MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#25
Marco Estrada
ERA W-L K
3.48 9-9 165
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200 NFBC ADP: 274.17
Position: SPBorn: 7/5/1983 Birthplace: Sonora, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Nationals (2005)


Latest News
Oct. 11 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-The Blue Jays have chosen Estrada as their Game 1 starter when they open the American League Championship Series against the Indians on Friday.
Analysis: Estrada is 3-1 with a 2.67 ERA in eight career postseason appearances, including 8 1/3 dominant innings to win the opener of the ALDS against Texas. The right-hander doesn't have a decision in two lifetime starts versus Cleveland, allowing five runs in 12 innings but also serving up four homers.
Oct. 5 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Estrada dominated the Rangers to win the ALDS opener Thursday, yielding a run and four hits in 8 1/3 innings with no walks and six strikeouts.
Analysis: It was a performance similar to Game 3 of last year's ALDS, when he held Texas to one run over 6 1/3 innings in a critical 5-1 Blue Jays' victory in Arlington. The right-hander is 3-1 with a 1.95 ERA in four playoff starts. He's allowed three runs and 13 hits in his last 27 1/3 innings going back to the regular season.
Oct. 1 11:20 PM PT12:20 AM MT1:20 AM CT2:20 AM ET2:20 ET6:20 GMT14:20 11:20 PM MST1:20 AM EST1:50 AM VEN10:20 UAE1:20 AM CT-Estrada held the Red Sox to a run on four hits through five innings Friday, though he was denied a 10th win when Boston rallied for four runs against the Toronto bullpen in the seventh.
Analysis: If the Blue Jays are able to reach the ALDS, Estrada will surely be in the rotation after permitting just two runs in 19 innings over his last three starts. He concludes the regular season with a 9-9 record, a solid 3.53 ERA and a career-high 161 strikeouts in 28 starts.
Sep. 25 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Estrada allowed one run and four hits while striking out seven over seven innings in Sunday's 4-3 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Estrada has given up one run and five hits over 14 innings in his last two starts.
Sep. 20 7:30 AM PT8:30 AM MT9:30 AM CT10:30 AM ET10:30 ET14:30 GMT22:30 7:30 AM MST9:30 AM EST10:00 AM VEN18:30 UAE9:30 AM CT-Estrada took a no-hitter into the seventh inning, Edwin Encarnacion hit his 41st home run and the Blue Jays beat the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Monday night in the opener of a critical three-game series.
Analysis: Estrada (9-9) had allowed only two walks before Robinson Cano led off the seventh with a line drive up the middle on a 2-1 pitch. Estrada was partly to blame for Toronto's September swoon. In his previous six starts, he was 1-4 with a 7.53 ERA.
Sep. 14 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Estrada lost his third consecutive start Wednesday, yielding four runs and four hits in 5 1/3 innings of an 8-1 defeat to Tampa Bay.
Analysis: He's 1-5 with an 6.95 ERA in his past seven starts after going 7-4 with a 2.92 ERA in his first 19.
Sep. 9 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Estrada allowed four runs, six hits and three walks over 2 1/3 innings in a 13-3 loss to the Red Sox on Friday, his shortest outing of the season. The last time Estrada failed to finish three innings was June 30, 2015, also a home loss to Boston.
Analysis: Estrada is 3-5 with a 5.32 ERA in nine starts since being named an All-Star for the first time. He missed the All-Star Game after being placed on the disabled list because of a sore back.
Aug. 29 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Estrada rebounded from two dismal starts with a strong showing Monday in a 5-1 win at Baltimore. He allowed one run and four hits with four strikeouts over seven-plus innings.
Analysis: Estrada, who surrendered 11 runs over nine innings in his two previous outings, has allowed three earned runs or fewer in 19 of his 23 starts this season.
Aug. 16 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Estrada allowed a season-high five runs and five hits - three homers - in four innings Tuesday before not returning to the game after a rain delay.
Analysis: The right-hander's ERA rose to a season-high 3.20, and he's posted a 4.21 ERA in his past 10 outings.
Aug. 9 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Estrada was wild Tuesday as he had his two-start win streak come to an end. He only allowed two earned runs but walked four, hit a batter and gave up seven hits while throwing 113 pitches over five innings of a 9-2 loss to the Rays.
Analysis: He's just 3-4 at home despite posting a 2.75 ERA in 11 starts. His next start comes next Tuesday at Yankee Stadium, and Estrada has gone 4-0 with a 2.53 ERA in his last six outings on the road.
Aug. 4 7:04 AM PT8:04 AM MT9:04 AM CT10:04 AM ET10:04 ET14:04 GMT22:04 7:04 AM MST9:04 AM EST9:34 AM VEN18:04 UAE9:04 AM CT-Estrada won his second straight start Wednesday, allowing one run and four hits with seven strikeouts and no walks over seven innings against the Astros.
Analysis: Before those back-to-back victories, the All-Star right-hander went 0-2 with a 4.30 ERA in his previous four starts.
July 6 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-The Blue Jays activated Estrada (back) from the 15-day disabled list Friday and started him against the Mariners. The right-hander pitched well but took the loss after giving up two runs and seven hits in six innings.
Analysis: The first-time All-Star, who had surrendered five hits or fewer in his previous 13 outings, is winless in four starts.
July 5 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Estrada was named an All-Star for the first time in his nine-year career Tuesday.
Analysis: Estrada is 5-3 with a 2.93 ERA in 16 starts and ranks second in the AL with a 0.99 WHIP, a shade behind Chicago's Chris Sale.
July 2 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Estrada received multiple cortisone injections in his sore lower back and expects to make his next start, Thursday against Detroit.
Analysis: Estrada allowed three runs and struck out seven before departing Saturday's start after five innings, ending his major league-record stretch of 12 consecutive starts of allowing five or less hits while pitching at least six innings.
June 22 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Estrada (back) is on track to make Monday's scheduled start against Colorado.
Analysis: Estrada exited Tuesday's 4-2 loss to Arizona after six innings and 88 pitches due to back tightness. The right-hander has held opposing hitters to a major league-low .164 average in 14 starts this season.
June 21 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Estrada held the Diamondbacks to three runs and two hits with eight strikeouts in six innings Tuesday but suffered a 4-2 loss.
Analysis: The right-hander became the first pitcher since at least 1893 to allow five or fewer hits over six or more innings in 11 consecutive starts.
June 16 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Estrada continued his run of dominance Wednesday, allowing four hits and two runs in 6 2/3 innings to beat the Phillies.
Analysis: The right-hander has recorded six consecutive quality starts - all Toronto victories - as he's gone 4-0 with a 2.27 ERA. Even more impressive during that span, opposing batters are hitting .135 against him. His .168 opponent batting average for the season is the lowest in the majors.
May 31 11:53 AM PT12:53 PM MT1:53 PM CT2:53 PM ET14:53 ET18:53 GMT2:53 11:53 AM MST1:53 PM EST2:23 PM VEN22:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Estrada won consecutive starts for the first time this season Monday.
Analysis: Estrada allowed three hits, two of them singles, and struck out six in eight scoreless innings against the punchless and pathetic Yanks.
May 26 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Estrada finally got some run support as he ended a seven-start winless stretch Wednesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: The right-hander allowed three runs over seven innings in the 8-4 win to nab his first victory since his April 10 season debut. Estrada owns a 2.76 ERA and has recorded six quality starts in nine appearances, but Toronto had scored two or less runs with him on the mound in each of his first eight outings.
May 20 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Estrada got a no-decision Thursday.
Analysis: Estrada fanned nine and allowed two runs in eight innings.
May 9 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Estrada tossed seven outstanding innings despite not receiving a decision Sunday against the Dodgers.
Analysis: The Toronto righty yielded a run on three hits and struck out eight before departing with a one-run lead the bullpen blew. Estrada is just 1-2 in six starts but sports a 2.39 ERA, with a lack of run support a big reason to that low win total.
Apr. 28 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Estrada gave up one hit through six innings but was knocked out in the seventh Wednesday night. Estrada allowed three runs and three hits in 6 2/3 innings and is winless in three starts.
Analysis: His next start is against Texas next week.
Apr. 11 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Estrada pitched a gem on Sunday, allowing five hits and striking out eight over seven innings in a 3-0 home win over the Red Sox.
Analysis: It was the first start of the season for Estrada, who went 13-8 with a 3.13 ERA in 34 games last season.
Apr. 3 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Estrada is coming off the 15-day disabled list to make his season debut against the Boston Red Sox.
Analysis: The Toronto Blue Jays right-hander has been dealing with a sore back during spring traning.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Was 0 0 0 - 1 11 0 0 12.2 17 13 11 4 5 1 10 1.74 7.82
2009 Was 0 1 0 - 0 4 1 0 7.1 6 6 5 1 4 0 9 1.36 6.14
2010 Mil 0 0 0 - 0 7 1 0 11.1 14 13 12 3 6 0 13 1.76 9.53
2011 Mil 4 8 0 - 3 43 7 0 92.2 83 45 42 11 29 2 88 1.21 4.08
2012 Mil 5 7 0 - 0 29 23 0 138.1 129 62 56 18 29 0 143 1.14 3.64
2013 Mil 7 4 0 - 0 21 21 0 128.0 109 56 55 19 29 0 118 1.08 3.87
2014 Mil 7 6 0 - 0 39 18 0 150.2 137 77 73 29 44 0 127 1.20 4.36
2015 Tor 13 8 0 - 0 34 28 0 181.0 134 67 63 24 55 2 131 1.04 3.13
2016 Tor 9 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 176.0 132 73 68 23 65 1 165 1.12 3.48
Career 45 43 0 - 4 217 128 0 898.0 761 412 385 132 266 6 804 1.14 3.86

