MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Matt Albers
ERA S K
1.88 2 34
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-1 / 264
Position: RPBorn: 1/20/1983 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 23rd Round by Astros (2001)


Latest News
June 27 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Matt Albers did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-1 on Tuesday. Albers did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.88 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Monday. Albers struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Albers improved to 3-1, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Friday.
Analysis: Albers did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.95 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Matt Albers did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 12-3 on Tuesday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
June 13 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Matt Albers fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on one hit and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-10 on Monday. Albers struck out one, ending the game with a 2.10 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Albers' first chance of replacing injured closer Koda Glover didn't go well, as he surrendered a go-ahead three-run homer to Tyler Flowers in the ninth inning. The well-traveled righty was pitching well before this outing and may get more opportunities in the role, so he does have some fantasy potential at the moment.
June 10 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 6-3 on Saturday. Albers struck out four, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
June 7 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Matt Albers did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Wednesday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Monday. Albers struck out one, ending the game with a 1.25 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-3 on Tuesday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
May 25 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Thursday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Matt Albers allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Wednesday. Albers did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.15 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
May 15 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-Matt Albers recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Sunday. Albers struck out one, ending the game with a 0.61 ERA and 0.55 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Matt Albers allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Sunday. Albers did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.66 ERA and 0.59 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Matt Albers improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Wednesday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 0.69 ERA and 0.54 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Matt Albers recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Friday. Albers struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Albers, pitching in his 461st big league game, picked up his first career save with the Nationals dealing with injuries to the back end of their bullpen. The 34-year-old right-hander had been 0 for 22 in save situations.
May 4 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Matt Albers did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Thursday. Albers struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.39 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Matt Albers improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 23-5 on Sunday. Albers struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.43 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Hou 0 2 0 - 0 4 2 0 15.0 17 10 10 1 7 0 11 1.60 6.00
2007 Hou 4 11 0 - 0 31 18 0 110.2 127 77 72 18 50 6 71 1.60 5.86
2008 Bal 3 3 0 - 2 28 3 0 49.0 43 21 19 4 22 1 26 1.33 3.49
2009 Bal 3 6 0 - 4 56 0 0 67.0 80 43 41 3 36 3 49 1.73 5.51
2010 Bal 5 3 0 - 2 62 0 0 75.2 78 41 38 6 34 5 49 1.48 4.52
2011 Bos 4 4 0 - 3 56 0 0 64.2 62 35 34 7 31 1 68 1.44 4.73
2012 Bos 2 0 0 - 4 40 0 0 39.1 30 14 10 6 15 3 25 1.14 2.29
2012 Ari 1 1 0 - 2 23 0 0 21.0 16 7 6 3 7 0 19 1.10 2.57
2012 Tot 3 1 0 - 6 63 0 0 60.1 46 21 16 9 22 3 44 1.13 2.39
2013 Cle 3 1 0 - 0 56 0 0 63.0 57 25 22 2 23 3 35 1.27 3.14
2014 Hou 0 0 0 - 1 8 0 0 10.0 10 1 1 0 3 0 8 1.30 0.90
2015 CWS 2 0 0 - 0 30 0 0 37.1 31 6 5 3 9 2 28 1.07 1.21
2016 CWS 2 6 0 - 4 58 1 0 51.1 67 44 36 10 19 1 30 1.68 6.31
2017 Was 3 1 2 - 4 28 0 0 28.2 17 7 6 3 7 0 34 0.84 1.88
Career 32 38 2 - 26 480 24 0 632.2 635 331 300 66 263 25 453 1.42 4.27

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Hou 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 Hou 31 29 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 17 0 0 .069 .069 .069
2009 Bal 56 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 CWS 58 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 2.000
Career 480 35 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 21 0 0 .086 .086 .114


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 313 97 88 91.8 68.79
Curveball 1 77 77 77 .22
Slider 123 90 81 84.4 27.03
Changeup 18 85 80 82.5 3.96

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.