MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Nelson Cruz
.302 44 93
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-2 / 230 NFBC ADP: 67.18
Position: RFBorn: 7/1/1980 Birthplace: Las Matas de Santa Cruz, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (1998)

Latest News
Sep. 16 10:37 AM PT11:37 AM MT12:37 PM CT1:37 PM ET13:37 ET17:37 GMT1:37 10:37 AM MST12:37 PM EST1:07 PM VEN21:37 UAE12:37 PM CT-Cruz hit his 42nd home run in the first inning, tying Baltimore's Chris Davis for the major league lead.
Analysis: Cruz has 27 career home runs against the Angels, his most against any team.
Sep. 13 10:17 AM PT11:17 AM MT12:17 PM CT1:17 PM ET13:17 ET17:17 GMT1:17 10:17 AM MST12:17 PM EST12:47 PM VEN21:17 UAE12:17 PM CT-Cruz drilled his 41st homer Saturday.
Analysis: Cruz's two-run homer in the seventh was his 41st, tying Baltimore's Chris Davis for the major league lead. He also had a run-scoring single in the third inning, finishing 2 for 4 with three RBIs. Cruz has set his career high for homers and has a shot at his second straight home run title.
Sep. 11 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Cruz hit his 40th homer Thursday against Texas.
Analysis: Cruz is in a tight race with Baltimore's Chris Davis for the big league home run title, trailing him by one.
Aug. 27 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Cruz delivered again Wednesday, going 3 for 4 with his MLB-leading 39th homer and three RBIs against Oakland.
Analysis: He's now homered in two straight games has 13 in 23 games since July 31. Cruz is batting .376 with 21 RBIs and 24 runs scored over that stretch.
Aug. 26 11:43 AM PT12:43 PM MT1:43 PM CT2:43 PM ET14:43 ET18:43 GMT2:43 11:43 AM MST1:43 PM EST2:13 PM VEN22:43 UAE1:43 PM CT-Cruz hit his big league-leading 38th home run Tuesday against the Athletics.
Analysis: Cruz, who has nine RBIs over his last 10 games, is two shy of last season's career high for homers.
Aug. 23 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Cruz walked to open the fourth, extending his on-base streak to 32 games Saturday.
Analysis: During the streak, he is hitting .366 with eight doubles, 16 home runs and 23 RBI.
Aug. 22 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Cruz hit his major league-leading 37th home run Friday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Cruz has homered a ridiculous 16 times in his last 28 games, batting .381 in that span.
Aug. 12 11:44 AM PT12:44 PM MT1:44 PM CT2:44 PM ET14:44 ET18:44 GMT2:44 11:44 AM MST1:44 PM EST2:14 PM VEN22:44 UAE1:44 PM CT-Cruz is not in the lineup for Seattle, a day after leaving the game against Baltimore with neck spasms. Manager Lloyd McClendon says he may use Cruz as a pinch-hitter later in the series finale against Baltimore.
Analysis: Cruz is riding a 21-game hitting streak, tied for the longest in baseball this season. Cruz is hitting .411 with six doubles, 13 home runs and 17 RBIs during the streak. It's the longest streak of his career and tied for fifth-longest in franchise history.
Aug. 10 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Cruz homered for the seventh time in nine games Sunday and extended his hitting streak to a league-leading 19 games.
Analysis: Cruz is hitting .422 with 12 home runs and 16 RBIs during his streak, which has lasted since July 21.
Aug. 4 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Cruz homered for the fourth straight game in Monday's 8-7 win at Colorado.
Analysis: Cruz is batting .429 with nine home runs and 13 RBIs during a 14-game hitting streak.
Aug. 1 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Cruz went 4 for 5 with his 27th home run and a double in Friday's 6-1 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Cruz is batting .400 with six home runs and 10 RBIs over his last 11 games.
July 27 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 5 with a home run in Sunday's win over Toronto.
Analysis: Cruz is 12 for 28 with four homers in six games.
July 23 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Cruz is in the midst of another home run binge after going deep twice in Wednesday's 9-4 loss at Detroit.
Analysis: Cruz is 4 for 10 with three homers, a double and four RBIs in his last two games.
July 12 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Cruz was 3 for 3 in Saturday's win over the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Cruz is 7 for 12 in the series and 13 for 28 on a seven-game hitting streak against the Angels.
July 10 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Cruz went 3 for 5 with an RBI in Thursday's 7-2 home win over the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Cruz has swung the bat better of late, batting .314 over his last 13 games. However, he has just three home runs over his last 38.
July 4 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 5 with a two-run jack on Friday.
Analysis: Cruz is 9 for 28 on the road trip for the M's.
