MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
3.72 6-12 126
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-5 / 235 NFBC ADP: 513.40
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 25 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Morton was placed on the 60-day disabled list with a sports hernia, ending his season with playoff-bound Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Morton came off the DL on Sept. 16 and beat Boston, but pain intensified to the point he couldn't pitch again this season.
Sep. 17 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Morton came off the disabled list to gain his first victory since July 2, and the Pirates beat the Boston Red Sox 4-0 on Tuesday night for their ninth win in 11 games.
Analysis: Sidelined since Aug. 16 because of right hip inflammation and a sports hernia, Morton allowed four hits in five innings, struck out six and walked two. He had been 0-3 with a 5.09 ERA in his eight previous starts.
Aug. 17 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Morton is set to start for the Pirates on Tuesday against defending World Series champion Boston.
Analysis: Morton was on the 15-day disabled list while dealing with a sports hernia. Morton is 5-12 with a 3.84 ERA and hasn't won since July 2.
Aug. 6 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Morton was impressive in a 6-3 loss to Miami on Tuesday, limiting the Marlins to a run in seven innings but not factoring into the decision.
Analysis: Morton is 3-1 with a 1.35 ERA over his last seven home outings.
July 31 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Morton didn't pitch great Wednesday.
Analysis: Morton gave up four runs in five innings and faces surging Miami next.
July 20 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Morton did not get a decision Saturday night.
Analysis: Morton struck out three and gave up two runs in seven innings ahead of his next outing, also against the Rockies.
July 8 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Morton didn't receive a decision Monday despite a dominant effort in Monday's 2-0 loss to St. Louis.
Analysis: Morton allowed just one hit - a double by Matt Adams in the first inning - and walked two over seven scoreless innings. He's 5-3 with a 2.73 ERA over his last nine starts.
July 3 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Morton was solid Wednesday against the Diamondbacks, limiting them to one run over six innings in a 5-1 victory.
Analysis: Morton has thrown at least six innings while allowing two or fewer runs in four of his last five starts.
June 26 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Morton struck out a career-high 11 in seven innings, giving up four hits Wednesday.
Analysis: Morton faces the lowly D-Backs next.
May 7 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET19:22 GMT3:22 12:22 PM MST2:22 PM EST2:52 PM VEN23:22 UAE2:22 PM CT-Morton allowed one unearned run and three hits over eight innings Tuesday, but didn't get enough support to snap a five-game losing streak that dates back to September.
Analysis: Morton was 0-4 with a 5.04 ERA in his previous five outings. He's received a combined seven runs of support in the past five games and 15 in his seven starts this season.
Apr. 19 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Morton suffered his second straight loss Friday against the Brewers.
Analysis: Morton was shelled, giving up five runs and eight hits over six innings.
Apr. 9 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Morton did not get a decision Tuesday.
Analysis: Morton have up five runs in six innings and faces the Brewers and disgraced slugger Ryan Braun next.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
Career 36 61 0 - 0 135 134 3 746.2 798 423 373 57 288 14 515 1.45 4.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
Career 135 213 3 17 4 0 0 5 2 111 0 1 .080 .088 .099

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1691 96 87 91.1 67.75
Curveball 623 81 74 78 24.96
Split-Finger 182 87 80 84.2 7.29

w9 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.