MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Jay Bruce
AVG HR RBI
.235 3 15
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 227
Position: RFBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Beaumont, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2005)


Latest News
May 27 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-7. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 26 4:49 PM PT5:49 PM MT6:49 PM CT7:49 PM ET19:49 ET23:49 GMT7:49 4:49 PM MST6:49 PM EST7:19 PM VEN3:49 UAE (+1)6:49 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 17-6. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
May 25 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
May 24 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Thursday as the New York Mets beat the Milwaukee Brewers 5-0. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
May 23 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 22 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Miami Marlins 5-1. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
May 21 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Monday as the New York Mets beat the Miami Marlins 2-0. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 20 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Sunday as the New York Mets beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-1. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 19 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 Saturday as the New York Mets topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 18 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Friday as the New York Mets beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
May 16 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 12-1. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
May 15 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Tuesday as the New York Mets beat the Toronto Blue Jays 12-2. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
May 11 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Bruce has rejoined the Mets after missing their weekend series at Philadelphia while on paternity leave.
Analysis: Bruce has struggled this season, hitting just .233 with a .697 OPS.
May 9 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the Cincinnati Reds 2-1. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 8 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Cincinnati Reds 7-2. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
May 7 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the New York Mets beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-6. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 6 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Mets fell to the Colorado Rockies 3-2. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
May 5 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with a double Saturday as the New York Mets lost to the Colorado Rockies 2-0. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
May 4 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets fell to the Colorado Rockies 8-7. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: After starting 1,395 games in the outfield, Bruce made his first start of the season at first base. Brandon Nimmo started in right field as the Mets looked for more offense and went 1 for 4. Bruce had 15 previous games at first, including 10 starts with the Mets last season.
May 3 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-0. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 2 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the Atlanta Braves 7-0. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
May 1 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Apr. 29 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the New York Mets topped the San Diego Padres 14-2. Bruce scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Apr. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the San Diego Padres 12-2. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
Apr. 26 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 5 Thursday as the New York Mets fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
Apr. 25 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 9-1. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Apr. 24 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 3 for 5 with a triple, a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Apr. 21 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3. He ended the game with a .194 batting average.
Apr. 20 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Friday as the New York Mets beat the Atlanta Braves 5-3. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
Apr. 19 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Mets fell to the Atlanta Braves 12-4. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
Apr. 18 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Mets topped the Washington Nationals 11-5. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Apr. 17 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 5-2. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
Apr. 16 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 1 Monday as the New York Mets fell to the Washington Nationals 8-6. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Analysis: Bruce (plantar fasciitis) didn't start for the second straight game. He hopes to be in the lineup Tuesday.
Apr. 14 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Apr. 13 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Friday as the New York Mets topped the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Apr. 11 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the New York Mets topped the Miami Marlins 4-1. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Apr. 10 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the Miami Marlins 8-6. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Apr. 9 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with an RBI Monday as the New York Mets beat the Miami Marlins 4-2. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
Apr. 9 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 5 with a double Sunday as the New York Mets topped the Washington Nationals 6-5. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Apr. 7 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with a double Saturday as the New York Mets beat the Washington Nationals 3-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Apr. 5 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and four RBIs Thursday as the New York Mets beat the Washington Nationals 8-2. The homer was his first of the season. Bruce scored twice. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Apr. 4 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Mets beat the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Apr. 3 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
Apr. 1 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 4 with a double Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 31 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 0 for 5 Saturday as the New York Mets beat the St. Louis Cardinals 6-2. Bruce scored once. He ended the game with a .125 batting average.
Mar. 29 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Jay Bruce went 1 for 3 with an RBI Thursday as the New York Mets beat the St. Louis Cardinals 9-4. Bruce added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 108 413 63 105 17 1 21 52 33 110 4 6 .254 .314 .453
2009 Cin 101 345 47 77 15 2 22 58 38 75 3 3 .223 .303 .470
2010 Cin 148 509 80 143 23 5 25 70 58 136 5 4 .281 .353 .493
2011 Cin 157 585 84 150 27 2 32 97 71 158 8 7 .256 .341 .474
2012 Cin 155 560 89 141 35 5 34 99 62 155 9 3 .252 .327 .514
2013 Cin 160 626 89 164 43 1 30 109 63 185 7 3 .262 .329 .478
2014 Cin 137 493 71 107 21 1 18 66 44 149 12 3 .217 .281 .373
2015 Cin 157 580 72 131 35 4 26 87 58 145 9 5 .226 .294 .434
2016 Cin 97 370 60 98 22 6 25 80 27 83 4 2 .265 .316 .559
2016 NYM 50 169 14 37 5 0 8 19 17 43 0 0 .219 .294 .391
2016 Tot 147 539 74 135 27 6 33 99 44 126 4 2 .250 .309 .506
2017 NYM 103 406 61 104 20 0 29 75 39 102 0 1 .256 .321 .520
2017 Cle 43 149 21 37 9 2 7 26 18 37 1 0 .248 .331 .477
2017 Tot 146 555 82 141 29 2 36 101 57 139 1 1 .254 .324 .508
2018 NYM 46 162 13 38 9 1 3 15 17 34 2 1 .235 .307 .358
Career 1462 5367 764 1332 281 30 280 853 545 1412 64 38 .248 .318 .468

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
    LDS 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
2012 Cin Total 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
    LDS 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2016 NYM Total 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Cle Total 5 18 5 5 1 0 2 4 2 8 0 0 .278 .333 .667
    LDS 5 18 5 5 1 0 2 4 2 8 0 0 .278 .333 .667
Career 15 52 8 13 3 0 4 10 6 13 0 1 .250 .333 .538


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.