MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Matt Wieters
AVG HR RBI
.238 11 51
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230 NFBC ADP: 173.93
Position: CBorn: 5/21/1986 Birthplace: Charleston, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 25 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Wieters homered and drove in four runs for the AL wild card-contending Orioles in a 10-8 win over the Nationals on Wednesday.
Analysis: Wieters is hitting .382 (13 for 34) with six extra-base hits over his last 10 games.
Aug. 20 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Wieters has been reinstated from the paternity list and will catch and bat seventh in Monday's game against Washington.
Analysis: Wieters missed two games as his wife, Maria, gave birth to the couple's second child on Saturday.
Aug. 16 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-After a 8-for-76 stretch, Wieters has hit safely in four straight games.
Analysis: Wieters went 1 for 4 with two RBIs in Tuesday's loss to Boston and is 8 for 13 in his past four games.
Aug. 14 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Wieters busted out of his slump in a very big way Sunday, totaling a career-high five hits, including a rare triple, in an 8-7 win over the Giants.
Analysis: Wieters entered Sunday batting .125 (10 for 80) in his previous 26 games. His triple was his first of the season and fifth of his career.
Aug. 11 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Wieters' bat remained ice cold as he went 0 for 3 in Wednesday's 1-0 loss at Oakland.
Analysis: Wieters is 8 for 73 with five RBIs in his last 23 games.
July 26 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Wieters' slump continued in Tuesday's 6-3 loss to Colorado as he went 0 for 4.
Analysis: Wieters is 1 for 31 in his last 10 games, dropping his average to .242.
July 25 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Wieters returned to action Monday after missing six games with a foot injury. He went 0 for 4 in a 3-2 win over Colorado.
Analysis: Wieters is 1 for 27 over his last nine games, dropping his average to .246.
July 22 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Wieters remained out of the lineup for Sunday's game against Cleveland.
Analysis: Wieters has missed six straight games after taking a foul ball off his foot Monday, though manager Buck Showalter has said he's close to returning. The All-Star catcher was in a 1-for-23 slump at the time of the injury.
July 18 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Wieters is out of the lineup again for Thursday's series finale with the Yankees.
Analysis: Wieters sat out the last two games after bruising his foot when hit by a pitch in Monday's opener. The Orioles are hopeful he'll be available when they host Cleveland on Friday.
July 5 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Wieters was named an All-Star for the fourth time Tuesday.
Analysis: Wieters is hitting .268 with nine homers and 37 RBIs in 59 games.
June 25 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Wieters homred twice and had another hit as the Orioles rallied from a four-run deficit to beat Tampa Bay 8-6 Saturday night for a doubleheader sweep that extended the Rays' losing streak to 10 games.
Analysis: He had one hit in seven at-bats over his previous two contests.
June 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Wieters had his best game of the season Sunday in Baltimore's 11-6 win over Toronto. His season-high four hits came on three doubles and a homer and he also knocked in four runs.
Analysis: Wieters entered Sunday in a 2-for-27 slump that had dropped his average to .251.
June 11 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Wieters went hitless for the third straight game Friday.
Analysis: Wieters is batting .195 in his last 12 games overall and .167 in his last 25 in Toronto.
May 22 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Wieters hit a three-run homer with two outs in the top of the ninth inning to send Baltimore to a 3-1 victory over the Los Angeles Angels on Saturday.
Analysis: Wieters also doubled in the fifth inning to end Matt Shoemaker's perfect game. The Orioles catcher is 9 for 16 (.563) with two homers and three doubles in his past four contests.
May 21 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Wieters recorded his second straight three-hit game in Friday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Wieters is showing signs of life at the plate following a slow opening month. He's hitting .458 with two home runs and five RBIs over a seven-game stretch that's raised his average to .274.
May 19 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Wieters was 3 for 4 with a jack Wednesday.
Analysis: Wieters is not in Thursday's lineup.
Apr. 20 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Wieters had two hits, including his first home run, in Tuesday's 4-3 loss to the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Wieters has gone 5 for 14 with four RBIs over a four-game hitting streak.
Apr. 9 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Wieters stayed hot with a 2-for-4, two-RBI day on Friday.
Analysis: He has hits and RBIs in each of his first three games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Bal 96 354 35 102 15 1 9 43 28 86 0 0 .288 .340 .412
2010 Bal 130 446 37 111 22 1 11 55 47 94 0 1 .249 .319 .377
2011 Bal 139 500 72 131 28 0 22 68 48 84 1 0 .262 .328 .450
2012 Bal 144 526 67 131 27 1 23 83 60 112 3 0 .249 .329 .435
2013 Bal 148 523 59 123 29 0 22 79 43 104 2 0 .235 .287 .417
2014 Bal 26 104 13 32 5 0 5 18 6 19 0 1 .308 .339 .500
2015 Bal 75 258 24 69 14 1 8 25 21 67 0 0 .267 .319 .422
2016 Bal 98 336 34 80 14 1 11 51 24 71 1 0 .238 .292 .384
Career 856 3047 341 779 154 5 111 422 277 637 7 2 .256 .317 .419

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Bal Total 6 24 2 3 1 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .125 .192 .167
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 5 20 2 3 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .150 .227 .200
Career 6 24 2 3 1 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .125 .192 .167


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.