MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#8
Justin Upton
AVG HR RBI
.242 9 23
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 83.95
Position: LFBorn: 8/25/1987 Birthplace: Norfolk, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2005)


Latest News
May 25 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Houston Astros 6-3. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
Analysis: Upton is 0 for 16 with eight strikeouts in his last five games. He's gone 10 straight without an RBI.
May 24 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-2. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
May 22 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 1 Monday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Houston Astros 1-0. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 22 7:05 AM PT8:05 AM MT9:05 AM CT10:05 AM ET10:05 ET14:05 GMT22:05 7:05 AM MST9:05 AM EST9:35 AM VEN18:05 UAE9:05 AM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
May 20 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Texas Rangers 9-3. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
May 19 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-3. Upton scored twice. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 18 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. Upton scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 17 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 17 10:27 PM PT11:27 PM MT12:27 AM CT1:27 AM ET1:27 ET5:27 GMT13:27 10:27 PM MST12:27 AM EST12:57 AM VEN9:27 UAE12:27 AM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 13-11. Upton scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 15 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Los Angeles Angels 4-1. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Upton had a six-game hitting streak snapped. He had three home runs during the streak.
May 14 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Los Angeles Angels 4-3. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 13 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-0. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 12 6:53 AM PT7:53 AM MT8:53 AM CT9:53 AM ET9:53 ET13:53 GMT21:53 6:53 AM MST8:53 AM EST9:23 AM VEN17:53 UAE8:53 AM CT-Upton went 1 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Thursday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Los Angeles Angels 7-1. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: He's gone deep in two of the last three games.
May 11 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE11:00 AM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1. Upton scored once. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
May 10 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 8 7:02 AM PT8:02 AM MT9:02 AM CT10:02 AM ET10:02 ET14:02 GMT22:02 7:02 AM MST9:02 AM EST9:32 AM VEN18:02 UAE9:02 AM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-6. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 7 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-5. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 6 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 Friday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Oakland Athletics 7-2. Upton scored once. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
May 4 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 2 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Cleveland Indians 5-2. Upton scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
Analysis: Upton failed to get a hit for only the second time in 12 games. He's batting .320 with four homers and 12 RBIs in his last 14 contests.
May 2 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 with a double Monday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Cleveland Indians 7-1. Upton scored once. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
Analysis: The Tigers face Corey Kluber on Tuesday, and Upton has teed off on the Cleveland ace, going 5 for 12 with three homers and two doubles.
Apr. 30 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Chicago White Sox 7-3. The homer was his fifth of the season. Upton scored twice. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
Analysis: He's batting .340 with 14 RBIs in his last 15 games.
Apr. 29 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 3 with an RBI Saturday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Chicago White Sox 6-4. Upton added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Justin Upton went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Friday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Chicago White Sox 7-3. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Apr. 27 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Justin Upton went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
Analysis: Upton had a six-game hitting streak snapped. He went 8 for 22 with two homers, two doubles, five RBIs, six runs and four walks over that span.
Apr. 22 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Upton hit a solo home run on Saturday for the Tigers, who pulled out a 5-4 win over the Twins.
Analysis: Upton is hitting .360 with three homers and seven RBIs in his last seven games.
Apr. 19 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Upton (bruised right wrist) was out of the Tigers' lineup for a second straight day Thursday.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus said it's "realistic" Upton could play when the Tigers begin a three-game series at Minnesota on Friday.
Apr. 15 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Upton was 3 for 3 with a homer, three RBIs and a run scored Saturday.
Analysis: It was the first multihit performance in 10 games for Upton, but he's come alive lately. The veteran outfielder is 6 for 13 with four extra-base hits in the last four games.
Apr. 13 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Upton belted a two-run homer Thursday.
Analysis: Maybe Upton is set to put aside his ugly start to the season. His first homer of the season - he matched a career high with 31 last year - came one day after he notched his first extra-base hit with a double. He's still batting just .182.
Apr. 4 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Upton (left knee contusion) is in the Tigers' lineup for Thursday's game against the White Sox.
Analysis: The slugger exited Tuesday's season opener after six innings due to the bruise, though the injury was never believed to be a major concern.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari 43 140 17 31 8 3 2 11 11 37 2 0 .221 .283 .364
2008 Ari 108 356 52 89 19 6 15 42 54 121 1 4 .250 .353 .463
2009 Ari 138 526 84 158 30 7 26 86 55 137 20 5 .300 .366 .532
2010 Ari 133 495 73 135 27 3 17 69 64 152 18 8 .273 .356 .442
2011 Ari 159 592 105 171 39 5 31 88 59 126 21 9 .289 .369 .529
2012 Ari 150 554 107 155 24 4 17 67 63 121 18 8 .280 .355 .430
2013 Atl 149 558 94 147 27 2 27 70 75 161 8 1 .263 .354 .464
2014 Atl 154 566 77 153 34 2 29 102 60 171 8 4 .270 .342 .491
2015 SD 150 542 85 136 26 3 26 81 68 159 19 5 .251 .336 .454
2016 Det 153 570 81 140 28 2 31 87 50 179 9 4 .246 .310 .465
2017 Det 43 149 27 36 8 0 9 23 24 54 4 2 .242 .351 .477
Career 1380 5048 802 1351 270 37 230 726 583 1418 128 50 .268 .347 .472

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari Total 6 14 2 5 1 1 0 1 3 3 1 0 .357 .526 .571
    LDS 2 5 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 .600 .750 .600
    LCS 4 9 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 .222 .364 .556
2011 Ari Total 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
    LDS 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
2013 Atl Total 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
    LDS 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
Career 15 48 7 11 2 1 2 4 10 13 1 0 .229 .383 .438


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.