MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
Homer Bailey
ERA W-L K
3.71 9-5 124
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 222.00
Position: SPBorn: 5/3/1986 Birthplace: La Grange, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 4 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Bailey will undergo elbow surgery Friday to repair a torn flexor tendon. Bailey was placed on the 60-day disabled list earlier this week, ending his 2014 season. He has been on the DL since Aug. 16.
Analysis: Bailey was 9-5 with a 3.71 ERA over 23 starts. Reds head athletic trainer Paul Lessard says surgery was deemed necessary after a rehabilitation program failed to help.
Aug. 14 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-The Cincinnati Reds have moved right-hander Homer Bailey to the 60-day DL, officially ending his chance to return this season.
Analysis: Bailey has an elbow injury described as a strained right flexor mass tendon. The Reds had initially hoped Bailey would be able to rejoin the rotation this month.
Aug. 8 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Bailey allowed four hits with eight strikeouts over seven innings in Thursday's 4-0 win over visiting Cleveland.
Analysis: Bailey is 2-1 with a 1.62 ERA over his last seven starts.
Aug. 3 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Bailey allowed one run and three hits in seven innings Saturday night in a 2-1 loss in 10 innings to Miami.
Analysis: Bailey (8-5, 3.89 ERA) has not gotten a win since June 29 despite posting a 2.38 ERA in his last five starts.
July 29 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Bailey was terrific but went without a decision against Arizona on Monday.
Analysis: Bailey allowed one run and five hits over eight innings. He is 1-1 with a 2.00 ERA and 0.86 WHIP over a five-start stretch.
July 23 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE2:29 PM CT-Bailey came away without a decision in Tuesday's 4-3 loss to the Brewers, giving up three runs and four hits over six innings.
Analysis: Bailey has just one win in his last seven starts despite posting a respectable 3.57 ERA.
July 10 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Bailey left his start against the Chicago Cubs on Thursday with an apparent injury in the sixth inning. Bailey was delivering a 1-2 pitch to Starlin Castro, but he didn't throw the ball while gingerly completing his motion. After a visit from trainer Paul Lessard and manager Bryan Price, during which Bailey pointed to a spot on the mound, he walked off the field and was replaced by the right-hander Sam LeCure.
Analysis: The Reds were leading 4-3. Bailey, who entered with an 8-5 record, allowed three hits and two runs with two walks and three strikeouts. He also hit two batters while throwing 71 pitches.
June 30 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Bailey turned in his fourth career shutout Sunday, limiting San Francisco to three hits and a walk while striking out seven in a 4-0 victory.
Analysis: Despite the shutout, Bailey is still having a somewhat disappointing season overall with a 4.39 ERA. Perhaps he can find some more consistency after Sunday's dominant performance.
June 9 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Bailey allowed one run and six hits over eight solid innings in a 4-1 win over Philadelphia on Sunday.
Analysis: Bailey struck out seven en route to his seventh win of the season. He's 4-0 with a 3.00 ERA over his last four starts.
May 29 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Bailey allowed two runs and five hits over seven innings in a 3-2 win over the Dodgers on Wednesday.
Analysis: Aside from one rocky outing in Philadelphia, Bailey has gone 3-0 with a 2.66 ERA in his last three starts.
May 12 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET20:49 ET0:49 GMT8:49 5:49 PM MST7:49 PM EST8:19 PM VEN4:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Bailey allowed one run and four hits over 7 1-3 innings in a 4-1 win over visiting Colorado on Sunday.
Analysis: Bailey is 3-1 with a 3.24 ERA in his last five starts.
May 7 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Bailey didn't receive a decision following his six innings of work in Tuesday's 4-3 loss at Boston.
Analysis: Bailey gave up three runs and five hits while also walking a season-high five. His ERA improved slightly to a still bad 5.36.
May 2 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Bailey allowed three runs in eight innings to beat Milwaukee 8-3 on Thursday.
Analysis: Bailey, who lowered his ERA to 5.50, has now won two of his last three starts. He has a tough matchup awaiting him next week in Boston.
Apr. 27 12:19 PM PT1:19 PM MT2:19 PM CT3:19 PM ET15:19 ET19:19 GMT3:19 12:19 PM MST2:19 PM EST2:49 PM VEN23:19 UAE2:19 PM CT-Cincinnati manager Bryan Price and Bailey were ejected in the first inning of Sunday's game against Atlanta after a replay ruling went against them.
