MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
J.A. Happ
ERA W-L K
4.10 7-7 106
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-5 / 205 NFBC ADP: 429.40
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1982 Birthplace: Peru, Illinois
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Phillies (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 25 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Happ won a second straight start for the first time since April on Monday, limiting the Marlins to four hits over six scoreless innings in a 5-2 victory.
Analysis: Happ gave up four runs over 4 1-3 innings in his Pirates debut, but has limited opponents to one earned run over 17 1-3 innings in three starts since.
Aug. 20 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Happ earned his first win with the Pirates on Wednesday by yielding two hits and two walks in six scoreless innings against Arizona.
Analysis: With the 4-1 victory, Happ is 1-1 with a 2.87 ERA in three starts since being acquired from Seattle and has allowed one run in his last 11 1-3 innings.
Aug. 1 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-The Pirates optioned left-hander Bobby LaFromboise back to Triple-A Indianapolis on Saturday to open a roster spot for Happ, who was acquired from Seattle.
Analysis: Happ joined the club in Cincinnati on Saturday. He'll move into the spot of A.J. Burnett, who is on the 15-day disabled list with inflammation in his pitching elbow. Happ went 4-6 with a 4.64 ERA in 20 starts and one relief appearance for Seattle this season.
July 31 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates added depth to their starting rotation on Friday, acquiring J.A. Happ from Seattle in exchange for minor-league pitcher Adrian Sampson.
Analysis: The 32-year-old Happ went 4-6 with a 4.64 ERA in 21 appearances for the Mariners this season, with 20 starts.
July 9 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-Seattle optioned Happ to Class A Bakersfield, allowing the Mariners the opportunity to add another bat this weekend because Happ is not scheduled to start again until after the All-Star break.
Analysis: Due to his service time, Happ had to agree to the move.
July 4 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Happ snapped a personal four-game slide Friday.
Analysis: Happ pitched six strong innings, giving up three runs and eight hits. He struck out five and walked none. "It felt good to go out for the sixth and pitch with the lead," Happ said.
June 28 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Happ took his fourth consecutive loss Saturday with a 4-2 defeat to the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Happ (3-5, 3.89 ERA) gave up four runs in seven innings. He has a 5.75 ERA in his last four starts and hasn't earned a win in nine games since May 9.
June 22 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Happ allowed three runs - two earned - in five innings Sunday.
Analysis: Happ saw his record end. He had allowed two runs or fewer in his first six home starts, which tied a club record.
June 12 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Happ was hapless Thursday.
Analysis: Happ allowed four runs, six hits and two walks in 2 1-3 innings ahead of next week's start against the World Series champion Giants. You may want to bench him for that potential mismatch.
June 6 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Happ started and went seven innings for the Mariners on Friday.
Analysis: Happ did not get a decision. He allowed six hits, walked one and struck out six. He has had three wins and six no-decisions over his past nine starts.
June 1 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Happ did not get a decision Sunday.
Analysis: Happ gave up two runs in five-plus innings in an average effort.
May 27 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Happ pitched well enough to win Tuesday.
Analysis: Happ, who is 3-0 in his last seven starts, pitched six innings, giving up seven hits and three runs before the bullpen choked away a three-run lead.
Apr. 12 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Happ was solid Saturday in his 2015 fantasy debut.
Analysis: Happ gave up two runs and seven hits in 6 1-3 innings in a dandy duel with stud Sonny Gray.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Phi 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 7 5 5 3 2 0 5 2.25 11.25
2008 Phi 1 0 0 - 0 8 4 0 31.2 28 13 13 3 14 1 26 1.33 3.69
2009 Phi 12 4 0 - 0 35 23 3 166.0 149 55 54 20 56 2 119 1.23 2.93
2010 Phi 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 13 4 3 1 12 0 9 1.63 1.76
2010 Hou 5 4 0 - 0 13 13 1 72.0 60 33 30 7 35 1 61 1.32 3.75
2010 Tot 6 4 0 - 0 16 16 1 87.1 73 37 33 8 47 1 70 1.37 3.40
2011 Hou 6 15 0 - 0 28 28 0 156.1 157 103 93 21 83 5 134 1.54 5.35
2012 Hou 7 9 0 - 0 18 18 0 104.1 112 58 56 17 39 0 98 1.45 4.83
2012 Tor 3 2 0 - 0 10 6 0 40.1 35 21 21 2 17 1 46 1.29 4.69
2012 Tot 10 11 0 - 0 28 24 0 144.2 147 79 77 19 56 1 144 1.40 4.79
2013 Tor 5 7 0 - 0 18 18 0 92.2 91 53 47 10 45 0 77 1.47 4.56
2014 Tor 11 11 0 - 0 30 26 0 158.0 160 79 74 22 51 0 133 1.34 4.22
2015 Sea 4 6 0 - 0 21 20 0 108.2 121 58 56 13 32 3 82 1.41 4.64
2015 Pit 3 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 27.1 27 6 6 1 7 0 24 1.24 1.98
2015 Tot 7 7 0 - 0 26 25 0 136.0 148 64 62 14 39 3 106 1.38 4.10
Career 58 60 0 - 0 190 165 4 976.2 960 488 458 120 393 13 814 1.39 4.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Phi 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Phi 8 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Phi 35 43 2 4 1 0 0 1 1 15 0 0 .093 .114 .116
2010 Phi 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2010 Hou 13 22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Tot 16 26 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .000 .037 .000
2011 Hou 29 43 3 7 1 0 1 4 3 17 0 0 .163 .217 .256
2012 Hou 22 32 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 16 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2012 Tot 32 32 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 16 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2014 Tor 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2015 Pit 5 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Tot 26 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .000 .100 .000
Career 195 165 8 14 2 0 1 6 9 72 0 0 .085 .132 .115

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 Phi Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.00
2009 Phi Total 0 0 0 - 0 7 1 0 6.1 8 4 4 1 6 0 8 5.68
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 3.0 6 3 3 0 2 0 4 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 0.2 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 2 1 1 1 1 0 4 3.38
Career 0 0 0 - 0 8 1 0 9.1 12 5 5 1 8 0 10 4.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Phi Total 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1483 96 88 91.8 64.87
Curveball 240 81 72 78.3 10.5
Slider 323 88 79 84.2 14.13
Changeup 240 90 82 85.3 10.5

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.