MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Aníbal Sánchez
ERA W-L K
3.86 9-8 126
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-0 / 209
Position: SPBorn: 2/27/1984 Birthplace: Maracay, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2001)


Latest News
Sep. 15 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 9-8, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-0 on Sunday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 8-8, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-0 on Tuesday. Sanchez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 8-7, allowing seven runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 8-4 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed two runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 7-6 on Friday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 8-6, allowing two runs - one earned - on one hit and two walks in 8.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 9-3 on Friday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 3.81 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed five runs on eight hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 15-14 on Saturday. Sanchez struck out five, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 7-4 on Sunday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 7-6, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Tuesday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
July 31 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST1:25 PM CST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed four runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Friday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 6-6, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Saturday. Sanchez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Sunday. Sanchez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 4 11:26 AM PT12:26 PM MT1:26 PM CT2:26 PM ET14:26 ET18:26 GMT2:26 11:26 AM MST1:26 PM EST12:26 PM CST1:56 PM VEN22:26 UAE1:26 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 5-6, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Thursday. Sanchez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 4-6, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Friday. Sanchez struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-9 on Saturday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 3-6, allowing two runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 15-5 on Sunday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 2-6, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago White Sox 12-1 on Monday. Sanchez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 5 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-4 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 29 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez improved to 1-6, allowing one hit and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 14-4 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 16 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Sanchez (hamstring) is expected to come off the injured list when first eligible next Monday.
Analysis: After delivering ball four to Brandon Nimmo with one out, Sanchez walked to the rear of the mound. Manager Dave Martinez and the trainer came out and Sanchez soon departed. Sanchez (0-6) was staked to a 4-0 lead. He was looking to avoid becoming the first Nationals pitcher to start 0-7 since Jason Marquis in 2010.
May 11 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-6, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Friday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
May 5 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-5, allowing two runs - zero earned - on two hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-1 on Sunday. Sanchez struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-4, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Tuesday. Sanchez struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-3, allowing six runs on nine hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-5 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on five hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Friday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-2 on Saturday. Sanchez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Monday. Sanchez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.52 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Anibal Sanchez allowed four runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-8 on Wednesday. Sanchez struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Fla 10 3 0 - 0 18 17 2 114.1 90 39 36 9 46 1 72 1.19 2.83
2007 Fla 2 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 30.0 43 17 16 3 19 1 14 2.07 4.80
2008 Fla 2 5 0 - 0 10 10 0 51.2 54 35 32 7 27 2 50 1.57 5.57
2009 Fla 4 8 0 - 0 16 16 0 86.0 84 39 37 10 46 5 71 1.51 3.87
2010 Fla 13 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 195.0 192 89 77 10 70 5 157 1.34 3.55
2011 Fla 8 9 0 - 0 32 32 3 196.1 187 85 80 20 64 8 202 1.28 3.67
2012 Mia 5 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 121.0 119 59 53 12 33 2 110 1.26 3.94
2012 Det 4 6 0 - 0 12 12 1 74.2 81 36 31 8 15 1 57 1.29 3.74
2012 Tot 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 1 195.2 200 95 84 20 48 3 167 1.27 3.86
2013 Det 14 8 0 - 0 29 29 1 182.0 156 56 52 9 54 1 202 1.15 2.57
2014 Det 8 5 0 - 0 22 21 0 126.0 108 55 48 4 30 1 102 1.10 3.43
2015 Det 10 10 0 - 0 25 25 1 157.0 152 89 87 29 49 1 138 1.28 4.99
2016 Det 7 13 0 - 0 35 26 0 153.1 171 108 100 30 53 1 135 1.46 5.87
2017 Det 3 7 0 - 0 28 17 0 105.1 139 81 75 26 29 1 104 1.59 6.41
2018 Atl 7 6 0 - 0 25 24 0 136.2 106 48 43 15 42 0 135 1.08 2.83
2019 Was 9 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 154.0 141 71 66 20 57 10 126 1.29 3.86
Career 106 108 0 - 0 337 314 9 1883.1 1823 907 833 212 634 40 1675 1.30 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Fla 18 35 1 4 0 0 0 2 0 14 0 0 .114 .114 .114
2007 Fla 6 11 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 7 0 0 .091 .231 .091
2008 Fla 10 17 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .000 .056 .000
2009 Fla 16 23 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 8 0 0 .000 .115 .000
2010 Fla 33 59 3 6 0 0 0 1 4 28 0 0 .102 .159 .102
2011 Fla 32 57 1 7 0 0 0 3 4 23 0 0 .123 .180 .123
2012 Mia 19 30 1 3 0 1 0 0 1 18 0 0 .100 .129 .167
2012 Tot 31 30 1 3 0 1 0 0 1 18 0 0 .100 .129 .167
2013 Det 29 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2014 Det 22 5 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2015 Det 25 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Det 35 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Det 28 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Atl 25 41 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 25 0 0 .024 .048 .024
2019 Was 28 48 1 6 0 0 0 1 0 20 0 0 .125 .125 .125
Career 338 342 8 29 1 1 0 8 17 165 0 0 .085 .128 .094

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Det Total 2 4 0 - 0 6 6 0 40.2 28 8 8 2 12 2 36 1.77
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 5 2 2 1 2 0 3 2.84
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 3 1 7 0.00
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 8 2.57
2013 Det Total 2 4 0 - 0 6 6 0 32.2 34 20 16 8 16 0 46 4.41
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 8 6 5 3 2 0 6 10.38
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 9 4 3 1 6 0 17 2.25
2014 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
2018 Atl Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 10 6 6 4 2 0 6 5.79
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 5 3 3 2 1 0 3 5.79
Career 2 5 0 - 0 8 7 0 43.1 36 17 15 7 15 1 46 3.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Atl Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 901 94 77 90.4 35.81
Curveball 143 80 73 76.9 5.68
Slider 63 85 79 82.8 2.5
Changeup 710 88 58 82.2 28.22
Cut Fastball 699 91 84 87.8 27.78

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.