MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Koji Uehara
ERA S K
3.27 2 36
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195 NFBC ADP: 592.89
Position: RPBorn: 4/3/1975 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Orioles (2009)


Latest News
July 24 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Monday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 19 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed three hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Wednesday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 18 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Monday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 15 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Koji Uehara improved to 3-4, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-8 on Friday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Saturday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Friday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 5 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-3 on Wednesday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Sunday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Saturday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Koji Uehara fell to 2-4, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
June 20 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Monday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 16 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Koji Uehara improved to 2-3, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5 on Friday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-5 on Sunday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
June 9 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Friday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Koji Uehara recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Sunday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Saturday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 31 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Koji Uehara fell to 1-3, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Wednesday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 25 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Koji Uehara allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Koji Uehara recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Thursday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Koji Uehara allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Tuesday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Uehara struck out two, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Sunday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 4 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Koji Uehara improved to 1-2, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Thursday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:51 AM PT7:51 AM MT8:51 AM CT9:51 AM ET9:51 ET13:51 GMT21:51 6:51 AM MST8:51 AM EST9:21 AM VEN17:51 UAE8:51 AM CT-Koji Uehara fell to 0-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on three hits without recording an out, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Uehara did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season. He endured a rather inconsistent April.
Apr. 29 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Koji Uehara did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Uehara struck out one, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Bal 2 4 0 - 0 12 12 0 66.2 71 33 30 7 12 1 48 1.25 4.05
2010 Bal 1 2 13 - 15 43 0 0 44.0 37 15 14 5 5 0 55 0.95 2.86
2011 Bal 1 1 0 - 1 43 0 0 47.0 25 9 9 6 8 1 62 0.70 1.72
2011 Tex 1 2 0 - 0 22 0 0 18.0 13 8 8 5 1 0 23 0.78 4.00
2011 Tot 2 3 0 - 1 65 0 0 65.0 38 17 17 11 9 1 85 0.72 2.35
2012 Tex 0 0 1 - 1 37 0 0 36.0 20 7 7 4 3 0 43 0.64 1.75
2013 Bos 4 1 21 - 24 73 0 0 74.1 33 10 9 5 9 2 101 0.57 1.09
2014 Bos 6 5 26 - 31 64 0 0 64.1 51 18 18 10 8 0 80 0.92 2.52
2015 Bos 2 4 25 - 27 43 0 0 40.1 28 14 10 3 9 1 47 0.92 2.23
2016 Bos 2 3 7 - 9 50 0 0 47.0 34 18 18 8 11 1 63 0.96 3.45
2017 ChC 3 4 2 - 5 37 0 0 33.0 28 14 12 3 10 2 36 1.15 3.27
Career 22 26 95 - 113 424 12 0 470.2 340 146 135 56 76 8 558 0.88 2.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Bal 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 424 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Tex Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.1 5 5 5 3 2 0 1 33.75
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 -
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 3 2 2 2 1 0 1 13.50
2012 Tex Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
2013 Bos Total 1 1 7 - 7 13 0 0 13.2 7 1 1 1 0 0 16 0.66
    LDS 0 1 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 4 3.00
    LCS 1 0 3 - 3 5 0 0 6.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 9 0.00
    WS 0 0 2 - 2 5 0 0 4.2 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 1 1 7 - 7 19 0 0 18.0 13 6 6 4 2 0 21 3.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 360 89 82 86.9 66.91
Split-Finger 168 81 77 79.2 31.23
Cut Fastball 10 83 78 81 1.86

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.