MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Daniel Murphy
AVG HR RBI
.324 9 33
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-1 / 221 NFBC ADP: 39.75
Position: 2BBorn: 4/1/1985 Birthplace: Jacksonville, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 13th Round by Mets (2006)


Latest News
May 24 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Washington Nationals beat the Seattle Mariners 5-1. Murphy scored once. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy is 10 for 28 with three solo homers and two doubles during a seven-game hitting streak.
May 23 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Washington Nationals topped the Seattle Mariners 10-1. Murphy scored once. He ended the game with a .325 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy is batting .375 with three solo homers during a six-game hitting streak. Among second basemen, he leads the majors in slugging (.568), OPS (.952) and RBIs (33).
May 21 5:36 PM PT6:36 PM MT7:36 PM CT8:36 PM ET20:36 ET0:36 GMT8:36 5:36 PM MST7:36 PM EST8:06 PM VEN4:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Washington Nationals topped the Atlanta Braves 3-2. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .327 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy is 8 for 20 with three solo homers in his last five games after going 3 for 19 with five walks in his previous six.
May 20 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Washington Nationals fell to the Atlanta Braves 5-2. He ended the game with a .323 batting average.
May 19 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and an RBI Friday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .325 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy has homered in consecutive games and has four home runs and 11 RBIs in his last 11 games in Atlanta.
May 18 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .320 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy hit .174 (4 for 23) in his previous seven games.
May 17 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Washington Nationals fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1. Murphy scored once. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
May 15 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Daniel Murphy went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Washington Nationals topped the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
May 14 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
May 14 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 3 with a double Saturday as the Washington Nationals topped the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4. He ended the game with a .331 batting average.
May 10 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 4 with an RBI Wednesday as the Washington Nationals topped the Baltimore Orioles 7-6. Murphy scored twice. He ended the game with a .331 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy is tied for third in the majors with 30 RBIs and he leads all second basemen with a .941 OPS.
May 9 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Washington Nationals fell to the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 0 for 3 Monday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-4. Murphy scored once. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
May 7 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5. Murphy scored once. He ended the game with a .341 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy has gone 13 for 28 with two homers and 11 RBIs during a six-game road hitting streak.
May 6 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 3 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Washington Nationals topped the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2. Murphy scored twice. He ended the game with a .341 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy was 3 for 14 over his previous four games.
May 5 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 5 Friday as the Washington Nationals beat the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2. He ended the game with a .328 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy has cooled off a bit, going 3 for 14 over his last four games.
May 4 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Washington Nationals topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
May 3 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Washington Nationals beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
May 2 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Tuesday as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3. He ended the game with a .343 batting average.
Apr. 30 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Washington Nationals beat the New York Mets 23-5. Murphy scored three times. He ended the game with a .343 batting average.
Analysis: The Nationals open a three-game series with the Diamondbacks on Tuesday, Murphy has hit safely in his last 13 contests against Arizona. He is batting .434 with 14 runs and a 1.078 OPS in those games.
Apr. 29 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-3. He ended the game with a .337 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Daniel Murphy went 2 for 4 Friday as the Washington Nationals fell to the New York Mets 7-5. He ended the game with a .347 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy remained red-hot, as he's 10 for 20 with two homers, a double, a triple, 11 RBIs and five runs over his last four games.
Apr. 27 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Daniel Murphy went 3 for 6 with a double, a home run and three RBIs Thursday as the Washington Nationals topped the Colorado Rockies 16-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. Murphy scored three times. He ended the game with a .340 batting average.
Analysis: Murphy had his third straight multi-hit game - including a homer - Thursday at Colorado and went 8 for 16 with two homers, six RBIs and five runs in the final three games of the series. He took over the major league lead with 25 RBIs.
Apr. 27 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Murphy had a three-run homer, a single and two runs Wednesday.
Analysis: Murphy has driven in a whopping 12 runs in the last four games to tie teammate Bryce Harper for the major league lead with 22 RBIs.
Apr. 26 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE11:53 AM CT-Murphy had a big night, tying a career best by driving in five runs with three hits in the Nationals' 15-12 win in Denver.
Analysis: Murphy had 10 RBIs in his first 16 games and has nine in his last three.
Apr. 24 11:36 AM PT12:36 PM MT1:36 PM CT2:36 PM ET14:36 ET18:36 GMT2:36 11:36 AM MST1:36 PM EST2:06 PM VEN22:36 UAE1:36 PM CT-Murphy staked the Nationals to an early lead in Sunday's 6-3 win over the Mets by delivering a grand slam in the first inning.
Analysis: A return to Citi Field seemed to get the former Met back on track, as he went 2 for 5 in Saturday's game after going through a 1-for-20 rut over his previous five contests. Murphy is still hitting .324 overall, however, and has knocked in 14 runs in 17 games.
Apr. 21 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Murphy was scratched from Thursday's lineup with right leg tightness. Manager Dusty Baker said he could tell Murphy wasn't following through with his swing during Wednesday's 14-4 win.
Analysis: The Nationals hope he will be available when they open a series at the New York Mets on Friday.
Apr. 14 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Murphy went 2 for 5 and doubled home Bryce Harper with the winning run in the 10th inning against the Phillies on Friday.
Analysis: Murphy has hit safely in all 10 of Washington's games, batting .444 with 10 RBIs.
Apr. 12 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Murphy homered, doubled twice and tied career highs with five RBIs and four hits to help the Nationals to an 8-3 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals.
Analysis: Murphy is batting .472 with five doubles, two homers and an MLB-leading 17 hits in the cleanup spot. This after he finished second in the 2016 NL MVP race with a .347 average, 25 homers and 104 RBIs in his first season in Washington.
Apr. 8 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Murphy had three more hits in Saturday's 17-3 loss to the Phillies.
Analysis: Are you kidding me? The guy just keeps on hitting. He's 11 for 21 with four extra-base hits and four RBIs through five games.
Apr. 7 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Murphy and Jayson Werth hit homers to back Max Scherzer and the Nationals held on for a 7-6 victory over the Philadelphia Phillies on Friday.
Analysis: Murphy is at it again, registering at least two hits in each game. He's 8 for 17 with four RBIs in four contests.
Apr. 3 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Murphy went 2 for 4 with an RBI to help the Nationals to Monday's season-opening 4-2 win over Miami.
Analysis: The sweet-swinging second baseman picked up right where he left off from his banner 2016 campaign, in which he hit .347 and just missed out on the NL batting title. Murphy hit a scorching .411 through the first 16 games of that season, so he does have a track record of starting fast.
Mar. 24 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Murphy thinks he will be ready for the start of the season, even with his lack of playing time in the World Baseball Classic. Nationals manager Dusty Baker is taking a wait-and-see approach. ''You can talk all you want,'' Baker said. ''He wasn't comfortable when he left and he didn't get many ABs.''
Analysis: Murphy went hitless in six at-bats for gold medal-winning Team USA. Before heading to the WBC, Murphy had only three hits in 17 Grapefruit League at-bats.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.