MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Justin Maxwell
AVG HR RBI
.167 0 1
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225 NFBC ADP: 566.73
Position: CFBorn: 11/6/1983 Birthplace: Bethesda, Maryland
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Nationals (2005)


Latest News
Jan. 21 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 CST4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Maxwell and the Kansas City Royals agreed to a one-year contract worth $1,325,000, leaving closer Greg Holland and reliever Aaron Crow as their only unsigned players in arbitration.
Analysis: Maxwell gets a substantial raise from the $492,500 he made last year. He was asking for $1.7 million and the Royals had offered $1,075,000.
Aug. 24 12:00 PM PT1:00 PM MT2:00 PM CT3:00 PM ET15:00 ET19:00 GMT3:00 CST12:00 PM MST2:00 PM EST2:30 PM VEN23:00 UAE2:00 PM CT-Maxwell went 2 for 5 with a homer and three RBIs in Friday's 11-10 loss to Washington.
Analysis: While he isn't a big name, Maxwell has put up big-time numbers of late. He is 15 for 41 (.366) with four homers, nine RBIs and nine runs in his last 15 games.
Aug. 17 10:37 PM PT11:37 PM MT12:37 AM CT1:37 AM ET1:37 ET5:37 GMT13:37 CST10:37 PM MST12:37 AM EST1:07 AM VEN9:37 UAE12:37 AM CT-Maxwell returned from the bereavement list and was in the starting lineup playing right field for Tuesday night's series opener against the White Sox.
Analysis: Maxwell was acquired from the Astros at the July 31 trade deadline, and was hitting .406 with three homers and seven RBIs since arriving in Kansas City. He left the team after the opener of a doubleheader last Friday in Detroit because of the death of his grandmother.
Aug. 10 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 CST1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Maxwell went 3 for 5 with another homer in Friday's 9-6 win over Boston.
Analysis: Maxwell is batting .391 with four homers, seven RBIs and eight runs in his last nine games.
July 31 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 CST1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-The Kansas City Royals have acquired outfielder Justin Maxwell from the Houston Astros for minor league pitcher Kyle Smith in an attempt to upgrade their depth for the stretch run.
Analysis: Maxwell made his major league debut in 2007 for the Nationals. He has spent the past two seasons with the Astros. He's hitting just .241 with two homers and eight RBIs in 40 games this season, but that includes a .302 average against left-handed pitchers. The Royals already were trying to upgrade in right field, where David Lough has played well. The need for depth became more pressing when center fielder Lorenzo Cain hurt his left groin on Saturday.
June 25 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 CST7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-The Houston Astros activated Maxwell from the seven-day disabled list Saturday.
Analysis: Maxwell suffered a concussion June 25.
Apr. 24 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 CST10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE12:36 AM CT-Maxwell was 0 for 2 and walked twice Tuesday as he started for the first time in nearly two months in Houston''s 3-2 loss to Arizona.
Analysis: Maxwell had been out since April 24 due to a broken left hand.
Apr. 1 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 CST6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Maxwell had two hits and two RBIs Sunday in an 8-2 rout of the Rangers.
Analysis: Maxwell is off to a solid start but he was a .229 hitter in 2012 so fantasy owners should beware.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Was 15 26 5 7 0 0 2 5 1 8 0 0 .269 .296 .500
2009 Was 40 89 13 22 4 1 4 9 12 32 6 1 .247 .343 .449
2010 Was 67 104 16 15 6 0 3 12 25 43 5 1 .144 .305 .288
2012 Hou 124 315 46 72 13 3 18 53 32 114 9 4 .229 .304 .460
2013 Hou 40 137 21 33 10 2 2 8 12 43 4 1 .241 .311 .387
2013 KC 35 97 14 26 6 1 5 17 11 35 2 1 .268 .351 .505
2013 Tot 75 234 35 59 16 3 7 25 23 78 6 2 .252 .328 .436
2014 KC 9 18 3 3 1 0 0 1 1 8 0 1 .167 .250 .222
Career 330 786 118 178 40 7 34 105 94 283 26 9 .226 .314 .425

Postseason


w1 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.