MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#55
Josh Johnson
ERA W-L K
-
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-7 / 250 NFBC ADP: 598.85
Position: SPBorn: 1/31/1984 Birthplace: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 4th Round by Marlins (2002)


Latest News
Jan. 7 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Johnson is staying with the San Diego Padres after missing the 2014 season, finalizing a $1 million, one-year contract that allows him to earn an additional $6.25 million in bonuses based on starts. The 30-year-old right-hander agreed to an $8 million, one-year contract with the Padres in November 2013 but got hurt during spring training and had elbow ligament-replacement surgery on April 24.
Analysis: Johnson, who turns 31 on Jan. 31, is 58-45 with a 3.40 ERA in 160 starts and 10 relief appearances for the Marlins (2005-12) and Toronto (2013). He was an All-Star in 2009 and `10. Johnson can earn $500,000 for five starts, $1 million for 10, $500,000 for 15 and $1 million for 20. He would earn $250,000 per start from 21 through 33.
Oct. 30 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-The San Diego Padres have declined Johnson's $4 million option for 2015. The right-hander could return to the Padres for a lesser deal. Johnson is eligible to become a free agent on Friday.
Analysis: Johnson didn't throw a pitch for the Padres in 2014 while making $8 million. He suffered an elbow injury during spring training and underwent reconstructive surgery.
Apr. 23 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-San Diego Padres starter Josh Johnson is scheduled to undergo elbow ligament-replacement surgery for the second time and will miss the entire season.
Analysis: The right-hander, signed in November to an $8 million, one-year contract, was placed on the disabled list before the season began. He strained his elbow during spring training and the Padres initially thought he would be out about one month.
Apr. 15 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Johnson will have his right elbow examined by noted orthopedic surgeon Dr. James Andrews next week. The right-hander is on the 15-day disabled list with a strained forearm. The Padres fear his initial injury may be worse than originally diagnosed.
Analysis: San Diego manager Bud Black says Johnson will meet with Andrews in Birmingham, Ala., on Tuesday or Wednesday. Black says Johnson has had some discomfort in the elbow. Andrews performed Tommy John surgery on Johnson's same elbow in 2007. Johnson signed a one-year deal in the offseason as a free agent. He strained his elbow during spring training and the Padres initially thought he would be out about one month. Johnson had surgery on his right elbow in the offseason.
Mar. 23 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE10:43 PM CT-Johnson is expected to be out four to five weeks with a strained right forearm.
Analysis: The oft-injured Johnson was projected to be the team's fourth starter. He figured to pitch the first game of a three-game series against the Miami Marlins on April 4. Johnson, who spent the first eight years of his career with the Marlins, led the NL with a 2.30 ERA in 2010. He signed an $8 million, one-year contract with San Diego after going 2-8 with a 6.20 ERA in 16 starts for Toronto last year. Manager Bud Black announced the injury to Johnson after saying Ian Kennedy and Tyson Ross will follow No. 1 starter Andrew Cashner in the rotation.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.