MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jonathon Niese
ERA W-L K
2.84 0-2 16
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 319.57
Position: SPBorn: 10/27/1986 Birthplace: Lima, Ohio
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 7th Round by Mets (2005)


Latest News
Mar. 30 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Niese is starting the season on the disabled list, retroactive to March 21.
Analysis: Reports indicate that Niese should be ready for his first start on April 6.
Mar. 16 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Niese was relieved to be back at spring training with the New York Mets camp after receiving a relatively good medical report.
Analysis: The left-hander had a MRI of his pitching elbow in New York on Monday, and the scan revealed he had some inflammation but no damage to his ulnar collateral ligament. Niese has a 13.50 ERA in two spring training appearances.
Feb. 26 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Niese says the discomfort he feels in his throwing shoulder probably stems from focusing too much on strengthening his rotator cuff.
Analysis: He was on the disabled list from June 21 to Aug. 11 last season with a partial tear in his rotator cuff. Niese said Friday that "this offseason that's pretty much all I was working on. I neglected the other things. So everything was at an imbalance." He complained of a dead arm after throwing live batting practice early this week and was sent to New York for an MRI. The test Thursday revealed some muscle weakness but no structural issues.

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.