MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Matt Garza
ERA W-L K
4.81 6-7 67
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215 NFBC ADP: 670.97
Position: SPBorn: 11/26/1983 Birthplace: Selma, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 19 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 6-7, allowing eight runs - seven earned - on nine hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-4 on Friday. Garza struck out two, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza is 2-6 with a 6.90 ERA in eight starts against the Rockies and is 0-4 with a 10.02 ERA in four starts at Coors Field.
Aug. 14 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Matt Garza improved to 6-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and five walks in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-4 on Sunday. Garza struck out two, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This was hardly a vintage effort from Garza, though it was way better than being rocked for eight runs in 3 1/3 innings like he was in his previous start at Minnesota. The veteran right-hander won't be a highly appealing option when he next takes the mound Saturday at Colorado.
Aug. 9 9:34 AM PT10:34 AM MT11:34 AM CT12:34 PM ET12:34 ET16:34 GMT0:34 9:34 AM MST11:34 AM EST12:04 PM VEN20:34 UAE11:34 AM CT-Matt Garza fell to 5-6, allowing eight runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Minnesota Twins 11-4 on Tuesday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was easily the worst start of the season for Garza, who served up four home runs against the team which drafted him. He had allowed only one homer in his previous five starts combined while posting a 2.00 ERA. Don't expect him to bounce back Sunday against the Reds. In each of his last five starts against them, Garza has given up at least four runs and failed to last six innings.
Aug. 3 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Matt Garza improved to 5-5, allowing one run and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1 on Thursday. Garza ended the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fresh off a short stint on the disabled list for a strained right calf, Garza held St. Louis to four hits while striking out four.
July 26 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Garza (strained right leg) came off the DL on Thursday.
Analysis: Garza compiled a 2.11 ERA and 1.22 WHIP in his four starts before landing on the DL.
July 21 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 4-5, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-1 on Friday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza has a 2.11 ERA in his last four starts.
July 16 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Matt Garza allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2 on Sunday. Garza struck out one, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Garza improved to 4-4, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-0 on Wednesday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 1-1 with a 2.60 ERA in his last three starts.
July 1 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Matt Garza allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Friday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 24 5:28 PM PT6:28 PM MT7:28 PM CT8:28 PM ET20:28 ET0:28 GMT8:28 5:28 PM MST7:28 PM EST7:58 PM VEN4:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Saturday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Monday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Matt Garza improved to 3-2, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Wednesday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza next faces the Pirates on Monday, and in Pittsburgh on May 6, the veteran right-hander tossed seven innings of one-run ball.
June 5 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Garza (chest contusion) is coming off the DL on Wednesday to start in St. Louis
Analysis: Garza left his start on June 3 after four innings following a collision on a play at first base with teammate Jesus Aguilar. The veteran right-hander is winless over his last four starts and owns a 6.60 ERA in his past three.
June 4 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Matt Garza allowed two runs - one earned - on three hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-8 on Saturday. Garza struck out two, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza left the game with a bruised chest. He collided near first with Aguilar after the first baseman fielded Bellinger's leadoff grounder in the fourth, was checked by head athletic trainer Dan Wright and remained in the game, then was pinch hit for in the bottom half. His status is uncertain.
May 30 10:04 AM PT11:04 AM MT12:04 PM CT1:04 PM ET13:04 ET17:04 GMT1:04 10:04 AM MST12:04 PM EST12:34 PM VEN21:04 UAE12:04 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 2-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Monday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 24 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 2-1, allowing six runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Wednesday. Garza struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:28 AM PT8:28 AM MT9:28 AM CT10:28 AM ET10:28 ET14:28 GMT22:28 7:28 AM MST9:28 AM EST9:58 AM VEN18:28 UAE9:28 AM CT-Matt Garza allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Wednesday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza has a 1.89 ERA over his last three starts. Don't expect this apparent renaissance to last, though, as his peripherals suggest a little regression is in order.
May 12 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Matt Garza improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the New York Mets 7-4 on Friday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza has allowed three earned runs or fewer in each of his four starts.
May 6 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Matt Garza allowed one run on eight hits in 7.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1 on Saturday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Garza improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Garza struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza earned his first victory in his third start after missing the first two weeks of the season with a strained groin.
Mar. 30 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Garza is slated to be activated off the DL (right groin strain) and make his first start of the season to open the three-game series at home on Monday against the Reds.
Analysis: Garza is 4-5 with a 4.84 ERA in 14 career starts vs. Cincinnati, including 0-2 last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Min 3 6 0 - 0 10 9 0 50.0 62 33 32 6 23 0 38 1.70 5.76
2007 Min 5 7 0 - 0 16 15 0 83.0 96 44 34 8 32 4 67 1.54 3.69
2008 TB 11 9 0 - 0 30 30 3 184.2 170 83 76 19 59 2 128 1.24 3.70
2009 TB 8 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 203.0 177 93 89 25 79 0 189 1.26 3.95
2010 TB 15 10 1 - 1 33 32 3 204.2 193 94 89 28 63 2 150 1.25 3.91
2011 ChC 10 10 0 - 0 31 31 2 198.0 186 90 73 14 63 5 197 1.26 3.32
2012 ChC 5 7 0 - 0 18 18 0 103.2 90 48 45 15 32 0 96 1.18 3.91
2013 ChC 6 1 0 - 0 11 11 0 71.0 61 26 25 8 20 2 62 1.14 3.17
2013 Tex 4 5 0 - 0 13 13 1 84.1 89 47 41 12 22 1 74 1.32 4.38
2013 Tot 10 6 0 - 0 24 24 1 155.1 150 73 66 20 42 3 136 1.24 3.82
2014 Mil 8 8 0 - 0 27 27 1 163.1 143 77 66 12 50 2 126 1.18 3.64
2015 Mil 6 14 0 - 0 26 25 0 148.2 176 102 93 23 57 3 104 1.57 5.63
2016 Mil 6 8 0 - 0 19 19 0 101.2 117 67 51 11 36 2 70 1.50 4.51
2017 Mil 6 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 101.0 105 60 54 17 36 2 67 1.40 4.81
Career 93 104 1 - 1 285 281 10 1697.0 1665 864 768 198 572 25 1368 1.32 4.07

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Min 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 TB 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2009 TB 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 TB 33 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 ChC 31 64 2 6 0 0 0 1 1 42 0 0 .094 .121 .094
2012 ChC 18 30 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 23 0 0 .067 .067 .100
2013 ChC 11 18 1 4 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .222 .263 .278
2013 Tot 24 18 1 4 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .222 .263 .278
2014 Mil 27 49 2 3 1 0 0 0 1 21 0 0 .061 .080 .082
2015 Mil 26 39 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 21 0 1 .077 .100 .077
2016 Mil 19 28 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 17 0 0 .036 .100 .036
2017 Mil 19 31 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .097 .125 .097
Career 285 270 7 22 3 0 0 4 6 153 0 1 .081 .111 .093

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 TB Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 25.0 21 11 11 4 12 0 25 3.96
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 5 5 0 4 0 4 7.50
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 8 2 2 1 6 0 14 1.38
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 4 4 3 2 0 7 6.00
2010 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 2 1 1 2 0 4 1.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 2 1 1 2 0 4 1.50
Career 2 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 31.0 26 13 12 5 14 0 29 3.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 997 95 88 91.7 60.42
Curveball 162 78 70 73.6 9.82
Slider 372 87 78 82.3 22.55
Changeup 119 87 80 84 7.21

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.