July 2 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 5 with his 20th home run Wednesday at San Diego.
Analysis: Cruz has been slumping with a .239 average for the month of June, though he's 7 for 20 during a five-game hitting streak.
June 27 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 4 with his eighth double Friday against the Angels.
Analysis: Even with Friday's performance, Cruz is just 7 for 39 (.179) over his last 12 games.
June 23 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Cruz left in the seventh inning of Monday night's game against the Kansas City Royals with a tight right hamstring.
Analysis: Dustin Ackley pinch-hit for Cruz in the bottom of the seventh after the first-year Mariner fielded his position in the top half of the inning.
June 21 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-Cruz ended a 20-game homerless rut Saturday.
Analysis: Cruz has been horrendous with a .656 OPS and five RBIs in his last 21 games so fantasy owners have to hope he gets his act together.
June 14 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cruz is second in the AL with a .983 OPS.
June 10 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Cruz, who leads the American League with 18 home runs, is out of the lineup for the second straight game because of back spasms.
Analysis: Cruz didn't play Wednesday after his back tightened up during an at-bat in Tuesday's series opener. He hoped to play Thursday against the Cleveland Indians, but Mariners manager Lloyd McClendon decided to give him another day off.
June 9 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Cruz, who leads the American League with 18 home runs, was removed from Tuesday's game against Cleveland with back spasms.
Analysis: Cruz is batting .326 with 39 RBIs in 58 games. He was replaced during the at-bat by Dustin Ackley, who also took over in the outfield.
June 8 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Cruz enjoyed his third straight two-hit performance Sunday against the Rays.
Analysis: Cruz is in the midst of a season-worst 11-game homer drought, but he's still batting .329.
June 7 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Cruz was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cruz has an AL-best .997 OPS.
June 6 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Cruz was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Cruz has an AL-best .997 OPS.
May 30 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Cruz was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Cruz boasts an AL-best 1.068 OPS. He is batting .376 with 15 HRs and 30 RBIs when he starts in right field. As a DH, he is batting .286 with three HRs and 8 RBIs.
May 27 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Cruz was 2 for 5 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Cruz leads the AL with a 1.078 OPS.
May 20 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Cruz hit a three-run homer in Tuesday's loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: Cruz is hitting .400 over his last 11.
May 5 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Cruz hit his major league-leading 14th home run hours after being selected AL Player of the Month for April as the Seattle Mariners beat the Angels 3-2 on Monday night.
Analysis: Cruz hit a leadoff shot against Matt Shoemaker that snapped a scoreless tie in the seventh. It came in the Mariners' 26th game, tying Cruz with four other players for the most homers at that stage of a season.
Apr. 29 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Cruz fell a homer short of the cycle in Tuesday's win over Texas.
Analysis: Cruz went 4 for 22 over his previous six games.
Apr. 21 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Cruz stayed hot by going 2 for 5 with a double and two RBIs in Monday's 7-5 loss at Seattle.
Analysis: Cruz has gone 18 for 38 (.474) with eight home runs and 16 RBIs over his last nine games.
Apr. 20 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Cruz went 3 for 6 with two home runs and five RBIs, and delivered the walk-off single Sunday in Seattle's win over Texas.
Analysis: Cruz continues to shine in a Mariners uniform. He now has eight home runs through 12 games.
Apr. 18 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Cruz wasn't able to extend his five-game home run streak Friday, but he went 3 for 4 in Seattle's 3-1 loss to Texas.
Analysis: The red-hot Cruz has gone 12 for 23 (.522) with six homers and nine RBIs over his last six games.
Apr. 16 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Cruz has homered in a career-best fifth straight game for the Seattle Mariners.
Analysis: Cruz, who signed a four-year, $47 million, contract with the Mariners in December after hitting a career-high 40 homers last season for Baltimore, drove a 1-1 pitch from Brett Anderson to right-center field in the fourth inning of Wednesday night's game against the Dodgers.
Apr. 14 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Cruz homered for the fourth straight game Tuesday to match the longest streak of his career.
Analysis: Cruz signed a $47 million, four-year contract with the Mariners in December after hitting a career-high 40 homers last season for Baltimore.
Apr. 13 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Cruz went deep for the second straight day Sunday against the Athletics.
Analysis: Cruz is just 5 for 24 but could be cooking after going 4 for 9 with two homers in his last two games.
Apr. 12 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE2:36 PM CT-Cruz hit his first home run for Seattle in a dominant effort Saturday.
Analysis: Cruz had three hits Saturday, including a three-run homer in the eighth off Dan Otero that put the Mariners in front 4-2. "It's always important," he said. "I need to hit."

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.