MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Anibal Sánchez
ERA W-L K
5.87 7-13 135
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205 NFBC ADP: 291.52
Position: SPBorn: 2/27/1984 Birthplace: Maracay, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2001)


Latest News
Sep. 22 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Sanchez bounced back from last week's rough start against Minnesota to hold the Twins to one run and two hits through five innings while not receiving a decision in Thursday's doubleheader opener.
Analysis: The 2016 disappointment had been rocked for six runs in four-plus innings in a Sept. 14 matchup with Minnesota. Despite this much-improved effort, Sanchez (7-13, 5.77) won't be a recommended play when he's next scheduled to toe the rubber Tuesday against Cleveland.
Sep. 7 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-In what could have been his last start in the Tigers' rotation, Sanchez allowed three runs and eight hits over five innings Wednesday while not receiving a decision against the White Sox.
Analysis: Jordan Zimmermann's return from injury could move Sanchez (7-13, 5.69 ERA) to the bullpen.
Aug. 28 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Sanchez was dealt his 13th loss after being tagged for five runs and eight hits in 5 2/3 innings Sunday against the Angels.
Analysis: Sanchez had appeared to turn a corner by allowing a combined three runs while working seven innings in each of his previous two starts, but Sunday's effort was clearly another step back. He'll try to bounce back Saturday against a Kansas City team he threw seven scoreless innings of one-hit ball against on Aug. 17.
Aug. 17 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Sanchez got back on the horse with a strong performance after a dismal one Wednesday. He took a no-hitter into seventh inning and ended up throwing seven scoreless innings with two walks and eight strikeouts in a no-decision.
Analysis: Sanchez has been outstanding in three of his last four starts, yielding a total of two runs over 21 innings in those games. Unfortunately, the other outing in that span he was tagged for eight runs in four innings in an 8-5 loss at Texas on Aug. 12.
Aug. 13 11:04 AM PT12:04 PM MT1:04 PM CT2:04 PM ET14:04 ET18:04 GMT2:04 11:04 AM MST1:04 PM EST1:34 PM VEN22:04 UAE1:04 PM CT-Sanchez was ripped for eight runs and eight hits, including four homers, in four innings of Friday's 8-5 loss to Texas.
Analysis: It was a major setback for Sanchez, who seemed to be turning around his dismal season by allowing two runs in 14 innings over his previous two outings. However, the Rangers have always been his nemesis, with a career 17.63 ERA and 1-3 record against them.
Aug. 7 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-Banished to the bullpen for a portion of the season, Sanchez certainly looked like a starter Sunday against the Mets. He allowed one run and four hits over eight innings, walked one and matched a season best with 10 strikeouts.
Analysis: Sunday's performance lowered Sanchez's ERA to 5.88 on the year. Over his last four starts, he's 1-1 with a 3.12 ERA while striking out 27 in 26 innings.
July 10 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Sanchez was hit hard again in Sunday's 6-1 loss at Toronto, in which he was tagged for five runs and eight hits in four innings.
Analysis: Sanchez is now 0-7 with an 8.16 ERA over his last nine outings as a starter and hasn't won since April 28. His once-secure spot in the Tigers' rotation remains in jeopardy, while his fantasy value is non-existent at the moment.
July 5 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Sanchez was rocked for seven runs in 4 1/3 innings of a Tuesday's 12-1 loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: Sanchez has made two starts since the beginning of June, and has yielded 11 runs and 10 hits in 9 1/3 innings in those outings.
June 28 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Sanchez is heading back to the bullpen for the Tigers.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus says the Tigers will use Sanchez in relief after he returned to the rotation for one start. The right-hander allowed four runs in five innings in a loss to Cleveland on Saturday. Sanchez is 4-8 with a 6.06 ERA this season. Saturday was his first start since May 31, but he was solid out of the bullpen in between.
June 1 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-The Detroit Tigers have removed struggling 11-year veteran Anibal Sanchez from the rotation.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus said Wednesday he was making the move after the right-hander allowed six runs on eight hits and two walks Tuesday to the Angels.
Feb. 25 6:10 PM PT7:10 PM MT8:10 PM CT9:10 PM ET21:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Sanchez is expected to throw a session in the bullpen after discomfort in his right forearm.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus said he could be ready to pitch in a spring game by Thursday. Sanchez went 10-10 with a 4.99 ERA last year and did not pitch after Aug. 18 because of rotator cuff issues.

w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.