MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Luis Valbuena
AVG HR RBI
.176 2 9
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 215 NFBC ADP: 467.09
Position: 3BBorn: 11/30/1985 Birthplace: Zulia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2002)


Latest News
May 27 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Saturday as the Los Angeles Angels beat the Miami Marlins 5-2. He ended the game with a .176 batting average.
May 26 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Miami Marlins 8-5. He ended the game with a .171 batting average.
May 25 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena is just 2 for 35 over his last 11 games.
May 24 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2. He ended the game with a .177 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena is 2 for 31 with 11 strikeouts in his last 10 games.
May 23 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 2 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels beat the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena went 0 for 23 with 10 strikeouts in his previous eight games.
May 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 3 Monday as the Los Angeles Angels beat the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena is 0 for 23 with 10 strikeouts in his last eight games.
May 21 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the New York Mets 7-5. Valbuena scored once. He ended the game with a .176 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena is 0 for his last 21, and 3 for 32 with 14 strikeouts in his last 10 games.
May 19 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 4 Friday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the New York Mets 3-0. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
May 18 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Chicago White Sox 12-8. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
May 17 10:08 AM PT11:08 AM MT12:08 PM CT1:08 PM ET13:08 ET17:08 GMT1:08 10:08 AM MST12:08 PM EST12:38 PM VEN21:08 UAE12:08 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 1 with an RBI Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Chicago White Sox 7-6. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
May 15 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Detroit Tigers 4-1. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
May 13 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 3 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Detroit Tigers 7-0. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
Analysis: Valbuena went deep for the second time in five games, seemingly growing more comfortable after missing all of April with a hamstring injury.
May 12 6:53 AM PT7:53 AM MT8:53 AM CT9:53 AM ET9:53 ET13:53 GMT21:53 6:53 AM MST8:53 AM EST9:23 AM VEN17:53 UAE8:53 AM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-1. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
May 10 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-1. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
May 10 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Oakland Athletics 7-3. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 9 7:04 AM PT8:04 AM MT9:04 AM CT10:04 AM ET10:04 ET14:04 GMT22:04 7:04 AM MST9:04 AM EST9:34 AM VEN18:04 UAE9:04 AM CT-Valbuena went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .316 batting average.
Analysis: He's played in just six games this season, which began with a stint on the DL with a hamstring injury.
May 7 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET20:49 ET0:49 GMT8:49 5:49 PM MST7:49 PM EST8:19 PM VEN4:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 5-3. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 7 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Luis Valbuena went 2 for 3 Saturday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Houston Astros 2-1. Valbuena scored once. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
May 6 10:19 AM PT11:19 AM MT12:19 PM CT1:19 PM ET13:19 ET17:19 GMT1:19 10:19 AM MST12:19 PM EST12:49 PM VEN21:19 UAE12:19 PM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 1 with an RBI Friday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 7-6. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
May 4 8:44 AM PT9:44 AM MT10:44 AM CT11:44 AM ET11:44 ET15:44 GMT23:44 8:44 AM MST10:44 AM EST11:14 AM VEN19:44 UAE10:44 AM CT-Valbuena went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Seattle Mariners 8-7. Valbuena scored once. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Analysis: In two games since debuting off the DL, Valbuena is 1 for 6.
May 3 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Luis Valbuena went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Seattle Mariners 6-4. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
Mar. 23 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Valbuena (right hamstring strain) came off the DL before Tuesday's game in Seattle.
Analysis: Valbuena underwent season-ending hamstring surgery in August while with the Astros after batting .260 with 13 homers and 40 RBIs in 90 games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Sea 18 49 6 12 5 0 0 1 4 11 0 0 .245 .315 .347
2009 Cle 103 368 52 92 25 3 10 31 26 83 2 3 .250 .298 .416
2010 Cle 91 275 22 53 12 0 2 24 28 61 1 2 .193 .273 .258
2011 Cle 17 43 4 9 0 0 1 1 1 9 1 0 .209 .227 .279
2012 ChC 90 265 26 58 20 0 4 28 36 55 0 2 .219 .310 .340
2013 ChC 108 331 34 72 15 1 12 37 53 63 1 4 .218 .331 .378
2014 ChC 149 478 68 119 33 4 16 51 65 113 1 2 .249 .341 .435
2015 Hou 132 434 62 97 18 0 25 56 50 106 1 0 .224 .310 .438
2016 Hou 90 292 38 76 17 1 13 40 44 81 1 1 .260 .357 .459
2017 LAA 23 74 6 13 1 0 2 9 11 22 0 1 .176 .282 .270
Career 821 2609 318 601 146 9 85 278 318 604 8 15 .230 .316 .391

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Hou Total 6 17 2 3 0 0 1 2 4 8 0 0 .176 .333 .353
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 5 13 2 2 0 0 1 2 4 6 0 0 .154 .353 .385
Career 6 17 2 3 0 0 1 2 4 8 0 0 .176 .333 .353


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.