MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Brian Duensing
ERA S K
2.57 0 55
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200
Position: RPBorn: 2/22/1983 Birthplace: Marysville, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Twins (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 16 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Wednesday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-2 on Sunday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-3 on Friday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.44 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Brian Duensing fell to 0-1, allowing one run on three hits in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Wednesday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 7-4 on Saturday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-8 on Thursday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 16-4 on Tuesday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 29 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Saturday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Friday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.49 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 25 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-2 on Tuesday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Monday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 19 10:40 PM PT11:40 PM MT12:40 AM CT1:40 AM ET1:40 ET5:40 GMT13:40 10:40 PM MST12:40 AM EST1:10 AM VEN9:40 UAE12:40 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Tuesday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 16 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-0 on Sunday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-8 on Friday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Saturday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 6 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-2 on Thursday. Duensing struck out four, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 4 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Brian Duensing walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Tuesday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Saturday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 8-4 on Wednesday. Duensing struck out four, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Friday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 11-1 on Thursday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Brian Duensing blew his first save, allowing one run on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 12 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 6-1 on Monday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 10 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-1 on Saturday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Wednesday. Duensing struck out three, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Tuesday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 30 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET18:32 GMT2:32 11:32 AM MST1:32 PM EST2:02 PM VEN22:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 5-2 on Monday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:49 AM PT8:49 AM MT9:49 AM CT10:49 AM ET10:49 ET14:49 GMT22:49 7:49 AM MST9:49 AM EST10:19 AM VEN18:49 UAE9:49 AM CT-Brian Duensing walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Saturday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Monday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 19 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Brian Duensing walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3 on Friday. Duensing struck out three, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Thursday. Duensing struck out one, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one run on five hits in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0 on Sunday. Duensing struck out three, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-1 on Tuesday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Sunday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Friday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 4 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Thursday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 2 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Brian Duensing allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2 on Monday. Duensing struck out two, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:50 AM PT7:50 AM MT8:50 AM CT9:50 AM ET9:50 ET13:50 GMT21:50 6:50 AM MST8:50 AM EST9:20 AM VEN17:50 UAE8:50 AM CT-Brian Duensing did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Sunday. Duensing did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-The Cubs activated Duensing from the 10-day disabled list prior to Friday's series opener with Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The veteran reliever missed the beginning of the regular season with lower-back tightness but threw three scoreless innings over two rehab appearances with Triple-A Iowa. Duensing adds a second lefty to a Chicago bullpen that had been predominantly right-handed.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Min 5 2 0 - 0 24 9 0 84.0 84 37 34 7 31 1 53 1.37 3.64
2010 Min 10 3 0 - 0 53 13 1 130.2 122 42 38 11 35 5 78 1.20 2.62
2011 Min 9 14 0 - 0 32 28 1 161.2 193 102 94 21 52 3 115 1.52 5.23
2012 Min 4 12 0 - 1 55 11 0 109.0 126 71 62 10 27 3 69 1.40 5.12
2013 Min 6 2 1 - 4 73 0 0 61.0 68 28 27 4 22 4 56 1.48 3.98
2014 Min 3 3 0 - 4 62 0 0 54.1 52 20 20 6 20 2 33 1.33 3.31
2015 Min 4 1 1 - 2 55 0 0 48.2 46 24 23 5 21 4 24 1.38 4.25
2016 Bal 1 0 0 - 0 14 0 0 13.1 13 6 6 2 3 1 10 1.20 4.05
2017 ChC 0 1 0 - 1 50 0 0 49.0 43 14 14 5 10 0 55 1.08 2.57
Career 42 38 2 - 12 418 61 2 711.2 747 344 318 71 221 23 493 1.36 4.02

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Min 53 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Min 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Min 55 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Min 55 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC 50 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 419 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Min Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 7 5 5 1 1 0 3 9.64
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 7 5 5 1 1 0 3 9.64
2010 Min Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 7 5 5 1 1 0 1 13.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 7 5 5 1 1 0 1 13.50
2016 Bal Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 0 2 0 - 0 3 2 0 8.1 14 10 10 2 2 0 5 10.80


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 381 95 89 92 47.57
Curveball 104 74 70 72.3 12.98
Slider 205 85 77 81.3 25.59
Changeup 111 88 81 85.1 13.86

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.