MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Jay Bruce
AVG HR RBI
.245 32 96
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 227 NFBC ADP: 189.07
Position: RFBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Beaumont, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 28 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Bruce hit a two-run homer for the second straight night Wednesday, giving him 32 home runs on the season.
Analysis: Bruce also drew two walks after going nine straight games without one. He's broken out of a lengthy slump just in time for the Mets' playoff push, going 7 for 16 with three homers in the past five games.
Sep. 27 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Bruce went 2 for 5 with a two-run homer Tuesday night.
Analysis: Bruce, whose 31 homers are three shy of a career high, has gone deep twice in the last four games while going 6 for 14 overall. That follows a 13-game, 3-for-39 slump during which he failed to homer.
Sep. 25 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Bruce went 2 for 4 with a double and two runs scored Sunday.
Analysis: It was his first start since Sept. 20 after he went 3 for 36 in his previous 10 games while in the starting lineup.
Sep. 21 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Bruce was left out of the lineup for the third time in four games Wednesday, one night after the three-time All-Star was pulled for a pinch-hitter in a crucial situation.
Analysis: Acquired from Cincinnati at the Aug. 1 trade deadline, Bruce is batting only .176 with four homers and 11 RBIs in 40 games with the Mets. He's hitless in his last 12 at-bats and stuck in a 3-for-38 slide.
Sep. 20 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Bruce was back in the lineup Tuesday after being left out in back-to-back games but went 0 for 3.
Analysis: Bruce is 3 for 37 (.081) in his last 11 games, and Mets manager Terry Collins might have to continue cutting down his playing time with the team trying to make the postseason.
Sep. 19 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Bruce is out of the Mets' starting lineup for the second straight game Monday.
Analysis: Acquired by the Mets from Cincinnati at the Aug. 1 trade deadline, Bruce is hitting .181 with four homers and 11 RBIs in 38 games with New York. ''We just told Jay yesterday, look, we're going to get you out of here. Just back off for a couple of days, catch your break and get back in there,'' manager Terry Collins said Monday.
Sep. 14 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Bruce went 1 for 4 and left three men on base in Wednesday's 1-0 loss to the Nationals.
Analysis: Bruce is now hitting .192 with 11 RBIs in 36 games since being acquired from the Reds but Mets manager Terry Collins notes he's an everyday player.
Sep. 5 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Bruce went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer and the Mets beat the Washington Nationals 5-1 Sunday night.
Analysis: Bruce is 7 for 16 with a pair of homers over his last four games.
Sep. 1 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Bruce hopes to turn around his fortune with the Mets after going 2 for 4 in Wednesday's 5-2 win over the Marlins.
Analysis: Bruce is batting just .183 in 26 games since coming over in a trade from the Reds.
Aug. 24 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET20:50 ET0:50 GMT8:50 5:50 PM MST7:50 PM EST8:20 PM VEN4:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Bruce left Wednesday night's game against the St. Louis Cardinals in the second inning with a cramp in his right calf.
Analysis: After blooping a double down the left-field line to start the inning, Bruce held at second as James Loney flew out to left. Manager Terry Collins and a trainer popped out of the dugout before Asdrubal Cabrera's at-bat and removed Bruce. Bruce is batting .248 with 27 homers and 86 RBIs for the year. He was acquired on July 31 from the Cincinnati Reds to bolster New York's offense, but is only 13 of 77 since the trade.
Aug. 17 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Bruce doubled in Tuesday's win over the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Bruce's double was his first in 14 games with the Mets. He is batting .185 with two homers.
Aug. 6 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Bruce hit his second home run with the Mets - and 27th of the season - in Saturday's 6-5 loss to the Tigers.
Analysis: Bruce also went 2 for 5 after he had been 2 for 23 over his previous six games dating to his time with Cincinnati.
Aug. 5 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Bruce belted a three-run homer, his first with the Mets and 26th of the season, in Thursday's 4-1 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Bruce had been in an 0-for-19 drought, including 0 for 10 since being acquired from Cincinnati, before his fifth-inning blast. ''I told some guys it felt like my first major league homer running around the bases,'' said Bruce, who took over the NL RBI lead with 83. His last six hits have all been home runs.
