MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#15
Erick Aybar
AVG HR RBI
.240 3 28
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 5-10 / 195 NFBC ADP: 329.24
Position: SSBorn: 1/14/1984 Birthplace: Bani, DR
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 25 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-With Jose Iglesias expected back Friday from a DL stint for a strained left hamstring, Tigers manager Brad Ausmus said he'll still play Erick Aybar at shortstop at times.
Analysis: Aybar has hit .233 in eight games since being acquired from the Braves.
Aug. 18 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Aybar went 2 for 4 with a double and a run scored Thursday in his second game with the Tigers after being acquired from the Braves.
Analysis: Picked up by Detroit with Jose Iglesias injured, Aybar is hitting .354 in his last 21 games.
Aug. 16 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-The Braves traded Aybar to the Tigers on Tuesday for minor league catcher Kade Scivicque.
Analysis: Aybar gives the Tigers experience at shortstop as Jose Iglesias recovers from a hamstring injury. Aybar is hitting .242 with two homers and 26 RBIs and is making $8.5 million in the final year of his contract.
Aug. 11 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Aybar had a productive game for the Braves on Thursday, going 3 for 5 with a home run and a double in an 11-3 loss at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Aybar has been on quite a roll with a .377 average over his last 16 games.
Aug. 8 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Aybar had a two-run triple Sunday to extend his hitting streak to 12 games.
Analysis: He's batting .395 over that 12-game stretch.
Aug. 5 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Aybar had an RBI single, scored a run and stole a base in Thursday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Aybar is batting .455 during a 10-game hitting streak.
Aug. 4 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Aybar tied a season high with three hits, including a triple, and drove in a run in Wednesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Aybar is making an effort to become fantasy-relevant again following a dreadful first half of the season, his first with Atlanta. The veteran shortstop is batting .483 during a nine-game hitting streak.
Aug. 1 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Aybar pushed his hitting streak to seven games Sunday.
Analysis: He's 9 for 21 over that stretch after going 4 for 37 in his previous 12 games.
July 4 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Aybar hit his first home run of the season in Monday's loss, snapping a streak of 217 at-bats without one.
Analysis: Aybar, who hadn't gone deep since Oct. 3, 2015, for the Angels against the Rangers, is 8 for 20 in his last five games to raise his average to .226. That's his highest mark since the opening week of the season.
June 14 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Aybar (ribs) did not play Tuesday against Cincinnati.
Analysis: Aybar is still sore from being hit in the ribs by a pitch from the Reds' Blake Wood on Monday. He's hitting .187 as part of one of the majors' worst offenses, though, so one should already have better options at hand.
May 28 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Aybar has been activated from the 15-day disabled list by the Atlanta Braves.
Analysis: Aybar, who missed 14 games with a bruised right foot, is starting in Sunday's game against the Chicago Cubs. He had struggled before the injury, hitting .182 with no homers and six RBIs.
May 19 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-In a ridiculous turn of events, the Atlanta Braves removed infielder Erick Aybar from the starting lineup for Thursday's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates after getting a chicken bone stuck in his throat.
Analysis: Manager Brian Snitker said Aybar arrived at PNC Park Thursday afternoon in discomfort and was taken to the hospital to have the bone removed. Aybar was initially scheduled to start at shortstop. He was replaced by Daniel Castro.
Apr. 11 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Aybar went 2 for 6 on Sunday with a pair of singles.
Analysis: He has hits in four of his five games to open the season.

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.