MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Ben Zobrist
AVG HR RBI
.266 6 18
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 182.88
Position: 2BBorn: 5/26/1981 Birthplace: Eureka, Illinois
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 6th Round by Astros (2004)


Latest News
May 25 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 3 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-1. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist reached base for the 22nd straight game, one shy of his career high set with Tampa Bay in 2011. He's 13 for 28 with three homers and five RBIs during an eight-game hitting streak.
May 24 6:30 AM PT7:30 AM MT8:30 AM CT9:30 AM ET9:30 ET13:30 GMT21:30 6:30 AM MST8:30 AM EST9:00 AM VEN17:30 UAE8:30 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 4-1. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 23 7:11 AM PT8:11 AM MT9:11 AM CT10:11 AM ET10:11 ET14:11 GMT22:11 7:11 AM MST9:11 AM EST9:41 AM VEN18:11 UAE9:11 AM CT-Zobrist went 2 for 4 with a triple, a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-4. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist has homered in back-to-back games, and is 9 for 20 in the last six.
May 21 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist is now 6 for 15 in four games after missing two with lower back tightness.
May 19 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist, who missed some time recently due to back spasms, is 6 for 11 in his last four games.
May 18 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist had two hits for the second day in a row after missing two games with lower back tightness.
May 18 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 3 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. Zobrist scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 16 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Zobrist (back spasms) is back in the lineup Wednesday against the Reds.
Analysis: Zobrist pinch-hit Saturday in St. Louis before sitting out Sunday and Tuesday.
May 13 6:02 PM PT7:02 PM MT8:02 PM CT9:02 PM ET21:02 ET1:02 GMT9:02 6:02 PM MST8:02 PM EST8:32 PM VEN5:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
May 13 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Zobrist (back) is not in the lineup Saturday at St. Louis.
Analysis: He's mired in a 4-for-25 rut over his last seven games.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
May 10 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 3-0. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 8-1. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
May 9 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist had his 10-game hitting streak snapped. He was 11 for 39 (.282) with five extra-base hits and five RBIs over that stretch.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Yankees 5-4. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist extended his hitting streak to 10 games, but in the last nine he's had just a single hit.
May 6 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a triple and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 11-6. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist pushed his hitting streak to nine games. He's 10 for 34 with a homer, three doubles and five RBIs over that stretch.
May 5 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist pushed his hitting streak to eight games. He's 9 for 29 (.310) with a homer, three doubles and four RBIs over that stretch.
May 4 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 2 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 4 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. Zobrist scored once. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
May 3 11:08 PM PT12:08 AM MT1:08 AM CT2:08 AM ET2:08 ET6:08 GMT14:08 11:08 PM MST1:08 AM EST1:38 AM VEN10:08 UAE1:08 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3.
Analysis: Zobrist is starting to find his stroke, totaling a homer and three doubles during a five-game hitting streak, raising his average 25 points to .222.
May 2 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
May 1 6:43 AM PT7:43 AM MT8:43 AM CT9:43 AM ET9:43 ET13:43 GMT21:43 6:43 AM MST8:43 AM EST9:13 AM VEN17:43 UAE8:43 AM CT-Zobrist went 1 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Boston Red Sox 6-2. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist has fanned 16 times this season. Not good for a guy known for being a solid, disciplined hitter.
Apr. 29 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-Ben Zobrist went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Boston Red Sox 7-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Analysis: Zobrist is 3 for 9 with three RBIs over his last two games after going 3 for 19 in his previous six contests.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Ben Zobrist went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Apr. 24 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Zobrist had three RBIs for Chicago in Monday's 14-3 win over the Pirates.
Analysis: Zobrist doubled for the second time in as many games after missing the Cubs' previous two contests with a stiff back.
Apr. 22 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Zobrist returned from a two-game absence and went 2 for 4 with a double and two runs scored in the Cubs' loss at Cincinnati on Sunday.
Analysis: The versatile veteran made his first appearance in the series after being held out with a stiff back. Zobrist has gotten off to a slow start, as he entered Sunday's matchup with a .188 average and five RBIs through 14 games.
Apr. 8 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Zobrist hit his first home run of the season Friday and drew a walk.
Analysis: Zobrist has reached base in all of Chicago's games despite going just 2 for 12 at the plate.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 TB 52 183 10 41 6 2 2 18 10 26 2 3 .224 .260 .311
2007 TB 31 97 8 15 2 0 1 9 3 21 2 0 .155 .184 .206
2008 TB 62 198 32 50 10 2 12 30 25 37 3 0 .253 .339 .505
2009 TB 152 501 91 149 28 7 27 91 91 104 17 6 .297 .405 .543
2010 TB 151 541 77 129 28 2 10 75 92 107 24 3 .238 .346 .353
2011 TB 156 588 99 158 46 6 20 91 77 128 19 6 .269 .353 .469
2012 TB 157 560 88 151 39 7 20 74 97 103 14 9 .270 .377 .471
2013 TB 157 612 77 168 36 3 12 71 72 91 11 3 .275 .354 .402
2014 TB 146 570 83 155 34 3 10 52 75 84 10 5 .272 .354 .395
2015 Oak 67 235 39 63 20 2 6 33 33 26 1 1 .268 .354 .447
2015 KC 59 232 37 66 16 1 7 23 29 30 2 3 .284 .364 .453
2015 Tot 126 467 76 129 36 3 13 56 62 56 3 4 .276 .359 .450
2016 ChC 147 523 94 142 31 3 18 76 96 82 6 4 .272 .386 .446
2017 ChC 40 139 17 37 6 2 6 18 18 26 0 0 .266 .354 .468
Career 1377 4979 752 1324 302 40 151 661 718 865 111 43 .266 .358 .434

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 7 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .091 .231 .091
    LCS 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    WS 4 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .143 .250 .143
2010 TB Total 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
    LDS 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
2011 TB Total 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
    LDS 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
2013 TB Total 5 18 3 3 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .167 .250 .333
    WC 1 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 4 14 2 2 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .143 .250 .357
2015 KC Total 16 66 15 20 8 0 2 6 7 6 1 0 .303 .365 .515
    LDS 5 18 2 6 1 0 0 2 2 2 1 0 .333 .381 .389
    LCS 6 25 8 8 3 0 2 4 2 2 0 0 .320 .370 .680
    WS 5 23 5 6 4 0 0 0 3 2 0 0 .261 .346 .435
2016 ChC Total 17 64 9 16 5 1 0 5 7 11 0 0 .250 .319 .359
    LDS 4 16 1 3 2 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .188 .188 .313
    LCS 6 20 3 3 1 0 0 1 4 3 0 0 .150 .280 .200
    WS 7 28 5 10 2 1 0 2 3 4 0 0 .357 .419 .500
Career 54 196 31 50 15 1 4 14 20 31 1 0 .255 .324 .403


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.