Aug. 3 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Bruce went 0 for 4 and took a pair of called third strikes in his Mets debut Tuesday.
Analysis: Bruce hit .265 with 25 homers and an NL-leading 80 RBIs with the Reds before being acquired Monday. He made the NL All-Star team for the third time this season.
Aug. 1 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-The Mets acquired Bruce from the Reds on Monday for infielder Dilson Herrera and minor league left-hander Max Wotell.
Analysis: Bruce is hitting .265 with 25 homers and an NL-leading 80 RBIs. He made the NL All-Star team for the third time this season.
July 28 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Bruce homered for a career-high fifth straight game in Wednesday's win over the Giants.
Analysis: Bruce has been among the most commonly mentioned stars who are on the block with the trade deadline approaching and has only boosted his value by going deep six times in the past five games while driving in 13 runs. Bruce, whose 25 homers are one shy of his total from all of last season, has hit safely in nine straight games.
July 26 6:42 AM PT7:42 AM MT8:42 AM CT9:42 AM ET9:42 ET13:42 GMT21:42 6:42 AM MST8:42 AM EST9:12 AM VEN17:42 UAE8:42 AM CT-Bruce hit a pair of two-run homers Monday and has gone deep in three straight games while hitting safely in his last seven contests.
Analysis: He's 6 for 12 with four homers and 11 RBIs in his last three games.
July 24 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Bruce had another big game Sunday, going 2 for 4 with his 21st home run and four RBIs in a 9-8 loss to the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Bruce, who has been the subject of trade rumors, has gone 4 for 8 with two homers and seven RBIs in his last two games.
July 23 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Bruce hit a three-run homer and barely missed another during one of Cincinnati's final home games before the non-waiver trade deadline, and the Reds beat the fading Arizona Diamondbacks 6-1 on Saturday night for a modest breakthrough.
Analysis: Having secured his eighth 20-homer season, Bruce continues to be a popular choice to be dealt before the trade deadline.
July 20 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Bruce hit a two-run homer in his first at-bat in Tuesday's loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: The slugger was 2 for 11 with one RBI in Cincinnati's first four games following the All-Star break. As a player who could change teams at the trade deadline, Bruce will be a name to watch over the coming weeks.
July 9 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Bruce has been named to the NL All-Star team as an injury replacement for the Cubs' Dexter Fowler.
Analysis: The Cincinnati slugger receives his third career All-Star nod and first since 2012. Bruce ranks among the NL leaders with 62 RBIs and entered Saturday's play with 18 homers and a .265 average.
July 5 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Bruce hit his 18th homer Tuesday, a two-run shot.
Analysis: Bruce, though, is batting just .193 with 13 strikeouts in his last 13 games.
June 27 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Bruce drove in another run Sunday with a solo homer.
Analysis: Bruce has 16 RBIs in his last 14 games and is batting .298 with four homers, five doubles and a triple during that span.
June 23 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Bruce just keeps hitting away from home, finishing with a pair of doubles in Wednesday's 6-4 loss at Texas.
Analysis: Bruce is batting .377 with five homers, three triples, eight doubles and 18 RBIs over a 14-game road hitting streak.
June 22 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Bruce had another big day Tuesday, going 3 for 4 with his 16th home run and a double in an 8-2 win at Texas.
Analysis: Bruce has been swinging the bat well for a while. He's batting .329 with seven homers, six doubles and 24 RBIs over his last 19 games.
June 16 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-Bruce singled, doubled, scored two runs and drove in two in Wednesday's 13-inning loss to the Braves.
Analysis: Bruce has nine RBIs over his last five games, hitting for the cycle in that span with a pair of homers.
June 15 8:10 AM PT9:10 AM MT10:10 AM CT11:10 AM ET11:10 ET15:10 GMT23:10 8:10 AM MST10:10 AM EST10:40 AM VEN19:10 UAE10:10 AM CT-Bruce walloped his 15th home run - a three-run shot that accounted for all Cincinnati's scoring - in Tuesday's 3-1 win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Bruce is putting up nice power number since late May, batting .308 with seven home runs and 20 RBIs over his last 17 games.
