 6 16 0 0 .179 .258 .268
    LDS 5 16 1 3 0 0 1 4 2 4 0 0 .188 .278 .375
    LCS 6 21 2 4 1 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .190 .227 .238
    WS 6 19 0 3 1 0 0 0 3 7 0 0 .158 .273 .211
2014 LAA Total 3 8 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .125 .364 .500
    LDS 3 8 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .125 .364 .500
Career 51 174 21 49 15 1 8 30 19 47 0 1 .282 .357 .517


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.