MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Yunel Escobar
.314 9 56
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 215 NFBC ADP: 453.99
Position: 3BBorn: 11/2/1982 Birthplace: Havana, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2005)

Latest News
Oct. 1 11:21 PM PT12:21 AM MT1:21 AM CT2:21 AM ET2:21 ET6:21 GMT14:21 11:21 PM MST1:21 AM EST1:51 AM VEN10:21 UAE1:21 AM CT-Escobar returned to the starting lineup Saturday, going 0 for 3 versus the Mets.
Analysis: Escobar had been dealing with a back injury.
Sep. 25 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Escobar had three hits and drove in a pair of runs in a 5-4 loss to Baltimore on Thursday.
Analysis: Escobar, third in the NL with a .326 average, is batting .421 with a .975 OPS while hitting safely in 21 of his last 24 games.
Sep. 21 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Escobar rocked the fantasy world Sunday.
Analysis: Escobar had four hits and four RBIs to give him a sizzling .423 average in his last 17 games.
Sep. 17 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 5 with his 23rd double and two RBIs on Wednesday against the Phillies.
Analysis: Escobar's .804 OPS is his highest since he posted a .812 mark in 2009 for Atlanta. He's finishing his season in strong fashion, batting .425 with 13 RBIs in his last 21 games.
Sep. 12 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Escobar (stomach bug) returned to the lineup Sunday.
Analysis: He was 1 for 4 and is batting .446 in his last 18 games.
Sep. 12 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Escobar continued his hot hitting with a 2 for 4 effort Friday at Miami.
Analysis: He's hit safely in 12 of his last 13 games and is batting a torrid .460 (23 for 50) over that stretch.
Sep. 9 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Escobar is out for Wednesday's series finale against the New York Mets.
Analysis: Washington manager Matt Williams said his third baseman had a fever of 103 degrees on Tuesday.
Sep. 9 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Escobar was 3 for 5 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Escobar is hitting .320 with the Nats.
Sep. 7 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Escobar was 3 for 5 against the Braves on Sunday.
Analysis: Escobar is batting .438 in his last 14 games.
Sep. 4 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Escobar had three hits and drove in three runs in a 15-1 rout of Atlanta on Thursday.
Analysis: Escobar, eighth in the NL with a .312 average, is batting .444 with 10 RBIs in his last 11 games.
Aug. 28 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Escobar is out of the lineup Friday, one day after getting hit by a pitch on the right hand.
Analysis: The Washington Nationals third baseman is considered day to day.
Aug. 21 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Escobar has left Friday's game against Milwaukee due to an apparent injury suffered trying to catch a foul ball in the first inning.
Analysis: Escobar raced after Adam Lind's popup as it sailed toward seats down the left-field line. The ball dropped on the warning track, and Escobar bumped the wall with his left thigh before his head jerked back upon hitting a fan's chest. Escobar sat up against the wall and held his neck, and received a visit from manager Matt Williams and a member of Washington's training staff, who checked him and eventually escorted him into the dugout.
Aug. 19 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Escobar went 3 for 4 with a home run, drove in four runs and scored four in a 15-6 win in Colorado on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Escobar, batting .305, was 6 for 40 (.150) in his previous 10 games.
July 26 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Escobar return to the lineup Saturday, going 3 for 5 with two doubles in a 9-3 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Escobar, who had been out a couple days with a wrist injury, is batting .405 over his last 11 games.
July 22 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Escobar has left Wednesday's game against the New York Mets during his at-bat in the second with an apparent injury.
Analysis: Escobar tried stopping his swing on a 1-1 pitch from Noah Syndergaard. He screamed in pain, flung his bat and fell to the ground. After trainer Lee Kuntz examined Escobar's left wrist, Escobar fouled the next pitch down the left field line. He then immediately walked to the dugout and was replaced by Dan Uggla.
June 22 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 5 Sunday with his fourth home run of the season.
Analysis: Escobar is batting .382 with 12 RBIs in his last 13 games.
June 19 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Escobar got five hits on Thursday.
Analysis: Escobar got five hits for the third time this season.
June 10 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 4 with a double Tuesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: Escobar has hit .354 with 16 runs scored over his last 26 contests.
June 8 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Escobar had three hits and drove in a run in a 6-3 loss to the Chicago Cubs on Sunday.
Analysis: It was the fifth multihit performance in eight games for Escobar, seventh in the NL with a .325 average. He's 11 for 27 (.407) during that stretch.
June 4 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Escobar has left the game against the Chicago Cubs after one inning.
Analysis: Escobar struck out Thursday night against Jake Arrieta while attempting to check his swing, ending the first inning. When the Nationals took the field in the second, Anthony Rendon moved from second base to third and Danny Espinosa entered to play second. There was no immediate announcement from the Nationals regarding Escobar's condition.
June 4 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 4 Wednesday versus Toronto on Wednesday.
Analysis: Escobar has put together four two-hit performances in his last six games.
May 12 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-On Monday, Escobar went 5 for 5 for the second time in seven games and is batting .577 in that span.
Analysis: Escobar is the first Major League player to have five hits in games played one week apart since Ichiro Suzuki did it with the Mariners in 2004, and the first National Leaguer to do it since San Francisco's Robby Thompson in 1993.
Apr. 18 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Escobar was removed before the top of the fifth inning Friday after straining his groin running out a grounder that ended the fourth.
Analysis: His status going forward is uncertain.
Mar. 7 8:03 AM PT9:03 AM MT10:03 AM CT11:03 AM ET11:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE10:03 AM CT-Escobar has a strained side and will be sidelined seven to 10 days.
Analysis: The injury is a Grade 1 left oblique strain, and Manager Matt Williams said Saturday the team is being cautious. He anticipates Escobar returning to spring training games and being ready for opening day.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.