MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Johnny Cueto
ERA W-L K
2.26 16-8 205
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-11 / 217 NFBC ADP: 172.30
Position: SPBorn: 2/15/1986 Birthplace: San Pedro de Macoris, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Reds (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 6 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Cueto won for the fifth time in six starts Tuesday, limiting Cleveland to two runs and five hits in his fourth complete game of the season.
Analysis: Cueto is 5-0 with a 2.23 ERA over his last six outings.
Aug. 1 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Cueto recorded his 12th win of the season in Thursday's 3-1 win at Miami, limiting the Marlins to a run in seven innings while striking out nine.
Analysis: Cueto has been at his best over his last two starts, yielding just a run in 14 innings while striking out 18.
July 27 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Cueto earned his 11th victory of the season in Saturday's 1-0 win over Washington, yielding four hits over seven innings with nine strikeouts.
Analysis: Cueto is 6-1 with a 2.26 ERA over his last nine starts, striking out 60 in 59 2-3 innings.
July 21 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Cueto needed 112 pitches to last five innings Sunday, matching his shortest start this season.
Analysis: Cueto struck out seven and allowed two runs. He faces the Nats next time.
July 14 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Cueto allowed three runs over six innings to beat Pittsburgh 6-3 on Sunday.
Analysis: Cueto, 5-1 over his last seven starts, will carry a 2.13 ERA into the season's second half.
July 9 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Cueto won for the fourth time in six starts in Tuesday's 4-2 victory over the Cubs.
Analysis: Cueto, who gave up two runs and six hits over 6 1-3 innings, is 4-1 with a 2.16 ERA in his last six outings - though that mark his still worse than his season ERA of 2.03.
July 3 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Cueto suffered his first loss in five starts Wednesday, allowing three runs over seven innings in a 3-0 defeat to San Diego.
Analysis: Cueto still owns baseball's second-best ERA at 1.99, trailing only Adam Wainwright (1.89).
June 28 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET20:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Cueto won for the third time in four starts Friday, surrendering two runs and just three hits over 8 1-3 innings at San Francisco.
Analysis: Cueto is 3-0 with a 1.59 ERA over his last four outings.
June 23 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Cueto gave up three runs - one earned to improve to 7-5 on Sunday. He gave up seven hits and struck out eight while winning his third straight start and he leads the NL with a 1.86 ERA.
Analysis: Cueto led off the fifth with a bunt single and limped around the bases on Todd Frazier's home run with a cramp in his hamstring but was able to work through it for the last three frames. Fantasy owners should stay tuned.
May 16 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Cueto fired a three-hitter with eight strikeouts and two walks in Thursday's 5-0 win over San Diego.
Analysis: Cueto is 4-2 with a major league-best 1.25 ERA in nine starts this season.
May 4 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET23:43 GMT7:43 4:43 PM MST6:43 PM EST7:13 PM VEN3:43 UAE (+1)6:43 PM CT-Cueto delivered another dominant performance in Saturday's 6-2 win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: Cueto allowed two runs and three hits while striking out 10. He is 3-0 with a 0.79 ERA in his last four outings.
Apr. 28 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Cueto had another stellar outing Sunday but did not get a decision in Cincinnati's 1-0 loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: Cueto (2-2) fanned 11 while giving up three hits in eight innings, but Atlanta's Julio Teheran also allowed three hits over eight frames. Cueto has yielded only one run in his last three starts, leaving him with a 1.15 ERA. Cueto, coming off back-to-back, complete-game wins over Pittsburgh, finished one strikeout away from his career high of 12 set April 16 against the Pirates.
Apr. 23 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Cueto posted his second straight complete-game against the Pirates, limiting them to one run on three hits Tuesday.
Analysis: Cueto has been one of the best starters in baseball thus far, yielding just six runs with 39 strikeouts in as many innings over five starts. He looks better than ever.
Apr. 17 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-Cueto pitched his third career shutout against the team that beat him in the playoffs, and led the Cincinnati Reds over the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Wednesday for their first winning series this season.
Analysis: Cueto (1-2, 1.50 ERA) had his way with the lineup that beat him 6-2 in the NL wild card playoff at PNC Park last year. He limited the Pirates to three hits and struck out a career-high 12 during his first shutout since 2011.
Apr. 12 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Cueto fell to 0-2 Friday despite a strong showing against Tampa Bay, as he allowed two runs and five hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Cueto, who walked four batters, has been supplied with only three runs of support through three starts.
Apr. 1 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Cueto was a hard-luck 1-0 loser to the Cards on Monday.
Analysis: Cueto allowed three hits. Cueto's third straight opening-day start was a reminder that it's a matter of staying healthy. He was on the disabled list three times last season, limited to 11 starts. He changed his delivery slightly to try to avoid injury.
Mar. 27 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Cueto is set to start on opening day for the Cincinnati Reds for the third straight season.
Analysis: First-year manager Bryan Price said Thursday that Cueto will pitch Monday at home against St. Louis.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Cin 9 14 0 - 0 31 31 0 174.0 178 101 93 29 68 1 158 1.41 4.81
2009 Cin 11 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 171.1 172 90 84 24 61 0 132 1.36 4.41
2010 Cin 12 7 0 - 0 31 31 1 185.2 181 79 75 19 56 5 138 1.28 3.64
2011 Cin 9 5 0 - 0 24 24 3 156.0 123 51 40 8 47 0 104 1.09 2.31
2012 Cin 19 9 0 - 0 33 33 2 217.0 205 73 67 15 49 5 170 1.17 2.78
2013 Cin 5 2 0 - 0 11 11 0 60.2 46 20 19 7 18 1 51 1.05 2.82
2014 Cin 16 8 0 - 0 29 29 4 207.0 145 60 52 20 56 2 205 0.97 2.26
Career 81 56 0 - 0 189 189 10 1171.2 1050 474 430 122 355 14 958 1.20 3.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 32 45 4 2 0 0 0 1 2 15 0 0 .044 .104 .044
2009 Cin 30 46 5 6 0 0 0 1 3 17 0 0 .130 .184 .130
2010 Cin 31 54 2 6 0 0 0 2 1 22 0 0 .111 .127 .111
2011 Cin 24 47 3 3 0 0 0 0 2 11 0 0 .064 .102 .064
2012 Cin 33 67 3 6 1 0 0 2 0 24 0 0 .090 .090 .104
2013 Cin 11 20 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .150 .150 .150
2014 Cin 29 60 3 8 0 0 0 2 1 17 0 0 .133 .148 .133
Career 190 339 21 34 1 0 0 9 9 111 0 0 .100 .126 .103

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 2 1 1 1 0 2 1.80
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 2 1 1 1 0 2 1.80
2012 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2013 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 8 4 4 2 1 0 0 10.80
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 8 4 4 2 1 0 0 10.80
Career 0 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 8.2 13 6 5 3 2 0 3 5.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Cin Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1471 97 84 92.4 47.21
Curveball 122 86 73 81.1 3.92
Slider 305 89 81 83.8 9.79
Changeup 474 89 79 83.4 15.21
Cut Fastball 744 93 85 88.4 23.88

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.