MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Joey Votto
.314 29 80
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 221 NFBC ADP: 75.88
Position: 1BBorn: 9/10/1983 Birthplace: Toronto, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Reds (2002)

Latest News
Oct. 2 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Votto has tied a Cincinnati Reds record by reaching base safely in his 48th consecutive game Friday.
Analysis: Votto singled in the third inning Friday night off Pittsburgh Pirates left-hander Francisco Liriano to match Pete Rose's mark set in 1978. Rose's run included a 44-game hitting streak, the longest in National League history. Votto also reached base for the 316th time this season, equaling the club record he set in 2013.
Sep. 27 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Votto reached base for a 43rd consecutive game Saturday by going 3 for 5 in a 10-2 loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Votto's streak is the longest for the Reds since Pete Rose's franchise-record 48 in a row in 1978. His .464 on-base percentage is second in majors behind Bryce Harper's .470, and Votto is batting .318 for his highest average in three years. Votto is batting .370 with a .545 on-base percentage and a 1.219 OPS during his streak.
Sep. 25 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Votto reached base safely for the 41st consecutive game Thursday by going 2 for 3 in a 6-4 loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Votto has matched his career high from 2010. Minnesota's Joe Mauer has the longest streak in the majors this season at 42.
Sep. 24 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Votto hit his 29th homer in a 10-2 loss to St. Louis on Wednesday.
Analysis: Votto has reached base safely in 40 straight games, one shy of his career high.
Sep. 18 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Votto will serve his suspension after it was cut to one game.
Analysis: Votto won't play Friday night against Zach Davies. Stick him back in your fantasy lineup Saturday as he battles another unknown quantity in Taylor Jungmann.
Sep. 17 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Votto was 2 for 4 with his 32nd double against San Francisco on Wednesday.
Analysis: Votto, who owns a 1.011 OPS, has made a late push into the MVP conversation.
Sep. 11 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Votto has appealed a two-game suspension for his home plate tantrum Wednesday night. Major League Baseball also fined Votto an undisclosed amount Friday.
Analysis: Votto got into an argument with umpire Bill Welke in Cincinnati's 5-4 loss to Pittsburgh. He was ejected after asking for timeout in the eighth inning following a second called strike. The 2010 NL MVP threw his batting helmet and yelled at Welke. Votto spoke about it for the first time Friday, saying he'd politely asked Welke for a timeout and was refused. Reds manager Bryan Price also was ejected.
Sep. 8 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Votto extended his hit streak to 10 games in a 3-1 win over Pittsburgh on Monday.
Analysis: Votto, tied for fifth in the NL with a .318 average, is batting .485 with three homers and eight RBIs during his streak.
Sep. 6 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET14:48 ET18:48 GMT2:48 11:48 AM MST1:48 PM EST2:18 PM VEN22:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-Votto went 3 for 7 in Cincinnati's doubleheader with Milwaukee on Saturday.
Analysis: Votto, tied for fifth in the NL with a .317 average, is batting .519 (14 for 27) with three homers and eight RBIs in his last eight games.
Sep. 3 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Votto had another multihit performance Wednesday against the Cubs, going 2 for 5 with his 27th home run and three RBIs.
Analysis: Votto is 11 for 20 during a six-game hitting streak.
Sep. 2 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Votto went 2 for 3 with his 26th home run Tuesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Votto is enjoying a great last few weeks, posting a 1.473 OPS with seven home runs, six doubles and 16 RBIs over his last 20 contests.
Aug. 30 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Votto rocked the fantasy world Saturday.
Analysis: Votto put Cincinnati ahead with a two-run home run in the ninth inning and was 3 for 5 with three RBIs.
Aug. 25 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Votto hit his 24th home run and walked three times in Monday's win against Detroit.
Analysis: It's been a vintage last month-plus for Votto, who has posted a .572 on-base percentage over his last 35 games. He has 13 doubles, eight homers and a staggering 45 walks in that span.
Aug. 22 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Votto homered and finished 2 for 3 with two runs scored Friday against Arizona.
Analysis: Votto now has four homers and nine RBIs while hitting .424 (14 for 33) over his last nine games.
Aug. 20 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Votto hit his 22nd homer Wednesday against Kansas City.
Analysis: Votto has been on fire over the last month, batting .390 with 17 RBIs in his last 31 games.
Aug. 15 11:29 AM PT12:29 PM MT1:29 PM CT2:29 PM ET14:29 ET18:29 GMT2:29 11:29 AM MST1:29 PM EST1:59 PM VEN22:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Votto went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs in Friday's loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Votto has heated up after a 4 for 29 slump to begin August. He's 6 for 12 with two homers and six RBI in three games since that rough stretch.
Aug. 13 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Votto got back on track Wednesday by going 3 for 4 with his 20th home run and three RBIs in a 7-3 win at San Diego.