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Was 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
2009 Was 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2010 Mil 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Mil 43 12 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .250 .250 .333
2012 Mil 29 40 1 4 2 0 0 3 2 21 0 0 .100 .143 .150
2013 Mil 21 34 1 7 1 0 0 2 1 16 0 0 .206 .229 .235
2014 Mil 39 32 0 3 0 0 0 2 3 13 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2015 Tor 34 6 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2016 Tor 29 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 217 130 4 19 4 0 0 7 7 60 0 0 .146 .190 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Mil Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.0 7 4 4 0 2 0 9 6.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 3 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 4 4 4 0 2 0 4 12.00
2015 Tor Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.1 14 5 5 2 1 0 15 2.33
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 5 1 1 0 0 0 4 1.42
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 9 4 4 2 1 0 11 2.77
2016 Tor Total 1 2 0 - 0 3 3 1 22.1 15 6 5 3 1 0 19 2.01
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.1 4 1 1 0 0 0 6 1.08
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 1 14.0 11 5 4 3 1 0 13 2.57
Career 3 3 0 - 0 10 6 1 47.2 36 15 14 5 4 0 43 2.64


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1415 91 84 88.1 49.86
Curveball 283 82 72 76.1 9.97
Changeup 810 81 71 77 28.54
Cut Fastball 330 88 81 85.7 11.63

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.