MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#28
Daniel Murphy
AVG HR RBI
.285 4 29
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-1 / 215 NFBC ADP: 169.53
Position: 2BBorn: 4/1/1985 Birthplace: Jacksonville, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 13th Round by Mets (2006)


Latest News
June 6 11:18 PM PT12:18 AM MT1:18 AM CT2:18 AM ET2:18 ET6:18 GMT14:18 11:18 PM MST1:18 AM EST1:48 AM VEN10:18 UAE1:18 AM CT-Murphy is on the 15-day disabled list with a strained left quadriceps.
Analysis: The Mets recalled infielder Danny Muno from Triple-A Las Vegas on Friday to fill the roster spot. Murphy had just been shifted from second base to third to fill in for captain David Wright, sidelined indefinitely with spinal stenosis. Murphy, an All-Star last season and one of the top hitters in a struggling lineup, felt tightness in the quadriceps while running to first base Thursday night against Arizona. He was placed on the disabled list Friday after an MRI.
June 4 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Murphy has left a game against the Arizona Diamondbacks in the third inning after feeling tightness in his left quadriceps.
Analysis: With third baseman David Wright sidelined indefinitely due to a back injury, Mets manager Terry Collins realigned his infield Thursday night. He moved Murphy from second base to third and shifted Ruben Tejada from third back to a more natural spot at second. Murphy doubled in the first inning and grounded out in the third, but stayed in the dugout for the bottom half of the inning. He was replaced by Eric Campbell. Murphy entered the game hitting .281 with four homers.
June 2 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Murphy was 4 for 5 Monday with his fourth home run of the season.
Analysis: Murphy's first four-hit performance of the season pushed his batting average from .272 to .286, and he's hitting .452 over his last 11 games.
May 28 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Murphy excelled at the plate Wednesday.
Analysis: Murphy went 3 for 4 and has 13 hits in his last 25 at-bats in a sizzling seven-game run.
Mar. 31 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Murphy was in the Mets' lineup Monday.
Analysis: His status was in doubt due to a hamstring strain.
Mar. 7 7:06 AM PT8:06 AM MT9:06 AM CT10:06 AM ET10:06 ET15:06 GMT23:06 8:06 AM MST10:06 AM EST10:36 AM VEN19:06 UAE9:06 AM CT-Murphy of the New York Mets is listed as day to day after X-rays on his right hand came back negative.
Analysis: The All-Star second baseman was hit on the hand by David Price's fastball in the second inning against Detroit on Friday. Murphy said Saturday he was told his hand is not broken, calling it a "blessing." He adds that his hand is "a little sore," but not as sore as he thought it would be. Murphy says he will not play in either of the split-squad games Saturday and is unlikely to swing a bat until Sunday at the earliest.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 NYM 49 131 24 41 9 3 2 17 18 28 0 2 .313 .397 .473
2009 NYM 155 508 60 135 38 4 12 63 38 69 4 2 .266 .313 .427
2011 NYM 109 391 49 125 28 2 6 49 24 42 5 5 .320 .362 .448
2012 NYM 156 571 62 166 40 3 6 65 36 82 10 2 .291 .332 .403
2013 NYM 161 658 92 188 38 4 13 78 32 95 23 3 .286 .319 .415
2014 NYM 143 596 79 172 37 2 9 57 39 86 13 5 .289 .332 .403
2015 NYM 57 207 16 59 16 0 4 29 15 16 1 2 .285 .335 .420
Career 830 3062 382 886 206 18 52 358 202 418 56 21 .289 .333 .419


w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.