MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Matt Garza
ERA W-L K
3.74 8-8 120
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215 NFBC ADP: 244.67
Position: SPBorn: 11/26/1983 Birthplace: Selma, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 15 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Garza (8-8) allowed one run and four hits in six-plus innings Sunday.
Analysis: Garza struck out six and walked three. He is 2-0 with a sparkling 0.82 ERA in three starts against Cincinnati this year.
Aug. 4 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Garza made his official return from the disabled list in Wednesday night's series finale against the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Garza, sidelined since Aug. 3 with a left oblique strain, is 7-7 with a 3.58 ERA in 23 starts.
July 25 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Garza got back to the .500 mark Thursday, recording his seventh victory in a 9-1 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Gee, who gave up one run over eight innings, was much more impressive than in his previous start when he recorded just one out and gave up five runs against the Nationals.
July 20 11:21 AM PT12:21 PM MT1:21 PM CT2:21 PM ET14:21 ET18:21 GMT2:21 11:21 AM MST1:21 PM EST1:51 PM VEN22:21 UAE1:21 PM CT-Garza was knocked out in the first inning of his shortest major league start Saturday.
Analysis: Garza faced eight batters and got just one out, allowing four singles, a double and two walks in the shortest of his 211 regular-season big league starts dating to 2006. His previous low was 1 1-3 innings at the Marlins on June 18, 2010. Garza had been 4-2 with a 2.35 ERA in his previous eight outings, but Saturday's effort caused his season ERA to rise from 3.69 to 4.04. "Call it what you want, man, just wasn't a good day," Garza said.
July 11 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Garza took a no-hitter into the seventh inning before letting in two runs in Thursday's 9-1 loss to Philadelphia.
Analysis: Despite Thursday's loss, Garza is 4-2 with a 2.35 ERA since the beginning of June. He could be in for a big second half.
July 6 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Garza threw a two-hitter for his fourth career shutout, and the Milwaukee Brewers ended their four-game losing streak by beating the Cincinnati Reds 1-0 on Saturday night.
Analysis: Garza is now 4-1 with a 2.36 ERA over his last seven starts. He could be in for a big second half.
June 29 10:25 AM PT11:25 AM MT12:25 PM CT1:25 PM ET13:25 ET17:25 GMT1:25 10:25 AM MST12:25 PM EST12:55 PM VEN21:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Garza battled into the seventh inning for his first win in four starts to help the Milwaukee Brewers continue their season mastery of the Colorado Rockies with a 7-4 victory Saturday.
Analysis: Garza (5-5, 4.10 ERA) pitched five scoreless innings before allowing two runs each in the sixth and seventh. His first win since June 7 improved the Brewers to 6-0 this season against Colorado.
May 6 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Garza earned his second win Monday.
Analysis: Garza allowed three runs and eight hits in six innings for Milwaukee. It was only the third time in seven starts this season that Garza has not given up at least four runs so fantasy owners shouldn't get too cocky over this one.
Apr. 30 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Garza left a start against the St. Louis Cardinals in the fourth inning because of a bruised right thumb.
Analysis: Wei-Chung Wang replaced Garza with St. Louis leading 4-3 Wednesday after Garza walked Matt Carpenter leading off the fourth. The Brewers said Garza is day to day. Garza met with a trainer and tried a few warmup pitches before the Brewers called for a reliever. He gave up five runs, five hits and four walks with four strikeouts.
Apr. 26 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Garza recorded his first win as a Brewer on Friday against his former team, limiting the Cubs to two runs and four hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Garza also struck out seven in his third quality start this season.
Apr. 20 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Garza didn't record a decision Saturday against Pittsburgh, yielding a season-high five earned runs along with eight hits in five innings.
Analysis: After an impressive season debut, Garza has been merely mediocre for Milwaukee and owns a 4.50 ERA through four outings.
Apr. 15 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Garza fell to 0-2 Monday after yielding four runs and nine hits over seven innings against St. Louis.
Analysis: Garza, who struck out six, has a 3.43 ERA through his first three starts for Milwaukee.
Apr. 3 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Garza was the hard-luck loser in his debut for Milwaukee, a 1-0 loss to Atlanta on Wednesday.
Analysis: Garza (0-1) allowed one run and two hits in eight innings, struck out seven and walked none, throwing 65 of 90 pitches for strikes. The right-hander, who signed a four-year, $50 million deal in the offseason, struggled during spring training, going 1-3 with an 8.80 ERA in five outings. He was sharp against the Braves, retiring 11 in a row before walking Freddie Freeman.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Min 3 6 0 - 0 10 9 0 50.0 62 33 32 6 23 0 38 1.70 5.76
2007 Min 5 7 0 - 0 16 15 0 83.0 96 44 34 8 32 4 67 1.54 3.69
2008 TB 11 9 0 - 0 30 30 3 184.2 170 83 76 19 59 2 128 1.24 3.70
2009 TB 8 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 203.0 177 93 89 25 79 0 189 1.26 3.95
2010 TB 15 10 1 - 1 33 32 3 204.2 193 94 89 28 63 2 150 1.25 3.91
2011 ChC 10 10 0 - 0 31 31 2 198.0 186 90 73 14 63 5 197 1.26 3.32
2012 ChC 5 7 0 - 0 18 18 0 103.2 90 48 45 15 32 0 96 1.18 3.91
2013 ChC 6 1 0 - 0 11 11 0 71.0 61 26 25 8 20 2 62 1.14 3.17
2013 Tex 4 5 0 - 0 13 13 1 84.1 89 47 41 12 22 1 74 1.32 4.38
2013 Tot 10 6 0 - 0 24 24 1 155.1 150 73 66 20 42 3 136 1.24 3.82
2014 Mil 8 8 0 - 0 26 26 1 158.2 140 77 66 12 48 1 120 1.18 3.74
Career 75 75 1 - 1 220 217 10 1341.0 1264 635 570 147 441 17 1121 1.27 3.83

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Min 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 TB 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2009 TB 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 TB 33 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 ChC 31 64 2 6 0 0 0 1 1 42 0 0 .094 .121 .094
2012 ChC 18 30 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 23 0 0 .067 .067 .100
2013 ChC 11 18 1 4 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .222 .263 .278
2013 Tot 24 18 1 4 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .222 .263 .278
2014 Mil 26 48 2 3 1 0 0 0 0 20 0 0 .063 .063 .083
Career 220 171 5 15 3 0 0 3 2 103 0 0 .088 .109 .105

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 TB Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 25.0 21 11 11 4 12 0 25 3.96
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 5 5 0 4 0 4 7.50
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 8 2 2 1 6 0 14 1.38
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 4 4 3 2 0 7 6.00
2010 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 2 1 1 2 0 4 1.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 2 1 1 2 0 4 1.50
Career 2 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 31.0 26 13 12 5 14 0 29 3.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1653 96 87 92.4 67.44
Curveball 238 84 69 74.4 9.71
Slider 533 91 80 84.3 21.75
Changeup 27 87 82 85.3 1.1

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.