MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Matt Wieters
AVG HR RBI
.243 17 66
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230 NFBC ADP: 173.93
Position: CBorn: 5/21/1986 Birthplace: Charleston, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Oct. 5 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Wieters may have played his last game as an Oriole, going 0 for 4 with two strikeouts in Tuesday's wild-card loss at Toronto.
Analysis: Wieters, an impending free agent, has spent his entire eight-year career with the Orioles but reportedly is looking for a contract like the one the Yankees gave Brian McCann a few years ago. McCann got 5 years, $85 million.
Oct. 3 11:24 PM PT12:24 AM MT1:24 AM CT2:24 AM ET2:24 ET6:24 GMT14:24 11:24 PM MST1:24 AM EST1:54 AM VEN10:24 UAE1:24 AM CT-Wieters powered Baltimore's offense in Sunday's critical 5-2 victory over the Yankees by launching a pair of two-run homers.
Analysis: The impending free agent may have boosted his stock by batting .355 with three homers over his final eight games of the regular season. Wieters may not make as much of an impact in Tuesday's AL wild-card game at Toronto, though, as he's 5 for 30 at Rogers Centre this season.
Sep. 29 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Wieters contributed an RBI single to Thursday's win at Toronto.
Analysis: The streaky catcher is 8 for 19 in hitting safely in five straight games, a positive sign for the playoff-hopeful Orioles. Keep in mind that Wieters was 0 for 14 in six games prior to the streak, though.
Sep. 28 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-With most of his teammates struggling, Wieters has picked it up of late and had a pair of hits in Tuesday's 5-1 loss at Toronto.
Analysis: Wieters is 6 for 11 with a homer in his last three games following an 0-for-14 stretch.
Sep. 20 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Wieters' recent woes and season-long problems with Boston continued Tuesday as he went 0 for 4 with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Wieters has hit .106 (5 for 47) with 17 strikeouts versus the Red Sox this year. He's hitless in his last four games overall.
Sep. 10 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Wieters hit two of Baltimore's four home runs as the Orioles pounded the Tigers 11-3 on Saturday at Comerica Park.
Analysis: Wieters had hit just two homers in his previous 29 games combined.
Sep. 6 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Wieters went 2 for 3 with two walks and a run scored Tuesday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 21 with a homer, double, two RBIs and three runs scored over his last six games.
Aug. 25 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Wieters homered and drove in four runs for the AL wild card-contending Orioles in a 10-8 win over the Nationals on Wednesday.
Analysis: Wieters is hitting .382 (13 for 34) with six extra-base hits over his last 10 games.
Aug. 20 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Wieters has been reinstated from the paternity list and will catch and bat seventh in Monday's game against Washington.
Analysis: Wieters missed two games as his wife, Maria, gave birth to the couple's second child on Saturday.
Aug. 16 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-After a 8-for-76 stretch, Wieters has hit safely in four straight games.
Analysis: Wieters went 1 for 4 with two RBIs in Tuesday's loss to Boston and is 8 for 13 in his past four games.
Aug. 14 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Wieters busted out of his slump in a very big way Sunday, totaling a career-high five hits, including a rare triple, in an 8-7 win over the Giants.
Analysis: Wieters entered Sunday batting .125 (10 for 80) in his previous 26 games. His triple was his first of the season and fifth of his career.
Aug. 11 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Wieters' bat remained ice cold as he went 0 for 3 in Wednesday's 1-0 loss at Oakland.
Analysis: Wieters is 8 for 73 with five RBIs in his last 23 games.
July 26 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Wieters' slump continued in Tuesday's 6-3 loss to Colorado as he went 0 for 4.
Analysis: Wieters is 1 for 31 in his last 10 games, dropping his average to .242.
July 25 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Wieters returned to action Monday after missing six games with a foot injury. He went 0 for 4 in a 3-2 win over Colorado.
Analysis: Wieters is 1 for 27 over his last nine games, dropping his average to .246.
July 22 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Wieters remained out of the lineup for Sunday's game against Cleveland.
Analysis: Wieters has missed six straight games after taking a foul ball off his foot Monday, though manager Buck Showalter has said he's close to returning. The All-Star catcher was in a 1-for-23 slump at the time of the injury.
July 18 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Wieters is out of the lineup again for Thursday's series finale with the Yankees.
Analysis: Wieters sat out the last two games after bruising his foot when hit by a pitch in Monday's opener. The Orioles are hopeful he'll be available when they host Cleveland on Friday.
July 5 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Wieters was named an All-Star for the fourth time Tuesday.
Analysis: Wieters is hitting .268 with nine homers and 37 RBIs in 59 games.
June 25 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Wieters homred twice and had another hit as the Orioles rallied from a four-run deficit to beat Tampa Bay 8-6 Saturday night for a doubleheader sweep that extended the Rays' losing streak to 10 games.
Analysis: He had one hit in seven at-bats over his previous two contests.
June 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Wieters had his best game of the season Sunday in Baltimore's 11-6 win over Toronto. His season-high four hits came on three doubles and a homer and he also knocked in four runs.
Analysis: Wieters entered Sunday in a 2-for-27 slump that had dropped his average to .251.
June 11 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Wieters went hitless for the third straight game Friday.
Analysis: Wieters is batting .195 in his last 12 games overall and .167 in his last 25 in Toronto.
May 22 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Wieters hit a three-run homer with two outs in the top of the ninth inning to send Baltimore to a 3-1 victory over the Los Angeles Angels on Saturday.
Analysis: Wieters also doubled in the fifth inning to end Matt Shoemaker's perfect game. The Orioles catcher is 9 for 16 (.563) with two homers and three doubles in his past four contests.
May 21 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Wieters recorded his second straight three-hit game in Friday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Wieters is showing signs of life at the plate following a slow opening month. He's hitting .458 with two home runs and five RBIs over a seven-game stretch that's raised his average to .274.
May 19 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Wieters was 3 for 4 with a jack Wednesday.
Analysis: Wieters is not in Thursday's lineup.
Apr. 20 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Wieters had two hits, including his first home run, in Tuesday's 4-3 loss to the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Wieters has gone 5 for 14 with four RBIs over a four-game hitting streak.
Apr. 9 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Wieters stayed hot with a 2-for-4, two-RBI day on Friday.
Analysis: He has hits and RBIs in each of his first three games.

w11 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.