MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#2
Denard Span
AVG HR RBI
.301 5 22
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-0 / 208 NFBC ADP: 199.84
Position: CFBorn: 2/27/1984 Birthplace: Washington, District of Columbia
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 8 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Span won't accompany the team on its upcoming 10-day road trip and there's no timetable for his return.
Analysis: Span has been on the disabled list since July 10 with tightness in his back. He recently took batting practice and fielded fly balls but didn't feel as good the next day and needed some rest.
July 8 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Span has been placed on the 15-day disabled list, hoping an extended rest will help him recover from lingering back spasms.
Analysis: Span is batting .304 in 59 games. He had an MRI and is seeing a specialist in an effort to eliminate an injury that has plagued him the entire season.
June 20 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE2:13 PM CT-Span stayed hot Friday, going 2 for 5 and scoring his 30th run of the year against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Span is 15 for 39 over his last nine games, hitting safely in the last six.
June 19 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Span was 2 for 4 with a steal on Thursday.
Analysis: Span may be a fantasy steal with a .810 OPS and 29 runs scored.
June 12 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Span was 3 for 5 and scored two runs Thursday at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Span's .308 batting average is the second-highest of his career behind his .311 mark from 2009.
June 11 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Span had three hits and two RBIs Wednesday.
Analysis: Span was scratched from the lineup the previous night because of his back.
June 1 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Span left Sunday's game with a sore right knee in the eighth inning.
Analysis: Span is expected to play Monday, and manager Matt Williams indicated that Span would have not exited Sunday's game had the Nationals not trailed 8-2.
May 27 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Span went 2 for 4 with his second solo homer in as many games in a 3-2 loss to the Chicago Cubs on Tuesday.
Analysis: Span has two hits in nine of his last 13 games, going 20 for 54 (.370) in that stretch.
May 26 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Span homered for the fourth time this season Monday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Span has 12 multihit performances over his last 21 games.
May 16 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Span had yet another two-hit game Friday in a 10-0 win at San Diego.
Analysis: Span has gone 10 for 22 over a stretch of five consecutive two-hit performances.
May 15 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Span stayed hot by going 2 for 5 in Thursday's 8-3 loss at San Diego.
Analysis: Span has finished with two hits in each of his last four games, going 8 for 17 over that span.
Apr. 29 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Span tied a career high with five hits in Washington's comeback win over Atlanta on Tuesday.
Analysis: Span had six hits in his first seven games since making his season debut April 19.
Apr. 19 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET14:08 ET18:08 GMT2:08 11:08 AM MST1:08 PM EST1:38 PM VEN22:08 UAE1:08 PM CT-Span has been activated from the 15-day disabled list prior to Sunday's game against the Philadelphia Phillies.
Analysis: The return comes earlier than expected for Span, who had surgery to repair a core muscle in early March after a previous procedure to fix a sports hernia injury last December.
Mar. 11 9:57 PM PT10:57 PM MT11:57 PM CT12:57 AM ET0:57 ET4:57 GMT12:57 9:57 PM MST11:57 PM EST12:27 AM VEN8:57 UAE10:57 PM CT-Span is recovering from right core muscle surgery.
Analysis: Span is out for at least four weeks, but that will likely be followed with a stint in the minors.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.