MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Hiroki Kuroda
ERA W-L K
3.98 7-7 93
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-1 / 205 NFBC ADP: 232.83
Position: SPBorn: 2/10/1975 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2007)


Latest News
July 31 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Kuroda suffered his seventh loss in Wednesday's 3-2 defeat at Texas, giving up three runs and nine hits in seven innings.
Analysis: Kuroda remains a disappointment with a career-worst 3.98 ERA.
July 26 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Kuroda won despite a mediocre outing in Friday's 6-4 victory over Toronto, yielding four runs and eight hits over 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Kuroda has been better of late, going 3-2 with a 3.78 ERA in his last eight games, but Friday was not one of his better efforts.
July 21 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Kuroda did not get a decision Sunday.
Analysis: Kuroda gave up three hits and no earned runs over 6 2-3 innings in his 200th major league appearance. "He was great," Yankees manager Joe Girardi said. "Did a wonderful job today."
July 7 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Kuroda recorded his second win in three starts Sunday, yielding four runs and seven hits over 5 2-3 innings in a 9-7 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Kuroda has been very mediocre lately, going 2-2 with a 4.40 ERA over his last five starts.
May 2 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Kuroda gave up four runs - three earned - and seven hits in six innings, lowering his ERA slightly to 5.14 on Thursday.
Analysis: It was an improvement over his previous outing Friday night, when the 39-year-old right-hander was hammered in a 13-1 loss to the Los Angeles Angels. "I think it's a step in the right direction," New York manager Joe Girardi said.
Apr. 19 10:14 AM PT11:14 AM MT12:14 PM CT1:14 PM ET13:14 ET17:14 GMT1:14 10:14 AM MST12:14 PM EST12:44 PM VEN21:14 UAE12:14 PM CT-Kuroda threw 99 pitches Friday for the Yanks.
Analysis: Kuroda gave up three runs and seven hits over 5 2-3 innings. He draws the BoSox next.
Apr. 13 11:11 AM PT12:11 PM MT1:11 PM CT2:11 PM ET14:11 ET18:11 GMT2:11 11:11 AM MST1:11 PM EST1:41 PM VEN22:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Kuroda got the win as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 7-4 Saturday.
Analysis: Kuroda pitched into the seventh, allowing four runs and striking out five.
Apr. 8 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Kuroda picked up his first victory of the season Monday, limiting Baltimore to two runs on eight hits over 8 1-3 innings.
Analysis: Kuroda has looked strong through his first two starts, allowing four runs and 11 hits in 12 1-3 innings.
Apr. 3 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Kuroda was tagged with the loss in his season debut Wednesday against Houston despite a very strong start in which he gave up two runs and three hits over six innings.
Analysis: Fantasy owners and Yankee fans would have liked to see the Yankees back Kuroda with more than one run of support.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 LAD 9 10 0 - 0 31 31 2 183.1 181 85 76 13 42 8 116 1.22 3.73
2009 LAD 8 7 0 - 0 21 20 0 117.1 110 59 49 12 24 1 87 1.14 3.76
2010 LAD 11 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 196.1 180 87 74 15 48 13 159 1.16 3.39
2011 LAD 13 16 0 - 0 32 32 0 202.0 196 77 69 24 49 6 161 1.21 3.07
2012 NYY 16 11 0 - 0 33 33 3 219.2 205 86 81 25 51 2 167 1.17 3.32
2013 NYY 11 13 0 - 0 32 32 1 201.1 191 79 74 20 43 2 150 1.16 3.31
2014 NYY 7 7 0 - 0 22 22 0 135.2 138 68 60 15 27 0 93 1.22 3.98
Career 75 77 0 - 0 202 201 6 1255.2 1201 541 483 124 284 32 933 1.18 3.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 LAD 31 54 2 8 1 0 0 2 5 16 0 0 .148 .220 .167
2009 LAD 21 28 1 4 0 0 0 0 2 11 0 0 .143 .200 .143
2010 LAD 31 55 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 21 0 0 .036 .070 .036
2011 LAD 32 61 2 7 0 0 0 1 4 20 0 0 .115 .169 .115
2012 NYY 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 NYY 32 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 NYY 22 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 202 209 7 21 1 0 0 3 13 72 0 0 .100 .153 .105

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 LAD Total 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.1 11 2 2 0 3 1 7 1.46
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 0 0 0 2 1 4 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 2 2 0 1 0 3 3.00
2009 LAD Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 6 6 6 1 0 0 1 40.50
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 6 6 6 1 0 0 1 40.50
2012 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 16.0 10 5 5 2 1 0 14 2.70
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.1 5 2 2 2 1 0 3 2.16
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.2 5 3 3 0 0 0 11 3.52
Career 2 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 29.2 27 13 13 3 4 1 22 3.94

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 LAD Total 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 996 95 87 91.1 45.94
Curveball 94 80 73 76.7 4.34
Slider 497 86 78 82.9 22.92
Split-Finger 530 90 82 86.4 24.45
Cut Fastball 51 92 87 89.5 2.35

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.