MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#1
Alberto Callaspo
AVG HR RBI
.223 4 39
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 5-9 / 225 NFBC ADP: 529.81
Position: 2BBorn: 4/19/1983 Birthplace: Maracay, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2001)


Latest News
Dec. 15 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Callaspo and the Atlanta Braves have finalized a one-year contract. The deal was agreed to last week at the winter meetings and announced Monday.
Analysis: The 31-year-old Callaspo should provide versatility in the infield. He played second base, first base and third base this year for Oakland. Callaspo and Phil Gosselin could compete for the starting job at second base with top prospect Jose Peraza. Atlanta traded second baseman Tommy La Stella to the Cubs for right-handed reliever Luis Vizcaino last month. Callaspo also could play behind Chris Johnson at third base.
Dec. 9 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET20:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-A person familiar with the negotiations says the Atlanta Braves have agreed to a one-year contract with free-agent infielder Alberto Callaspo.
Analysis: The 31-year-old Callaspo played second base, first base and third base this year for Oakland. He hit .223, well below his .267 career average. A year earlier, he batted .258 with 10 homers for the Athletics and Los Angeles Angels.
July 12 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Callaspo was activated by the Oakland Athletics on Sunday, the first day the infielder was eligible to come off the 15-day disabled list.
Analysis: Callaspo had been on the DL since July 12 because of a strained right hamstring. He has started more than a dozen games each at first, second and third this season.
July 8 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Callaspo had two hits with a two-run double Monday.
Analysis: Callaspo is not a fantasy threat with a .624 OPS.
June 13 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-The Oakland Athletics have placed infielder Alberto Callaspo on the paternity list.
Analysis: Callaspo is batting .218 with three home runs and 20 RBIs.
May 1 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Callaspo enjoyed a strong fantasy effort in a 12-1 rout of the awful Rangers.
Analysis: Callaspo had three hits for the second time this season in a surprising effort for the .269 hitter.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.