Analysis: Votto had been just 4 for 30 with 12 strikeouts over his previous 10 games.
July 26 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Votto continued his hot streak Saturday, going 2 for 4 with two RBIs in a 5-2 win at Colorado.
Analysis: Votto is 18 for 31 (.581) over his last eight games.
July 25 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Votto went 3 for 5 with his 18th home run in Friday's 6-5 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Votto has gone 16 for 27 with two home runs over his last seven games.
July 23 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Votto has come out of the second half on a tear. He went 5 for 6 with a home run in Wednesday's doubleheader against the Cubs.
Analysis: Votto is 14 for 26 since the break, but he's 5 for 45 (.111) in his last 12 against the Rockies.
July 20 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Votto has gotten hot with three more hits in Sunday's 5-3, 11-inning loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: Votto has gone 6 for 8 with two doubles over his last two games.
July 8 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Votto has ended his slump. He went 3 for 5 with a home run and a double in Tuesday's 5-0 win at Washington.
Analysis: He's 5 for 10 in his last two games after going 3 for 32 over his previous nine.
June 15 12:08 PM PT1:08 PM MT2:08 PM CT3:08 PM ET15:08 ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST2:08 PM EST2:38 PM VEN23:08 UAE2:08 PM CT-Votto was 2 for 5 with his 13th double Sunday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Votto is 21 for 57 (.368) with 14 runs scored over his last 15, though he didn't cross home plate Sunday.
June 9 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Votto homered three times against the Philadelphia Phillies, matching Johnny Bench as the only Cincinnati Reds players to hit that many in a game three times.
Analysis: Votto had solo shots off Aaron Harang - who gave up four homers in all - and added a two-run blast in the seventh inning off Dustin McGowan. Votto has 13 homers totall this season.
June 8 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Voto was 2 for 4 and scored his 28th run Sunday against San Diego.
Analysis: Votto owns a .524 on-base percentage with nine runs scored in his last nine games.
June 4 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Votto was 3 for 6 with two doubles and a home run at Philadelphia on Wednesday.
Analysis: Votto is 9 for 21 with three home runs and seven RBIs in his last five games.
June 3 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Votto was 2 for 5 with his ninth double against the Phillies on Tuesday.
Analysis: Votto is hitting .286 and has drawn 28 walks to bolster a .384 on-base percentage.
May 10 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Votto had three hits in his return from suspension on Saturday.
Analysis: Votto, hitting .315 on the season, had been 0 for 6 in his previous two games before getting sat down for bumping an ump.
May 8 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Votto has been suspended for one game and fined by Major League Baseball for making contact with an umpire during Wednesday night's 3-0 victory at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The slugger will serve his suspension Friday night against the Chicago White Sox, if the teams play. Rain was forecast.
May 6 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Votto was ejected and then made contact with home plate umpire Chris Conroy during the third inning of Wednesday night's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates. After Votto struck out swinging against Gerrit Cole to end the inning, he flung his bat and helmet to the ground. Votto then said something to Conroy as he walked to his position and was ejected. Votto charged toward Conroy and the two bumped chests before Reds manager Bryan Price could intervene.
Analysis: Making contact with an umpire often results in discipline from Major League Baseball such as a suspension and fine. Votto was replaced at first base by backup catcher Brayan Pena.
May 2 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Votto is having a big series against the Atlanta Braves, going 4 for 8 with two doubles in the first two games.
Analysis: Votto is 6 for 13 with a homer and two doubles in his last four games after going hitless in 15 at-bats over his previous four.
Apr. 21 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Votto went 2 for 4 with a two-run home run in Monday's 6-1 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Votto has gotten off to a strong start, batting .375 with five homers and 12 RBIs through 13 games.
Apr. 11 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Votto continued his hot start Friday by going deep twice against St. Louis.
Analysis: Votto is hitting .412 through his first four games with eight RBIs.
Apr. 10 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Votto hit his first home run of the season Thursday versus Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Votto is off to a good start through three games, going 5 for 14 after batting a career-worst .255 in 62 games in 2014.
Apr. 9 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Votto added to his resurgent series with his first homer since May 10 and sent the Cincinnati Reds to a 3-2 victory Thursday, completing a season-opening sweep of the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Votto hit a tying two-run homer in the sixth inning. The NL's Most Valuable Player of 2010 didn't play after July 5 last season because of strained muscles above his left knee. He was 5 for 14 with four RBIs in the series.
Feb. 22 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Votto is one of the Reds' main concerns heading into the first full-squad workout Tuesday. The first baseman played in only 62 games last season - none after July 5 - because of strained muscles above his left knee.
Analysis: The first baseman had hoped to return before the end of the season, but the injury was slow to heal.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.