MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
James Shields
ERA W-L K
4.26 1-1 24
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 511.54
Position: SPBorn: 12/20/1981 Birthplace: Newhall, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 16th Round by Devil Rays (2000)


Latest News
June 24 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 10-2 on Saturday. Shields struck out five, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Shields, making his second start since coming off the disabled list for a strained right lat, allowed three home runs in the first three innings. His highlight was notching his 2,000th career strikeout to end the second inning.
June 18 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-James Shields allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Sunday. Shields struck out three, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Making his first start in two months, Shields held the Blue Jays to one run over the first five innings but surrendered a game-tying two-run homer to Russell Martin in the sixth. The veteran right-hander could fare better in a potentially more favorable matchup with the visiting A's on Saturday.
June 14 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Shields is ready to return to the White Sox's rotation. The right-hander is scheduled to start Sunday at Toronto after being sidelined the past two months because of a strained right back muscle.
Analysis: Shields said Wednesday he feels ''pretty good'' and is ''ready to rock'' after three rehab starts for Triple-A Charlotte. He threw 90 pitches, allowing two runs and six hits over five innings, on Tuesday. Sidelined since April 16, Shields is 1-0 with a 1.62 ERA in three starts after a rough first season in Chicago.
Apr. 21 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Shields (right lat) gave up two runs and four hits in five innings in his second rehab start for Triple-A Charlotte.
Analysis: The 35-year-old right-hander is 1-0 with a 1.62 ERA and 16 strikeouts in three starts this season, his second with the White Sox.
Apr. 6 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Shields got his season off to a strong start Thursday, limiting Detroit to one run and two hits over 5 1/3 innings with a walk and five strikeouts in an 11-2 victory.
Analysis: That outing must have felt particularly good for Shields, who went 4-12 with a 6.77 ERA in 22 starts for the White Sox after he was acquired from San Diego.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.