MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Jon Lester
ERA W-L K
2.46 16-11 220
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 163.20
Position: SPBorn: 1/7/1984 Birthplace: Tacoma, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Red Sox (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 30 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Athletics ace Jon Lester will have Geovany Soto behind the plate for the first time when he takes the mound in Tuesday night's AL wild-card game against the Kansas City Royals.
Analysis: A's manager Bob Melvin opted for Soto at catcher over Derek Norris, who has worked well with Lester down the stretch. The reason was simple: Soto is better at managing runners, and the Royals led the majors with 153 stolen bases.
Sep. 25 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Lester's three-start winning streak came to an end in a 5-4 loss to the Angels on Wednesday as he allowed five runs - three earned - and eight hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Lester is 6-4 with a 2.35 ERA in 11 outings for Oakland.
Sep. 20 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Lester had another strong outing in a 3-1 win over Philadelphia on Friday night.
Analysis: Lester (16-10, 2.41 ERA) allowed one run and five hits in seven innings. He walked two and struck out seven en route to his third consecutive win. Lester has pitched at least six innings in each of his past 18 games, including all 10 with the A's. He hasn't allowed more than three earned runs during that span.
Aug. 3 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Making his A's debut, Lester allowed three runs over 6 2-3 innings to beat Kansas City 8-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester wasn't at his best but benefited from a five-run eighth inning. He'll get the lowly Minnesota Twins next.
July 31 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-The Oakland Athletics won the Jon Lester sweepstakes, acquiring the left-hander and outfielder Jonny Gomes from the Boston Red Sox for slugging outfielder Yoenis Cespedes before Thursday's trade deadline.
Analysis: Lester was sought by many teams, including Pittsburgh and the Los Angeles Dodgers, when A's general manager Billy Beane pulled off another blockbuster trade. Lester is 10-7 with a 2.52 ERA in 21 starts.
July 26 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Lester came away without a decision despite a decent showing in Friday's 6-4 loss at Tampa Bay, allowing two runs and six hits over six innings.
Analysis: Lester continues to be impressive, going 4-0 over his last eight starts with a 1.07 ERA.
July 21 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Lester threw eight innings of four-hit ball to beat Kansas City 6-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: Lester, who fanned eight, is 4-0 with a 0.85 ERA in his last seven starts.
July 11 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Lester struck out 12 in seven innings Thursday but did not get a decision against the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: Lester (9-7, 2.65 ERA) allowed one run and seven hits, but fellow All-Star Koji Uehara gave up a tying homer in the ninth to pinch-hitter Conor Gillaspie. Lester has won three consecutive decisions and five of his last six. He has a 1.01 ERA in his last six starts.
July 6 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Lester was solid again Saturday against Baltimore, yielding two unearned runs and five hits over eight innings, though he didn't factor into the decision in the 3-2 victory.
Analysis: Lester is 3-0 over his last five starts with a 0.96 ERA.
June 29 10:40 AM PT11:40 AM MT12:40 PM CT1:40 PM ET13:40 ET17:40 GMT1:40 10:40 AM MST12:40 PM EST1:10 PM VEN21:40 UAE12:40 PM CT-Lester outdueled fantasy stud Masahiro Tanaka in Saturday's 2-1 win over the Yanks.
Analysis: Lester held the Yankees hitless until the sixth. He gave up an unearned run and five hits in eight innings, striking out six and walking two. He faces the O's next.
June 23 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Lester limited the A's to two earned runs and four hits over 7 2-3 innings in Sunday's 7-6 victory, though he didn't receive a decision.
Analysis: Lester is 2-0 with a 1.66 ERA over his last three games.
June 2 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Lester allowed four hits while striking out 12 in seven innings of Sunday's 4-0 win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: His 95 strikeouts are tried with Corey Kluber for the league lead.
May 11 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Lester improved to 4-4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester limited Texas to three runs and four hits over seven innings. The lefty, coming off a career-high 15 strikeouts in a week earlier against Oakland, struck out eight more to match Detroit's Max Scherzer at 66 for the American League lead.
May 4 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE2:11 PM CT-Lester struck out a career-high 15, allowing one hit over eight scoreless innings and pitching the Boston Red Sox over the Oakland Athletics 6-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester didn't feel very good warming up before the game but he faced 26 batters and just nine hit the ball in fair territory. Lester rebounded from taking the loss in his previous two games by striking out nine of his first 13 batters. His previous strikeout best was 13 on July 24, 2010, in a 5-1 loss at Seattle.
Apr. 28 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Lester suffered his second consecutive loss Sunday against Toronto.
Analysis: Lester threw seven innings but allowed four runs and five hits. Batters are hitting .268 off Lester this season.
Apr. 23 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Lester suffered his third loss of the season Tuesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: Lester surrendered eight runs - though just three were earned - and 11 hits in just 4 2-3 innings of work. He issued four walks and owns a 2.67 ERA through five starts.
Apr. 18 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Lester pitched eight sharp innings and led the Red Sox to a 3-1 victory over the Chicago White Sox on Thursday night.
Analysis: Lester (2-2, 2.17 ERA) allowed one run and seven hits for his second straight win after opening the season with two losses. The left-hander struck out nine and walked none, winning an impressive pitcher's duel with White Sox ace Chris Sale. Lester retired his first 16 batters before Tyler Flowers singled in the sixth.
Apr. 12 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Lester recorded his first win Friday, limiting the Yankees to two runs and six hits over 6 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Lester is 1-2 with a 2.57 ERA through three outings this season.
Apr. 7 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Lester fell to 0-2 after allowing four runs - only two earned - and seven hits over 7 1/3 innings of Sunday's loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: With a total of one run of support to back up his 2.51 ERA through two starts, Lester has had some tough luck thus far.
Mar. 27 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Lester has been picked to start on opening day for the Boston Red Sox. Boston manager John Farrell announced Thursday that Lester will pitch Monday in Baltimore against the Orioles. The news came as no surprise, but Farrell had waited to make an announcement.
Analysis: It will be Lester's fourth consecutive opening day start, the fifth-longest streak in team history behind Pedro Martinez (seven), Roger Clemens (seven), Dennis Eckersley (five) and Cy Young (five). Lester went 15-8 with a 3.75 ERA in 33 starts and 213 1-3 innings last year, helping the Red Sox to their third World Series championship in 10 years. The 30-year-old left-hander is 100-56 with a 3.76 ERA in eight seasons with Boston.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.