MLB Baseball

#31
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
3.67 4-4 85
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 20 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-4, allowing two runs - zero earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-3, allowing six runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-4 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST6:51 PM CST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-2, allowing six hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-1 on Monday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-0 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-1, allowing one run on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Boston Red Sox 10-2 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed four runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out five, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-1, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-1, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Scherzer (hamstring) will make his next scheduled start Tuesday against the Mets, manager Dave Martinez confirmed.
Analysis: Scherzer gave the Nationals a scare when he was pulled after only one inning on Wednesday due to the injury.
July 29 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 7.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Yankees 4-1 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Ari 0 4 0 - 0 16 7 0 56.0 48 24 19 5 21 1 66 1.23 3.05
2009 Ari 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 170.1 166 94 78 20 63 1 174 1.34 4.12
2010 Det 12 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.2 174 84 76 20 70 1 184 1.25 3.50
2011 Det 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 207 101 96 29 56 1 174 1.35 4.43
2012 Det 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 0 187.2 179 82 78 23 60 2 231 1.27 3.74
2013 Det 21 3 0 - 0 32 32 0 214.1 152 73 69 18 56 0 240 0.97 2.90
2014 Det 18 5 0 - 0 33 33 1 220.1 196 80 77 18 63 1 252 1.18 3.15
2015 Was 14 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 176 74 71 27 34 2 276 0.92 2.79
2016 Was 20 7 0 - 0 34 34 1 228.1 165 77 75 31 56 2 284 0.97 2.96
2017 Was 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 126 62 56 22 55 2 268 0.90 2.51
2018 Was 18 7 0 - 0 33 33 2 220.2 150 66 62 23 51 4 300 0.91 2.53
2019 Was 11 7 0 - 0 27 27 0 172.1 144 59 56 18 33 2 243 1.03 2.92
2020 Was 4 4 0 - 0 11 11 1 61.1 64 27 25 8 21 1 85 1.39 3.67
Career 174 93 0 - 0 376 367 11 2351.1 1947 903 838 262 639 20 2777 1.10 3.21

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Ari 17 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .071 .000
2009 Ari 31 53 4 12 2 0 0 3 3 17 0 0 .226 .268 .264
2010 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2014 Det 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Was 34 69 4 15 0 0 0 0 2 23 0 0 .217 .239 .217
2016 Was 34 70 4 13 1 0 0 12 2 30 0 0 .186 .208 .200
2017 Was 31 62 4 10 0 0 1 5 4 16 0 0 .161 .212 .210
2018 Was 35 70 8 17 2 0 0 6 1 14 1 0 .243 .274 .271
2019 Was 29 55 6 10 0 0 0 2 0 27 2 0 .182 .182 .182
Career 383 405 31 78 6 0 1 29 13 133 3 0 .193 .221 .215

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 2 2 0 - 0 8 6 0 31.1 30 20 20 2 18 0 28 5.74
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 1 1 0 4 0 7 1.23
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 11 9 9 1 5 0 7 9.72
2012 Det Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.2 24 10 8 2 8 0 52 2.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 1 0 0 1 0 8 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 2 1 1 0 2 0 10 1.59
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 7 3 3 1 1 0 8 4.26
2013 Det Total 4 2 0 - 0 8 6 0 44.2 24 14 14 2 22 2 68 2.82
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 6 3 3 1 4 1 13 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 6 4 4 0 7 0 21 2.70
2014 Det Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 14 10 10 4 2 0 12 6.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
2016 Was Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 20 10 10 6 4 0 24 3.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
2017 Was Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 2 0 14.2 8 10 6 0 8 2 16 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
2019 Was Total 6 0 0 - 0 12 10 0 60.0 42 16 16 8 30 2 74 2.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 3 3 2 3 0 6 5.40
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.0 4 1 1 1 3 1 10 1.13
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 11 0.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 12 4 4 1 7 0 10 3.60
Career 7 5 0 - 0 22 18 0 112.0 81 45 42 12 46 3 137 3.38

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 4 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Was Total 4 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was Total 12 12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 22 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 505 98 91 94.7 45.74
Curveball 103 81 74 77.3 9.33
Slider 215 88 82 85.5 19.47
Changeup 174 88 81 85 15.76
Cut Fastball 107 94 88 91.1 9.69

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.