MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Miguel Montero
AVG HR RBI
.231 5 11
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 5-11 / 210 NFBC ADP: 454.81
Position: CBorn: 7/9/1983 Birthplace: Caracas, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Diamondbacks (2001)


Latest News
Aug. 2 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Chicago White Sox 5-1. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Montero left the game with a right groin strain after fielding a grounder in the sixth inning and was later placed on the DL.
July 30 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the Los Angeles Angels 11-10. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
July 29 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 2 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Los Angeles Angels 6-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. Montero scored twice. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
July 27 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Oakland Athletics 8-4. Montero scored once. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
July 26 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the Oakland Athletics 3-2. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
July 21 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Cleveland Indians 13-3. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
July 17 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 5 Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Detroit Tigers 6-5. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
July 15 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Detroit Tigers 11-1. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
July 9 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 19-1. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: He's 0 for 9 in his career with the Jays.
July 7 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 3 Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Houston Astros 12-2. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
July 5 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the New York Yankees 7-6. Montero scored once. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
July 4 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-The Blue Jays activated Montero prior to Tuesday's game against the Yankees.
Analysis: Backup catcher Luke Maile was placed on the 10-day disabled list with right knee inflammation to make room for Montero, who was acquired on Monday after being designated for assignment by the Cubs. Montero is expected to serve as the backup catcher to Russell Martin.
July 3 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Montero was traded to the Toronto Blue Jays after being designated for assignment by the Chicago Cubs last week. The veteran catcher learned of the trade on Monday, five days after he was released in the midst of a public spat started when Montero criticized Jake Arrieta for allowing seven stolen bases in a loss to the Washington Nationals. Montero is 0-for-31 throwing out baserunners this season.
Analysis: The 33-year-old was primarily a backup to Willson Contreras in Chicago. Cubs president Theo Epstein labeled Montero a "bad teammate" in explaining the decision to release him. He was batting .286 with four home runs and eight RBIs in 44 games.
June 28 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Montero has been designated for assignment, a day after publicly blaming starter Jake Arrieta for the seven stolen bases Washington swiped off him.
Analysis: Montero unloaded on Arrieta for his slow delivery not giving him a chance to throw out baserunners. ''It really sucked because the stolen bases go to me, and when you really look at it, the pitcher doesn't give me any time,'' Montero said. ''So it's just like, `Yeah ok Miggy can't throw nobody out,' but my pitcher doesn't hold anybody on." Montero has caught just 1 of 32 attempted base stealers but is batting .286, so it seems likely another team will claim him.
June 27 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 6-1. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
June 25 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 2 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 4-2. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
June 23 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 2-0. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
June 21 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
June 20 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Diego Padres 4-0. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
June 15 9:50 AM PT10:50 AM MT11:50 AM CT12:50 PM ET12:50 ET16:50 GMT0:50 9:50 AM MST11:50 AM EST12:20 PM VEN20:50 UAE11:50 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 9-4. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
June 12 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Monday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 6-1. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
June 11 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 7-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
June 10 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-1. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
June 9 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-3. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
June 8 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
June 5 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6. Montero scored once. He ended the game with a .306 batting average.
June 2 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 2 Friday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .314 batting average.
May 31 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2. He ended the game with a .309 batting average.
May 30 11:00 AM PT12:00 PM MT1:00 PM CT2:00 PM ET14:00 ET18:00 GMT2:00 11:00 AM MST1:00 PM EST1:30 PM VEN22:00 UAE1:00 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 5-2. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
May 28 7:39 AM PT8:39 AM MT9:39 AM CT10:39 AM ET10:39 ET14:39 GMT22:39 7:39 AM MST9:39 AM EST10:09 AM VEN18:39 UAE9:39 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0. He ended the game with a .328 batting average.
May 25 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Francisco Giants 5-1. He ended the game with a .328 batting average.
May 25 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 2 for 3 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-4. Montero scored once. He ended the game with a .328 batting average.
May 19 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. He ended the game with a .309 batting average.
May 18 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. Montero scored twice. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
May 14 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0. He ended the game with a .327 batting average.
May 13 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. He ended the game with a .347 batting average.
May 10 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-0. He ended the game with a .354 batting average.
May 9 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .378 batting average.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Yankees 5-4. He ended the game with a .390 batting average.
May 6 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 1 with two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 11-6. He ended the game with a .400 batting average.
Analysis: Montero, who is 8 for 16 with two homers and five RBIs over his last seven games, also pitched for the second straight season. He issued two walks but pitched a scoreless ninth inning.
May 4 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .385 batting average.
Analysis: Montero is off to an outstanding start, but he's not going to get enough playing time to warrant a fantasy roster unless something happens to Willson Contreras.
May 4 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE12:36 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 1 for 2 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. He ended the game with a .389 batting average.
May 2 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Miguel Montero went 0 for 1 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. He ended the game with a .382 batting average.
Apr. 29 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Miguel Montero went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Boston Red Sox 7-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .394 batting average.
Analysis: Montero is 13 for 22 (.591) with two homers and six runs over his last eight games.
Apr. 18 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Montero went 3 for 4 with a his first home run of the season and two RBIs Tuesday against Milwaukee.
Analysis: Montero is 5 for 7 in his last two games after an 0-for-11 skid to start the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.