MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#53
Eric Stults
ERA W-L K
4.30 8-17 111
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 225 NFBC ADP: 421.76
Position: SPBorn: 12/9/1979 Birthplace: Plymouth, Indiana
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 15th Round by Dodgers (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 28 11:18 AM PT12:18 PM MT1:18 PM CT2:18 PM ET14:18 ET18:18 GMT2:18 11:18 AM MST1:18 PM EST1:48 PM VEN22:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-Stults did not get a decision Saturday.
Analysis: Stults allowed one run and six hits in seven innings. Stults has received an average of 2.91 runs of support, the second-lowest mark in the majors among qualifying pitchers, so he is better than his won-loss record suggests.
Sep. 23 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Stults pitched effectively into the seventh inning and the San Diego Padres won their fifth straight game, beating the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Monday night.
Analysis: Stults (8-17, 4.42 ERA), tied with Philadelphia right-hander A.J. Burnett for the major league lead in losses, scattered seven hits and a walk over 6 1-3 innings in beating the Rockies for the first time this season after two defeats.
Aug. 10 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Stults pitched another good game Saturday, allowing one run over 6 1-3 innings in a 2-1 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Stults, who is 5-13 with a 4.76 ERA, has allowed one earned run over 12 2-3 innings while winning his last two starts.
Aug. 2 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Stults and three relievers combined on a four-hitter as the San Diego Padres beat the Atlanta Braves 10-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Stults (4-13, 4.94 ERA) won for just the second time in his last 11 starts. He didn't allow a hit until the fourth, when a two-base error by right fielder Jeff Francoeur on B.J. Upton's fly ball to the warning track led to an unearned run. Chris Johnson hit an RBI single with two outs.
July 28 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Stults's nightmare season continued Sunday as he fell to 3-13, surrendering six runs over six innings in an 8-3 loss at Atlanta.
Analysis: Stults is just 1-10 over his last 13 starts. Though he didn't deserve many victories in that span given his 5.32 ERA, San Diego's offense didn't do him any favors, supplying him with a 2.28 run-support average.
July 23 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Stults suffered his 12th loss of the season Tuesday against the Cubs, yielding three runs and six hits over five innings.
Analysis: Stults is 1-9 with a 4.98 ERA over his last 12 starts while averaging 2.08 runs of support.
July 10 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Stults gave up three runs in five innings and didn't receive a decision in Wednesday's 6-3 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Stults received three runs of support and has gotten an average of just 2.3 while going 1-8 in his last 11 outings.
July 5 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Stults, who had lost his last eight decisions, earned his third win of the season Friday after limiting San Francisco to four hits over seven innings in a 2-0 victory.
Analysis: Stults owns a 1.86 ERA over his last three games, though he lost the first two while receiving two runs of support over 12 1-3 innings.
June 23 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Stults moved into a tie for the big-league lead with his 10th defeat Sunday.
Analysis: Stults rebounded from a string of six straight subpar starts as he allowed two runs on six hits in a season-high seven innings. He struck out five and walked three. His 11th defeat could come next weekend against lowly Arizona.
June 4 11:20 PM PT12:20 AM MT1:20 AM CT2:20 AM ET2:20 ET6:20 GMT14:20 11:20 PM MST1:20 AM EST1:50 AM VEN10:20 UAE1:20 AM CT-Stults was back on the mound for the Padres on Thursday.
Analysis: Stults was placed on the bereavement list last week.
May 12 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Stults won for the first time in four starts Saturday, improving to 1-0 after a solid showing versus Miami.
Analysis: Stults gave up two runs and six hits over six innings while striking out four, lowering his ERA from 5.40 to 5.03.
May 6 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Stults did not get a decision Monday.
Analysis: Stults had his second tough outing as he lasted just 4 2-3 innings, allowing three runs and 11 hits. The left-hander tied a season high by allowing five runs over 2 2-3 innings - his shortest start since April 2009 - in his last start.
Apr. 20 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Stults recorded his first win of the season Saturday against San Francisco.
Analysis: Stults limited the Giants to a run and three hits over six innings. Stults owns a 4.35 ERA in four outings.
Apr. 15 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Stults did not get a decision Monday.
Analysis: Stults allowed four runs - three earned - on nine hits over five innings. He draws the Giants in his next start.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.