MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Ian Kennedy
ERA W-L K
3.63 13-13 207
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 190 NFBC ADP: 268.02
Position: SPBorn: 12/19/1984 Birthplace: Huntington Beach, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 27 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Kennedy pitched seven innings for his third consecutive win, and the San Diego Padres beat the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Kennedy (13-13, 3.63 ERA) gave up one unearned run and four hits while going over 200 innings pitched for the third time in his career. He's the first San Diego right-hander to do that since current Giants pitcher Jake Peavy in 2007.
Sep. 22 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Kennedy allowed two runs over 6 2-3 innings to beat San Francisco 8-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Kennedy improved to 6-1 with a 3.66 ERA over his last 11 home starts.
Sep. 17 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Kennedy earned his 11th win Tuesday.
Analysis: Kennedy pitched six innings for the win. The right-hander allowed three runs and three hits with seven strikeouts and four walks. Kennedy had lost his previous two starts, giving up double-digit hits in both outings.
Aug. 25 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Kennedy earned his 10th win despite a generally mediocre outing Sunday, allowing three runs and eight hits over 5 2-3 innings of a 7-4 victory at Arizona.
Analysis: Kennedy hasn't been very impressive over his last seven starts, going 3-2 with a 4.66 ERA.
July 27 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE2:56 PM CT-Kennedy will miss his scheduled start against the Braves on Monday due to a left oblique strain. Manager Bud Black says converted outfielder Jason Lane will be recalled from Triple-A El Paso to make the fill-in start.
Analysis: Black says Kennedy suffered the "mild" oblique strain in an at-bat. Black said before Sunday's game Kennedy will miss the start despite being ''so close'' to being ready to pitch Sunday. Kennedy has been playing catch and is expected to start either Friday or Saturday. Kennedy is 8-9 with a 3.66 ERA and has been mentioned in trade rumors.
July 24 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Kennedy earned his eighth win of the season in Wednesday's 8-3 victory over the Cubs, giving up three runs and three hits in six innings.
Analysis: Kennedy is 3-0 with a 2.53 ERA over his last five games, pitching at least four innings four times.
July 19 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Kennedy did not get a decision Friday. He gave up four runs in five innings.
Analysis: Kennedy had surrendered just two runs in 21 innings. He faces the Cubs next week so he should cruise in that one.
July 13 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Kennedy pitched eight scoreless innings Saturday against the Los Angeles Dodgers but did not get enough support for a third straight win.
Analysis: Kennedy (7-9, 3.47 ERA) gave up three hits and four walks while striking out eight, but the Padres fell 1-0. The right-hander is 2-0 with a 0.86 ERA in his three starts this month.
July 8 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Kennedy limited Colorado to one run and four hits with nine strikeouts over seven innings in a 6-1 road victory Monday.
Analysis: Kennedy has given up just two runs in 13 innings in back-to-back victories after dropping three of his previous four outings and allowing 16 earned runs in 23 2-3 innings.
July 2 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Kennedy threw six innings of one-run ball to beat Cincinnati 8-2 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Kennedy, who had gone 0-3 with a 6.08 ERA in his previous four starts, is now 6-9 with a 3.87 mark on the season.
May 9 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Kennedy didn't receive a decision in Thursday's loss against Miami despite a dominant outing and the first home run of his career.
Analysis: Kennedy limited the Marlins to one run and four hits over seven innings while matching a career best with 12 strikeouts. The home run was especially surprising for a pitcher who entered the season with a career .178 slugging percentage.
Apr. 28 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Kennedy had his second strong outing in as many starts Sunday and earned his first win since April 6 after a 4-2 victory over Washington.
Analysis: Kennedy (2-3, 3.16 ERA) gave up three hits, struck out a season-high nine and walked none. He retired 16 straight batters at one stretch. He's allowed one run in each of the last two games and in three of his six starts this season.
Apr. 7 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Kennedy earned his first win of the season with a strong outing in a 4-2 victory over Miami on Sunday.
Analysis: Kennedy allowed one run and three hits in six innings for the Padres, who snapped a four-game slide. He also struck out five. Kennedy is 1-1 with a 3.27 ERA in his first two starts this season.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.