MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Johnny Cueto
3.44 11-13 176
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 5-11 / 221 NFBC ADP: 39.67
Position: SPBorn: 2/15/1986 Birthplace: San Pedro de Macoris, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Reds (2004)

Latest News
Oct. 26 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE1:36 PM CT-Edinson Volquez will start Tuesday's World Series opener for the Kansas City Royals against the New York Mets. Cueto starts Game 2 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Kansas City's rotation has Cueto starting Game 2 and a potential Game 6 at home, where he was 6-4 during the season. Cueto was 5-9 on the road.
Oct. 6 10:52 AM PT11:52 AM MT12:52 PM CT1:52 PM ET13:52 ET17:52 GMT1:52 10:52 AM MST12:52 PM EST1:22 PM VEN21:52 UAE12:52 PM CT-The Royals will start hard-throwing youngster Yordano Ventura in Game 1 of the AL Divisional Series, regardless of whether Kansas City plays the Yankees or Astros on Thursday night. Royals manager Ned Yost announced his starter before Tuesday's workout at Kauffman Stadium. Cueto will pitch the second game and Edinson Volquez will start Game 3.
Analysis: Cueto is 0-2 with a 5.19 ERA in three postseason starts, all with Cincinnati.
Sep. 25 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Cueto recorded his first win in seven outings Thursday against Seattle, holding the Mariners to three runs over seven innings as he helped the Royals clinch the AL Central.
Analysis: Even with Thursday's solid outing, Cueto is 1-5 with a 7.36 ERA in his last seven starts. The Royals need him to be right if they want to make a deep playoff run.
Sep. 19 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Cueto was solid Friday.
Analysis: Cueto also got a no-decision, allowing two runs on eight hits and a walk in seven-plus innings. He gave up a first-inning run for the fourth straight start, but settled down for his best outing since allowing one run in eight innings against the Angels on Aug. 15.
Sep. 14 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Cueto was knocked around once again, surrendering seven earned runs and 11 hits - including four homers - in 6 1-3 innings of a loss at Baltimore.
Analysis: The former Cincinnati ace has a 9.57 ERA and allowed a .390 average over an inexplicable five-start losing streak.
Sep. 7 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE11:13 AM CT-Cueto struggled once again Sunday, permitting five runs over a season-low three innings in a loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Cueto clearly hasn't made the impact the Royals were expecting when they acquired him at the trade deadline. He's posted a brutal 9.45 ERA in losing four consecutive starts and allowed a .394 average over the rough stretch.
Sep. 2 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-The struggling Cueto allowed four runs in six innings Tuesday against Detroit to lose his third straight start.
Analysis: Cueto has an 8.47 ERA over the winless stretch, during which opposing hitters are hitting .380 off him. He's now 2-4 in seven starts since being acquired from Cincinnati in July.
Aug. 27 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Cueto had a second straight rough start Wednesday, surrendering three homers and permitting six runs in five innings in a loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: After going 2-1 with a 1.80 over his first four starts as a Royal, Cueto has allowed 12 earned runs and 21 hits in losing his last two.
Aug. 22 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Cueto had his worst start since coming to Kansas City just before the trading deadline, and the Boston Red Sox beat the AL Central-leading Royals 7-2 on Friday night to send them to their second straight loss.
Analysis: Cueto (2-2, 3.00 ERA) had allowed just six runs in four previous starts for the Royals. He allowed six earned runs and 13 hits on Friday, striking out three before leaving after six innings. The Royals also committed two errors, leading to another run.
Aug. 11 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Cueto earned his first win as a Royal by twirling a four-hit shutout Monday against Detroit.
Analysis: Cueto struck out eight and lowered his season ERA to 2.53. The trade deadline pickup is 2-1 with a 1.50 ERA over his last four starts.
July 27 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Cueto will make his debut for Kansas City on Friday in Toronto.
Analysis: Cueto was acquired on Sunday in a trade with Cincinnati for left-handers Brandon Finnegan, John Lamb and Cody Reed. Cueto, who won 20 games last season for the Reds, is still getting personal business in order and plans to join the AL's best team on Tuesday.