Analysis: Bailey, who argued from the Reds' dugout, was tossed but he didn't start this game anyway so fantasy owners can rest easy.
Apr. 26 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Bailey had another rough start Friday at Atlanta, suffering his second loss of the season.
Analysis: Bailey gave up five runs and nine hits in six innings while recording only four strikeouts. Owners are surely disappointed after Bailey appeared to figure things out in his last start when he threw six scoreless against the Cubs.
Apr. 21 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Bailey earned his first victory of the season Sunday against the Cubs, yielding six hits over six shutout innings and striking out eight.
Analysis: Bailey owners are relieved, to say the least, after he posted an 8.16 ERA over his first three starts.
Apr. 16 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Bailey was subpar Monday.
Analysis: Bailey struck out nine in five innings but also allowed five runs. He'll start this weekend at Wrigley Field against the Cubs, weather permitting.
Apr. 9 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Bailey did not get a decision Tuesday.
Analysis: Bailey has permitted eight runs on 16 hits and five walks in 9 1-3 innings after he had a poor five-inning stint. It may be worth cutting him loose now before things get even worse.
Apr. 4 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Bailey was awful Thursday for the Reds.
Analysis: Bailey was tagged for four runs over 4 1-3 innings. His next start is also against the NL champs next week so fantasy owners should buckle up.
Mar. 15 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Bailey was scratched with a sore right groin Saturday.
Analysis: Bailey, who signed a six-year, $105 million contract extension on Feb. 20, is listed as day-to-day. Reds manager Bryan Price said the strain was not significant and the decision to sit Bailey was a precaution.
Feb. 19 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-The Cincinnati Reds agreed with starter Homer Bailey on a six-year, $105 million contract a day before his scheduled arbitration hearing.
Analysis: The hard-throwing Texan went a career-best 13-10 with a 3.68 ERA in 2012, completing his breakthrough season by throwing a no-hitter in Pittsburgh. He threw the 16th no-hitter in franchise history last June, a 3-0 win over San Francisco at Great American Ball Park. Bailey went 11-12 with a 3.49 ERA last year.
Feb. 17 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Bailey says he's "really close" to getting a deal, with details of a contract left to be worked out. Bailey is the last Reds player left in arbitration, with a hearing scheduled for Friday in Florida. Bailey says he doesn't own a suit and would have to buy one if there's no deal by then. But he expects to have one in place in the next few days. He wouldn't confirm reports that the sides are negotiating on a six-year deal.
Analysis: Bailey went 11-12 last season with a 3.49 ERA. He also threw his second no-hitter in two seasons. The 27-year-old pitcher made $5,350,000 last season. He asked for $11.6 million in arbitration and the Reds offered $8.7 million.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Cin 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 45.1 43 32 29 3 28 1 28 1.57 5.76
2008 Cin 0 6 0 - 0 8 8 0 36.1 59 36 32 8 17 1 18 2.09 7.93
2009 Cin 8 5 0 - 0 20 20 0 113.1 115 61 57 12 52 1 86 1.47 4.53
2010 Cin 4 3 0 - 0 19 19 1 109.0 109 55 54 11 40 6 100 1.37 4.46
2011 Cin 9 7 0 - 0 22 22 0 132.0 136 68 65 18 33 2 106 1.28 4.43
2012 Cin 13 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 208.0 206 97 85 26 52 3 168 1.24 3.68
2013 Cin 11 12 0 - 0 32 32 2 209.0 181 85 81 20 54 2 199 1.12 3.49
2014 Cin 9 5 0 - 0 23 23 1 145.2 134 60 60 16 45 1 124 1.23 3.71
Career 58 50 0 - 0 166 166 6 998.2 983 494 463 114 321 17 829 1.31 4.17

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Cin 9 11 3 3 1 0 0 2 0 5 0 0 .273 .273 .364
2008 Cin 8 10 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .100 .100 .200
2009 Cin 22 38 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 17 0 0 .079 .079 .079
2010 Cin 19 33 1 7 0 0 0 2 2 15 0 0 .212 .257 .212
2011 Cin 23 39 7 11 2 0 0 2 1 11 0 0 .282 .300 .333
2012 Cin 34 70 1 8 1 0 0 5 1 29 0 0 .114 .127 .129
2013 Cin 32 58 3 9 1 0 0 1 3 18 0 0 .155 .210 .172
2014 Cin 23 41 3 6 0 0 0 3 2 18 0 0 .146 .186 .146
Career 170 300 18 48 6 0 0 17 9 118 0 0 .160 .187 .180

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
2012 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 1 1 1 0 1 0 10 1.29
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 1 1 1 0 1 0 10 1.29
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 3 1 1 0 1 0 12 1.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Cin Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1330 98 89 94.2 58.54
Curveball 170 83 75 79.5 7.48
Slider 501 92 81 87 22.05
Split-Finger 271 89 82 86.1 11.93

w9 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.