MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Ben Zobrist
AVG HR RBI
.252 5 17
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 182.88
Position: 2BBorn: 5/26/1981 Birthplace: Eureka, Illinois
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 6th Round by Astros (2004)


Latest News
May 21 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist is now 6 for 15 in four games after missing two with lower back tightness.
May 19 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist, who missed some time recently due to back spasms, is 6 for 11 in his last four games.
May 18 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist had two hits for the second day in a row after missing two games with lower back tightness.
May 18 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 3 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. Zobrist scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 16 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Zobrist (back spasms) is back in the lineup Wednesday against the Reds.
Analysis: Zobrist pinch-hit Saturday in St. Louis before sitting out Sunday and Tuesday.
May 13 6:02 PM PT7:02 PM MT8:02 PM CT9:02 PM ET21:02 ET1:02 GMT9:02 6:02 PM MST8:02 PM EST8:32 PM VEN5:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
May 13 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Zobrist (back) is not in the lineup Saturday at St. Louis.
Analysis: He's mired in a 4-for-25 rut over his last seven games.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
May 10 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 3-0. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 8-1. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
May 9 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist had his 10-game hitting streak snapped. He was 11 for 39 (.282) with five extra-base hits and five RBIs over that stretch.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Yankees 5-4. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist extended his hitting streak to 10 games, but in the last nine he's had just a single hit.
May 6 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a triple and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 11-6. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist pushed his hitting streak to nine games. He's 10 for 34 with a homer, three doubles and five RBIs over that stretch.
May 5 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist pushed his hitting streak to eight games. He's 9 for 29 (.310) with a homer, three doubles and four RBIs over that stretch.
May 4 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 2 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 4 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. Zobrist scored once. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
May 3 11:08 PM PT12:08 AM MT1:08 AM CT2:08 AM ET2:08 ET6:08 GMT14:08 11:08 PM MST1:08 AM EST1:38 AM VEN10:08 UAE1:08 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3.
Analysis: Zobrist is starting to find his stroke, totaling a homer and three doubles during a five-game hitting streak, raising his average 25 points to .222.
May 2 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
May 1 6:43 AM PT7:43 AM MT8:43 AM CT9:43 AM ET9:43 ET13:43 GMT21:43 6:43 AM MST8:43 AM EST9:13 AM VEN17:43 UAE8:43 AM CT-Zobrist went 1 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Boston Red Sox 6-2. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist has fanned 16 times this season. Not good for a guy known for being a solid, disciplined hitter.
Apr. 29 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Boston Red Sox 7-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist is 3 for 9 with three RBIs over his last two games after going 3 for 19 in his previous six contests.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Apr. 24 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Zobrist had three RBIs for Chicago in Monday's 14-3 win over the Pirates.
Analysis: Zobrist doubled for the second time in as many games after missing the Cubs' previous two contests with a stiff back.
Apr. 22 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Zobrist returned from a two-game absence and went 2 for 4 with a double and two runs scored in the Cubs' loss at Cincinnati on Sunday.
Analysis: The versatile veteran made his first appearance in the series after being held out with a stiff back. Zobrist has gotten off to a slow start, as he entered Sunday's matchup with a .188 average and five RBIs through 14 games.
Apr. 8 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Zobrist hit his first home run of the season Friday and drew a walk.
Analysis: Zobrist has reached base in all of Chicago's games despite going just 2 for 12 at the plate.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 TB 52 183 10 41 6 2 2 18 10 26 2 3 .224 .260 .311
2007 TB 31 97 8 15 2 0 1 9 3 21 2 0 .155 .184 .206
2008 TB 62 198 32 50 10 2 12 30 25 37 3 0 .253 .339 .505
2009 TB 152 501 91 149 28 7 27 91 91 104 17 6 .297 .405 .543
2010 TB 151 541 77 129 28 2 10 75 92 107 24 3 .238 .346 .353
2011 TB 156 588 99 158 46 6 20 91 77 128 19 6 .269 .353 .469
2012 TB 157 560 88 151 39 7 20 74 97 103 14 9 .270 .377 .471
2013 TB 157 612 77 168 36 3 12 71 72 91 11 3 .275 .354 .402
2014 TB 146 570 83 155 34 3 10 52 75 84 10 5 .272 .354 .395
2015 Oak 67 235 39 63 20 2 6 33 33 26 1 1 .268 .354 .447
2015 KC 59 232 37 66 16 1 7 23 29 30 2 3 .284 .364 .453
2015 Tot 126 467 76 129 36 3 13 56 62 56 3 4 .276 .359 .450
2016 ChC 147 523 94 142 31 3 18 76 96 82 6 4 .272 .386 .446
2017 ChC 38 131 16 33 6 2 5 17 18 25 0 0 .252 .347 .443
Career 1375 4971 751 1320 302 40 150 660 718 864 111 43 .266 .358 .433

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 7 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .091 .231 .091
    LCS 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    WS 4 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .143 .250 .143
2010 TB Total 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
    LDS 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
2011 TB Total 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
    LDS 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
2013 TB Total 5 18 3 3 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .167 .250 .333
    WC 1 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 4 14 2 2 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .143 .250 .357
2015 KC Total 16 66 15 20 8 0 2 6 7 6 1 0 .303 .365 .515
    LDS 5 18 2 6 1 0 0 2 2 2 1 0 .333 .381 .389
    LCS 6 25 8 8 3 0 2 4 2 2 0 0 .320 .370 .680
    WS 5 23 5 6 4 0 0 0 3 2 0 0 .261 .346 .435
2016 ChC Total 17 64 9 16 5 1 0 5 7 11 0 0 .250 .319 .359
    LDS 4 16 1 3 2 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .188 .188 .313
    LCS 6 20 3 3 1 0 0 1 4 3 0 0 .150 .280 .200
    WS 7 28 5 10 2 1 0 2 3 4 0 0 .357 .419 .500
Career 54 196 31 50 15 1 4 14 20 31 1 0 .255 .324 .403


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.