June 14 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Bruce reached base three times and drove in two runs in Monday's 9-8 win over the Braves.
Analysis: Bruce recorded his major league-leading sixth triple, which is also a career high. He has a .907 OPS this year after having a .695 mark in the previous two seasons combined.
June 5 8:43 AM PT9:43 AM MT10:43 AM CT11:43 AM ET11:43 ET15:43 GMT23:43 8:43 AM MST10:43 AM EST11:13 AM VEN19:43 UAE10:43 AM CT-Bruce kept up his recent tear by going 3 for 4 with a solo home run in Saturday's win over Washington.
Analysis: Bruce is enhancing his trade value during an eight-game stretch in which he's batting .382 with four homers, eight RBIs and nine extra-base hits. He's having a nice bounce-back season after hitting .226 and .217 over the previous two.
June 2 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Bruce homered for a third time in four games in Wednesday's win at Colorado.
Analysis: He's also on a modest five-game hitting streak in which he's hitting .381 with five RBIs and five runs scored.
June 1 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Bruce homered, tripled and doubled in a 17-4 loss to Colorado on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Bruce, now batting .272, is 7 for 17 (.412) with five extra-base hits in his last four games.
May 19 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Bruce was 3 for 4 with two jacks on Wednesday.
Analysis: Bruce is 10 for 14 in his last four games.
May 16 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Bruce went 3 for 3 and scored three runs in a 9-4 win over Philadelphia on Sunday.
Analysis: Bruce was hitting .186 in his previous 17 games.
May 6 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Bruce had a three-run homer in Thursday's win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: The veteran outfielder won't help much in the batting average department but can still put up useful power numbers, as his team-leading 21 RBIs in 26 games will attest.
Apr. 25 10:35 AM PT11:35 AM MT12:35 PM CT1:35 PM ET13:35 ET17:35 GMT1:35 10:35 AM MST12:35 PM EST1:05 PM VEN21:35 UAE12:35 PM CT-The Reds have placed Bruce on the paternity list.
Analysis: Bruce will miss most or all of Cincinnati's three-game series with the Mets as he and his wife welcome their first child.
Apr. 11 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with a triple and an RBI on Sunday.
Analysis: He has started the season hot, going 9 for 23 with nine RBIs in his first six games.
Apr. 8 11:58 PM PT12:58 AM MT1:58 AM CT2:58 AM ET2:58 ET6:58 GMT14:58 11:58 PM MST1:58 AM EST2:28 AM VEN10:58 UAE1:58 AM CT-Bruce hit a pair of home runs and matched a career high with five RBIs in a 10-6 win over Philadelphia on Thursday.
Analysis: Bruce is 6 for 12 with seven RBIs for the 3-0 Cincinnati Reds.
Apr. 5 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Bruce had a two-run single during the Reds' eighth-inning rally in Monday's season opener.
Analysis: He hopes to improve on the 87 RBIs he had a year ago to reach 100 for the second time in his career.
Feb. 23 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Bruce wasn't surprised the Cincinnati Reds may have come close to trading him as part of a three-team deal that appears to have fallen through.
Analysis: Bruce said Tuesday he followed reports he was headed to Toronto as part of the Reds' rebuilding. Outfielder Michael Saunders would have gone to the Los Angeles Angels, with the Reds getting more prospects. "Awkward is not the word," Bruce said before Cincinnati's first full-squad workout. "I'm reading the same stuff you are reading. It's obvious what's going on. They're trying to get something done. I really don't have answers."
Feb. 21 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Bruce reported to Reds camp on Sunday. It was a surprise that he was two days early - and that he was still on Cincinnati's roster at all.
Analysis: It was no secret the veteran was on the trading block during the offseason. Bruce, who turns 29 in April, and the Reds avoided arbitration when they agreed on a six-year contract after the 2010 season. This is the last year of that contract, and that affects his fantasy status.

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.