July 26 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-The Kansas City Royals have acquired Cueto in a trade with the Cincinnati Reds, bolstering their chances of returning to the World Series.
Analysis: Cueto, who is eligible for free agency after the season, was one of the top starters on the market. He pitched eight scoreless innings in Cincinnati's 5-2 victory at Colorado on Saturday.
July 8 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Cueto was brilliant Tuesday, allowing two hits and striking out 11 in a 5-0 win over Washington.
Analysis: Cueto has given up one run and six hits with 19 Ks over 17 innings in winning his last two starts.
July 2 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Cueto won his fifth game of the season Wednesday against the Twins, limiting them to one run over eight innings.
Analysis: Cueto, who struck out eight, improved to 3-1 with a 1.64 ERA in seven home starts this year.
June 27 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Cueto pitched well Friday night but took his first loss in five starts, a 2-1 defeat to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Cueto (4-5, 2.98 ERA) gave up two runs and two hits in six innings. He's 1-1 with a 2.87 ERA in his last five starts.
June 23 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Cueto won't start Tuesday, with the Reds pushing him to Friday.
Analysis: It's not clear if Cueto is hurt but it's a possibility. Right-hander Josh Smith makes his major league debut Tuesday at PNC Park.
June 18 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Cueto lasted 5 1-3 innings Wednesday due to a rain delay.
Analysis: Cueto is allowing opponents to bat .211 so he is excelling as usual.
June 8 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Cueto won for the first time in four starts Sunday, striking out nine over seven innings in a 4-0 victory over San Diego.
Analysis: Cueto improved to 4-4 and lowered his ERA to 2.64.
June 3 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Cueto gave up two runs, one earned, and five hits over six innings in Cincinnati's 5-4 loss at Philadelphia on Tuesday, not recording a decision.
Analysis: Cueto has strung together three straight quality starts and owns a 2.90 ERA on the season.
May 26 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Cueto will miss at least one more start after an MRI found inflammation in his pitching elbow. Results on Tuesday showed no major damage in the right elbow. Cueto, who won 20 games last season, had to skip a scheduled start over the weekend because of stiffness.
Analysis: Manager Bryan Price says Cueto will throw in the next few days and see how the elbow feels. If the stiffness is gone, he will have a bullpen session. The Reds would then consider when to let him start again.
May 23 11:31 AM PT12:31 PM MT1:31 PM CT2:31 PM ET14:31 ET18:31 GMT2:31 11:31 AM MST1:31 PM EST2:01 PM VEN22:31 UAE1:31 PM CT-Cueto has been scratched from Sunday's start against the Cleveland Indians because of elbow stiffness.
Analysis: Reds manager Bryan Price says he doesn't believe Cueto's stiffness is a serious issue, but wants to give the pitcher an extra day or two between starts. Cueto is 3-4 with a 3.03 ERA in nine starts.
Apr. 23 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cueto was in fine form for his first win of the season Wednesday.
Analysis: He threw a career-high 125 pitches in eight innings, allowing five hits and strinking out eight. Cueto also balked twice - the first Cincinnati pitcher to do so since Chris Hammond did it on Aug. 18, 1990, vs. Pittsburgh.
Apr. 12 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET20:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Cueto was a hard-luck loser Saturday versus St. Louis, taking the loss despite limiting the Cardinals to one earned run and four hits in seven innings.
Analysis: Cueto has allowed one earned run in 14 innings through two starts, but he's also received just three runs of support.
Apr. 7 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Cueto allowed four hits and fanned 10 over seven scoreless innings Monday.
Analysis: Cueto's 10 strikeouts ran his career total to 1,005. The 10 Ks were his most in four opening day starts and two shy of his career high.
Mar. 20 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Cueto has returned to the Dominican Republic to be with a family member having health issues. Manager Bryan Price said on Friday it's unclear when Cueto will rejoin the club. He's scheduled to pitch the season opener in Cincinnati on April 6 against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Cueto was scheduled to start on Friday against the Giants in Scottsdale. Anthony DeSclafani took his place. Price said Cueto is fine physically and will continue throwing in the Dominican Republic. The 20-game winner is entering the final year on his contract. He's been hoping to have a new deal before opening day.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.