MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#12
Chase Headley
AVG HR RBI
.236 10 43
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 220 NFBC ADP: 166.70
Position: 3BBorn: 5/9/1984 Birthplace: Fountain, Colorado
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 2nd Round by Padres (2005)


Latest News
July 30 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Headley was 1 for 3 with an RBI in a 12-11 win at Texas on Tuesday.
Analysis: A change in scenery apparently has been a good thing for Headley, who has hit safely in all eight of his games with New York while driving in four runs.
July 28 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Headley hit his first homer since joining the Yankees on Sunday.
Analysis: Headley is batting .348 with three RBIs and three runs in six games with his new team.
July 26 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Headley was 3 for 4, doubled and scored a pair of runs in Friday's 6-4 win over Toronto.
Analysis: Headley is 6 for 14 with two doubles in four games with the Yankees.
July 22 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET14:08 ET18:08 GMT2:08 11:08 AM MST1:08 PM EST1:38 PM VEN22:08 UAE1:08 PM CT-Trying to add offense at third base, the New York Yankees have acquired Chase Headley from the San Diego Padres for infielder Yangervis Solarte and right-hander Rafael De Paula.
Analysis: The 30-year-old Headley can become a free agent after this season. He's hitting .229 with seven homers and 32 RBIs but has a .339 average since July 4. He was a Gold Glove winner two years ago, when he hit .286 with 31 homers and a National League-leading 115 RBIs.
July 20 11:33 AM PT12:33 PM MT1:33 PM CT2:33 PM ET14:33 ET18:33 GMT2:33 11:33 AM MST1:33 PM EST2:03 PM VEN22:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Headley had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: Like many Padres, Headley is struggling with a .652 OPS. The truth is this could be the beginning of the end for the third baseman, since he is batting a sickly .163 with two strikes.
July 11 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Headley took Los Angeles' Clayton Kershaw deep in Thursday's 2-1 loss, snapping his scoreless streak at 41 innings.
Analysis: Headley is batting .400 with three extra-base hits over the last seven games.
July 8 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Headley was 4 for 5 with his first triple of the season in a 6-1 win at Colorado on Monday.
Analysis: Headley, who tallied his 26th and 27th RBIs of the season, is hitting .462 during a six-game hitting streak.
July 5 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Headley recorded his 12th career four-hit game in Friday's 2-0 win over San Francisco, singling four times with his 25th RBI this season.
Analysis: It's still been an utterly disappointing season for Headley, who is batting just .216 with six home runs in 65 games.
May 24 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Headley went 2 for 3 with a double and three RBIs in an 11-1 win over the visiting Cubs on Friday.
Analysis: Headley, who has struggled most of the season, raised his average from .198 to .211.
Apr. 24 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Headley has come off the 15-day disabled list, coming back from a right calf strain Saturday.
Analysis: Headley returns to an offense that ranks at or near the bottom of the majors in nearly every category. The switch-hitting Headley was placed on the DL on April 25. He was hitting .186 with two home runs and seven RBIs in 70 at-bats, one of four Padres regulars hitting below .200.
Apr. 23 11:29 AM PT12:29 PM MT1:29 PM CT2:29 PM ET14:29 ET18:29 GMT2:29 11:29 AM MST1:29 PM EST1:59 PM VEN22:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Headley homered in the top of the 12th inning and San Diego relievers tossed six shutout innings in the Padres' 2-1 win Tuesday night over the Milwaukee Brewers.
Analysis: Headley, batting .200, also singled after going 3 for 21 in his previous seven games.
Apr. 16 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Headley was out of Wednesday night's starting lineup against Colorado because of a strained right biceps.
Analysis: Headley was injured in the batting cage before Tuesday night's game against the Rockies, according to Padres manager Bud Black. Headley went 0 for 4, dropping his average to .160 with one homer and four RBIs.
Apr. 12 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Headley went 2 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs in Friday's 6-0 win over Detroit.
Analysis: Headley, who also doubled, entered the night 4 for 32 with no extra-base hits. Hopefully this is a sign of things to come.
Mar. 26 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Headley leaves spring training with a healthy calf and no new contract.
Analysis: Headley said Wednesday he's "definitely 100 percent" after being slowed by a strained right calf for much of the spring. Headley also says that, as expected, there have been no breakthroughs in contract talks with the team and he's preparing to become a free agent at the end of the season.
Feb. 28 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Headley played catch Friday morning, the next step in his recovery from a strained right calf.
Analysis: Headley, who still hasn't been cleared to hit, is expected to sit out at least a couple more weeks of games.
Feb. 23 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-San Diego Padres third baseman Chase Headley will be out at least two weeks because of a calf strain, giving manager Bud Black an opportunity to look at a handful of other options. An MRI exam has confirmed a Grade 1 calf strain.
Analysis: It could be a wise move for the future with Headley already saying he's not sure the sides can come to an agreement on a long-term contract before the start of the season. Black said Sunday the team hopes to know more in the next few days about just how long Headley will be sidelined, but did say it would be at least two weeks.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 SD 8 18 1 4 1 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .222 .333 .278
2008 SD 91 331 34 89 19 2 9 38 30 104 4 1 .269 .337 .420
2009 SD 156 543 62 142 31 2 12 64 62 133 10 2 .262 .342 .392
2010 SD 161 610 77 161 29 3 11 58 56 139 17 5 .264 .327 .375
2011 SD 113 381 43 110 28 1 4 44 52 92 13 2 .289 .374 .399
2012 SD 161 604 95 173 31 2 31 115 86 157 17 6 .286 .376 .498
2013 SD 141 520 59 130 35 2 13 50 67 142 8 4 .250 .347 .400
2014 SD 77 279 27 64 12 1 7 32 22 73 4 1 .229 .296 .355
2014 NYY 36 123 13 31 6 0 3 11 17 33 2 2 .252 .348 .374
2014 Tot 113 402 40 95 18 1 10 43 39 106 6 3 .236 .313 .361
Career 944 3409 411 904 192 13 90 412 394 877 75 23 .265 .346 .408

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.